We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal Family Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Loved staying there stayed 2nights 29th and 30th of April few things I would like to point out which I think is very Unsafe the location of the kettle under the tv unit very dangerous and especially if kids stay too also not enough toilet roll giving and the time the doors close at night isn't put in the welcome book also desserts aren't on the room service menu other than that everything was perfect staff are lovely :) be back in July with the my Boyfriend
Laura
Dublin Ireland

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraDavid87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

899 - 905 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed in this lovely friendly hotel last weekend in April, we availed of a deal for 2 nights B&B with late check out , it was our first time to stay in Waterford and i have to say it was wonderful the hotel is a great location for seeing the sights, staff are very helpful food fantastic the new ship resturant was excellent.Visits to the viking tower, medevil museum and bishops palace is a must, i will be booking this hotel again its clean rooms are above average size and overall very nice staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramonan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordDot, Owner at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Delighted you enjoyed your visit to Dooley's Hotel. We appreciate your kind comments as they are what we concentrate our efforts to achieve. Waterford has worked hard to improve what we offer our visitors and I was happy to see that you have enjoyed our endeavours as a Irelands oldest city. We look forward to your next visit. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed at Dooleys as part of a birthday week trip around S.Ireland. Ideally placed in Waterford, opposite the bus station, good room , excellent food in the bar with very friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed so much booked into the Riverside Hotel in Killarney (same group hotel) for our next stop.

Room Tip: Did have slight noise - we were at the back of the hotel - still slept extremely well - had a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathryn20092009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordDot, Owner at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Cathryn

So glad we could be a part of your birthday treat and celebration. I would like to thank you for your kind words and to let you know that the bar & kitchen staff were really happy to hear that you found the food excellent and that they were friendly and helpful. It is always nice to be able to pass on such praise.

Thank you again and hopefully you will make it back to see us again soon. Maybe we will see you the weekend of the 8th Feb 2014 for the Ireland v Wales rugby game always a great weekend in Waterford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Hi stayed there on Friday and hd a very nice stay - thought the room was lovely and quiet.
It is an old hotel so the shower and telly could do with an update but it was grand really.
the room was really warm when I arrived which was lovely. Had drinks in the residents bar later on that evening - very pleasent staff and the brekie was grand.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suludublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordDot, Owner at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of the Dooley’s Hotel. We appreciate your comments about the staff and I will be happy to pass on your comments. Especially that they were pleasant in the residents bar.

We are an old hotel as you correctly pointed out and are currently upgrading some of our room but unfortunately have not got to all room as of yet. I was happy to see that although you felt the room needed updating it was warm and you thought it was grand when you arrived.

We look forward to your next visit and hope to be able to show you some of our upgraded rooms. Thank you again for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed in Dooleys Hotel weekend of 19th April and had a very pleasant weekend there.
Friendly staff - clean and comfortable bedroom - great breakfast choice with a wide selection of
juices, cereals, fruits and of course the traditional hot variety of bacon egg etc. All served in a very bright and airy restaurant where the staff were very attentive.
The hotel is very centrally located just minutes from City Square and main shops.
We enjoyed the live music in lounge on the Fri/Sat nights.
Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordDot, Owner at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

We all really appreciate your kind comments and would like to thank you for your time to do so. Look forward to you returning. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here recently as part of a hen party, and am pleased to say it was a very pleasant experience. The food in the bar is excellent and reasonably priced to the point of being underpriced. As the hotel is located directly opposite the bus station, it is a great place to drop in for a coffee if waiting for a connection. The bar is comfortable and roomy, and there are both secluded seats and ones that overlook the quays. The rooms are highly satisfactory – clean and comfortable. I had a sound night’s sleep, devoid of any noisy interruptions from the corridor or surrounding streets, despite the hotel’s central location. Breakfast was very good – a mix of Irish and continental – absolutely no complaints.The staff members encountered were all very professional and courteous. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for one overlooking the courtyard rather than the quays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sapphora1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordDot, Owner at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of Dooley's Hotel. We appreciate your comments regarding the hotel and that the staff members were all very professional and courteous. We were very pleased to see that you thought the food in the bar is excellent and reasonably priced. Hopefully you will get to come back to Waterford sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in Dooley's Hotel on March 17,2013. Our first impressions were good, the lobby and restaurant were lively and full of travelers. When we came back later in the evening to settle in we noticed that this was a popular stop for tour bus groups. The lobby was full of bags and groups and the restaurant was so packed we didn't even try to eat there. The front door was propped open and there were a slew of smokers standing directly outside. So the lobby was smokey and busy. Our room was OK. It was quiet....that was a plus. Although, I didn't even take a shower because it just looked a bit dated and grimey. There was inadequate water pressure and the shower head was dated it just sprayed all over the place. Since this was the least expensive hotel we stayed at on our trip, it was understandable. The wifi was not free, it almost seems silly an average hotel wants extra cash just for room wifi. That was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lilly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordDot, Owner at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

We very much appreciate and value the time you took to write your review. All comments are very much appreciated and are taken very seriously. From your comments your first impressions were good, the lobby and restaurant were lively. St. Patricks Day is a very busy day for us and I was sorry to see that the restaurant was so packed that you didn't try to eat there. For those we did not meet I am truly sorry and we will ensure that those we can rectify will be rectified. Again we would like to thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,190 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooley's Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: $75 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing