We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts and beautiful home”
Review of Sion Hill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sion Hill House
Ranked #11 of 23 Waterford B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This place was as close as it gets to staying in a castle. The dining room alone has such intriguing pieces like the Venetian Chandelier. JFK memorabilia (George is a Kennedy – royalty to an Irish Catholic Boston girl like me), Artwork and beautiful china. I felt so underdressed at breakfast like I should have been in fancy pajamas with my silk robe flowing behind me as I entered! George and Antoinette were wonderful and cordial hosts. On my arrival, Antoinette offered dinner suggestions but I was still full from a large late lunch so she brought me apple tart and tea. The room was large with a view of the garden. The weather wasn’t exactly "hang out in the lovely garden weather" but I did wonder around the morning before I left. I had some problems with email so Antoinette sent one off on my behalf to the next B&B. Breakfast was delicious and again elegant surroundings. The room was large and bed and beddings very comfortable. Waterford is just across the way and has plenty of parking, so not being in the center of town is not an issue. I would definitely stay here again and hope I get the opportunity! Thank you Antoinette and George.

Room Tip: I didn't see the other rooms but I imagine they are all tastefully decorated, comfortable and cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 31 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2014

The folks at the local museum booked us here and an excellent choice. Antoinette was a great host. Checked in about 5:30, and she made us some tea and sweets. Talked with her about the area and she told us about some unmarked treasures on our planned trip. Rooms are OK size and house overlooks city on opposite side of river. Nice and quiet here. Bed very comfortable, but could use some more outlets.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donutking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Another wonderfull stay George and Antoinette are the perfect host if you want a relaxing time in Waterford this is the place try for yourself you can't go wrong enjoy there is a great hotel bar on the quay side the Granville nice food and nice selection of beers sprits and wine worth a visit

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank robin_anne_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We found this on the internet and it looked special. We saved this for our last stay in Ireland and it was fantastic! Best spot for viewing the historic waterfront in Waterford. Tucked away but perfectly placed. The welcome was excellent and the hosts George and Antoinette were lovely. We stayed for two nights and wished we had booked in for longer. The whole house is a treat. The dining room alone is amazing and the decor and interesting furnishings mean you could send a day on site, we didn't get time to view the gardens but now we know its there we hope to return and spend more time relaxing at Sion House. We had plans to view Waterford which George helped us with which meant we made the most of our stay and meant we were able to enjoy excellent meals at reasonable prices. If you like history this is definitely the best choice. The room was extremely comfortable, we had amazing views of Waterford out of the window. We had an exceptionally early start on the last day and George and Antoinette insisted on catering for an early breakfast for us which was much appreciated. In addition to all this we rate this as the best value B&B we stayed in during out week long stay. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Any room would be a treat, we stayed in a corner room at the front of the house overlooking the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Really welcoming stately home with gardens and peace abounding. Hospitality second to none with the loveliest of hosts, Antoinette and George. The room was regal and spacious with a decent ensuite. The breakfast was hearty with excellent alternatives to the grilled offering for us carnivoures! Thanks for the wonderful few days in Waterford.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aidan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Sion Hill House is an oasis of beauty two minutes from downtown Waterford by car. The hosts George and Antoinette could not have been nicer, and were helpful in every regard. The gardens are lovely and the property is steeped in 2000 years of history. The rooms are peaceful and well-appointed, with the nights as quiet as can be. We chose this B&B because it was not right in the center of town, and we wanted quiet - and we sure were happy to get it - no city noises here! Nothing but two hundred year old trees, fountains, flowers and birds. A ten-minute walk (or two minute cab ride) takes you to Waterford, and a host of lovely restaurants and activities. Could not recommend Sion Hill House highly enough!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I had intended to stay along the waterfront in town in one of the hotels we'd found recommended in a guide book. Looking for a place to park was somewhat daunting and we wound up crossing over the river. Before making a second attempt in town we saw the sign for Sion Hill House B&B....how fortuitous! Going up the long winding drive we came upon a very impressive home which, we found out after asking for accommodations, was over 300 years old. We spoke with George and Antoinette Cavanaugh, the owners, and were shown to beautiful and spacious room with a grand view of Waterford across the river. George gave us little pieces of the history of the home during our stay and I urged him to consider writing a brief history of the home to share with guests...I sincerely hope he will do so. The dining room is nothing short of elegant and breakfast was perfect. The sitting room and dining room was a bit cluttered as their daughter was preparing to launch a vintage tearoom in town and was using mom & dad's to stage and store much of what would be moved to her new business...this did little to adversely affect our experience. We have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful, historical old home and the fine folks who were such gracious hosts!

Room Tip: If a room overlooking the river is available, ask for it....the view, day or night, is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuckyguyRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
The Barley Field
The Barley Field
#15 of 23 in Waterford
135 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ashleigh House Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
3.3 mi away
The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sion Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sion Hill House

Address: Dock Road | Ferrybank, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Waterford
Price Range: $45 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sion Hill House & Gardens overlooks Irelands oldest city, the city of Waterford, and the river Suir. Set in almost five acres of gardens, this period and listed house dates back to the early 1700's, when the artist Van Der Hagen in 1736 used the gardens to paint his view of Waterford city and its waterfront, described as " the noblest quay in Europe".Today, Sion Hill House still looks out on this noble view stretching out over the city with its many church spires and even to the church spire of Tramore , a seaside resort seven miles away which can be seen clearly in the distant horizon.​ The house was built by the Pope family who were wealthy Waterford merchants and ship owners, and remained in the family until 1917. The Pope family, descendants of William the Conqueror, arrived in Ireland with Oliver Cromwell in 1649. They were very wealthy, operating ships between Newfoundland, Canada, England and France and amassed most of their wealth during the Napoleonic wars by importing wine from France to their wine cellars here in Waterford and then exporting it again to England for profit. ​Sion Hill has not changed over the years. French and English Cavalry swords still adorn the walls together with many other artifacts and paintings, some of our guests have described the house as "a living museum". However, nowadays we have all the modern conveniences with en-suite bedrooms, tea/coffee making facilities, TV's, trouser presses and hair dryers etc. and have been awarded a five star rating with the Automobile Association.​The gardens at Sion Hill are extensive, divided between parkland, formal and woodland with many trees approx 200years old and close to 100 ft high. The gardens contain many rare plants, sourced from all over the world and are at their best in the Spring when thousands of bulbs are in bloom. The many certificates awarded by the Mayor of Waterford and displayed in the entrance hall give testament to the importance of the gardens to the city.​The house furnishings include many rare and unusual items of interest including many old clocks , two of which are in the hallway, both made in Waterford. The Grandfather clock by William Parker, 78 The Quay, was made in 1870 and the wall clock made by Mosleys of Waterford in the late 1700's , both remain in good working order. The hall chandelier and wall brackets were made by Waterford Crystal while the Murano13 light glass chandelier in the dining room was made in Venice, Italy. Stuffed Antelope heads adorn the walls of the hallway along with fishing rods and Waterford Crystal walking sticks. At the back of the hall stands a beautiful Ancient Hopsicord piano.​ ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing