We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Well situated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Mullingar, Westmeath, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well situated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Hotel was clean maybe a bit dated in the bathroom. Staff were friendly in the bar. Had lunch there which was mediocre but most pub lunches are. Had booked into the restaurant that evening but cancelled when we realised it was basically back to the bar with restaurant prices. Close to the Quays and shopping streets which was really handy. Don't know if we would rush back there

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    374
    159
    53
    33
See reviews for
215
401
39
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greystones, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just back home after a most enjoyable new years stay in this hotel.This was our third time to stay here,and we have enjoyed our experience on each occasion.The hotel is well situated on the quay in Waterford,5 mns walk from the city centre.The rooms are nice,with very comfortable beds.Cleanliness is of a very high standard.The staff and service are excellent,courtesy,friendliness,and efficiency should be their motto.The food is excellent.We have
enjoyed every meal we had there(we always book dinner).The rates,at any time of year are good.
We brought six friends (three mature couples),with us,and they all want to return again.
Kieran,Greystones

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieran31_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were only at Dooley's 1 night, and it was a pleasant experience. The included breakfast was very good with lots of variety. The desk staff were very friendly and the housekeeping staff were helpful. The stairwell and elevator were accessed with only a hotel key so that was a nice touch. Convenient location in Waterford...right on the waterfront across from the bus station. The front desk provided us with a tourist city map, so were able to walk to the Waterford Crystal Factory and then around town shopping & for supper. They do charge for wi-fi or you can use their computer in the lobby for 1 Euro/10 minutes if I remember right. The room was clean and quiet. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrocks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were delighted with our 3 night hale board break at this well appointed hotel. The room had everything we needed even down to a trouser press and well stocked tea and coffee making facility. The one drawback as far as the room was concerned was the hotel managements over keenness on environmental protection which resulted in choice of low energy bulbs even down to the light over the dressing table resulting an impractical light level. The restaurant was excellent, service good and the selection of Irish meat and fish was delicious and good sized portions. Entertainment was provided on some evenings and we were very pleased with the artistes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john_emms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here just before Christmas with our four year old daughter for one night, having stayed for a night in November also. All was excellent, check in, room, location....all spot on in lovely Waterford, Staff made a fuss of our chatty four year old which of course she loved. Had a lovely dinner in the bar which was very good value for money and colouring books were given to our little girl which kept her happily occupied. Had a lovely relaxing night in our spacious room and a lovely freshly cooked to order breakfast the next morning.
Would highly recommend Dooleys to anyone considering staying in Waterford for a night or two and carparking opposite for discounted rate of €3 total per stay is an added bonus in a city where parking can be a tad overpriced. Will look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronnieWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Myself and my 3 girlfriends were attending a show in Waterford and stayed here for one night. They gave us a family room which was very good value at only €79 between us. The staff are lovely and friendly. The room itself was a grand size with plenty of room for the 4 of us to get ready. Bathroom was a little worn looking but the shower worked fine with plenty of hot water. I would say that the room was very warm and I would have liked to know how to turn the heating down or off but I suppose thats better than being cold. The restaurant was nice and spacious with the food being reasonable and tasty.
All in all it was a good choice to stay there. I would definately recommend it to anybody looking for somewhere cheap, cheerful and clean to stay )))

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Our company had our Christmas night at Dooleys Hotel & had a fantastic time. When making the booking, we found Denise a great help. The staff on the night were excellent and very well organised. The food was delicious with great choices on the menu to suit everyone in our group. The service was great, food came out quickly and lovely and hot. The entertainment on the night was brilliant crack - band and disco included in the price ; excellent value. Overall, an excellent night and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilomenaT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooley's Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Property: Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing