We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Bishop's Palace

Bishop's Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$8.24*
and up
Bishop's Palace Museum: Admission Ticket
More Info
$11.76*
and up
Medieval Museum and Bishop's Palace: Combined Admission Ticket
More Info
$8.24*
and up
Epic Tour of the Viking Triangle
Ranked #3 of 60 things to do in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Comber, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Novel approach to giving the history of the place Staff dressed up in period costume and acted story

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    147
    34
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
“A live history lesson!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stumbled upon these museums by chance, and I'm glad I did! Very cool to tour a palace, much less get the blow-by-blow on its history, purpose and function. Especially liked the guides, and all the staff was spot-on. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone interested in anything Irish.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A little boring compared with other stately homes”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Friendly guides who narrated in costume and acting which was a nice touch. Most of the furnishings were reproductions.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LesleyEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L C, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Palace, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bishop's Palace in Waterford City. Here at Bishop's Palace, we have a policy in place that ensures all pieces on display are originals. If there is a particular piece of furniture which you felt was not an original, please do not hesitate to contact us to verify the authenticity of this piece. We can be contact by phone on 00-353-51-849650 or by email museumreception@waterfordcity.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“A museum of two halves.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The first part of the museum, was interesting and informative. Unfortunately,the longer you walked,you had the feeling that they were scraping the barrel to fill space. The latter exhibits, we're likely to be of interest to locals, which we were not.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank alancgreen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had a wonderful visit to the Bishop's Palace on Saturday. The greeting at reception was very welcoming and informative. We opted for the guided tour and throughly enjoyed the theatrics of the characters Mrs Rickards and Mr Watwhy. The tour was fascinating and highly informative with a giggle or two along the way. A novel idea and well worth a repeat visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rebels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishop's Palace also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Bishop's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing