We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This hotel is in a good position, near the city center and not far from the train station.
However my experience was really bad. I arrived and asked explicitly for a room with Internet, they gives me a room where the wireless was not working. I asked to change room, and I was told that there was the last one and that they was not able to refund me. Only after my insistence I spoke with a manager and they moved me in an other room. The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cccpiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    401
    173
    53
    39
See reviews for
231
435
44
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Stayed for one night on 12th Nov. Room was clean however there was no bottled water in the room. The bathroom was dated and when you turned on the shower the water did not drain from the bath which was not pleasant. There was also a lot of noise in the hallways from other guests returning after their night out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisamalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed for a couple of nights in October. Reasonably comfortable but very worn and dated room and even more grubby bathroom with a lavatory that didn't flush properly. Price was OK for what we got but the service left a lot to be desired with the staff attitude ranging from 'you must have left the 'do not disturb' sign on your door' when we mentioned that our room had not been cleaned to a shrug of the shoulders when we asked to have it freshened-up. Breakfast was pretty good - plenty of it anyway, although most of the cooked food was dried out. Breakfast staff all seemed too tired to bother being friendly. Room was unbearably hot with no means ofcooling down except leaving the window open, which meant it then got very noisy. Won't stay again, especially as there is a wealth of choice in the city at similar prices.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed midweek, rooms fine, bathroom needed a little bit of an upgrade but view was great. This is a good 3* hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Browneire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We had a lovely stay this is a real family run hotel food was very good and the location in the city of Waterford is great for shopping well done to margaret and tina at dooleys and thanks peter and imelda

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterimelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending two nights in Dooley's Hotel recently. We were attending a Christy Moore concert in The Forum and needed an hotel that was reasonably close to the venue. The staff were of the highest quality i.e. they were very friendly, helpful and efficient. The hotel was very comfortable with good food and ideally located. While it did not have a carpark guests were given 50% discount off the cost of parking across the street where it cost €5 for 24 hours.
I would certainly recommend the hotel for its value , location and friendly staff.

Room Tip: If possible book a room that does not overlook the road outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Always_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Nice hotel,with a good bar and friendly staff.Bar food top quality.Rooms are a bit dated but good enough

Room Tip: We asked for a phone wake up call,which we did not recieve.When we told staff they said we must have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkKing_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,370 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooley's Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Property: Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing