We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Return Visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have stayed in the Woodlands Hotel on severl occasions,but had not been here for about three years until the new year.I have always loved our visits to this hotel and never had any reason to complain about anything. We arrived on 30th December and stayed until new years day.
This time we were staying on room only basis through octapus.When we arrived we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist.We went to our room which we were very pleased with on arrival. I noticed the room was quite dark and when I checked the lamps there was no bulb in one. When we tried the television the remote control would not work. I mentioned the bulb to the receptionist and explained that my husband is visually impaired and she said that they would have to wait until the next day to get it replaced and they would get us a new remote for the tele. They left another remote for us but it would not work either but i didnt mind too much because I just needed to stand on the chair to change the stations manually. We ate dinner both nights in the bar and the food was lovely as were the bar staff and the lady that worked on the food counter was so nice. We also ate breakfast in the restaurant on new years morning and it was really nice and very reasonable at 10 euro each. There was a different receptionist on the desk on new years eve and I again asked about the bulb for the lamp but was told they didnt have access to get bulbs.There was a wedding at the hotel on new years eve and the hotel was very busy, we met some lovely lads from tyrone who were home from brisbane for the wedding.All in all we enjoyed our stay there but next time maybe we should bring some bulbs with us :) I also thought that the sofa in the room was faded and may need updating. Would definitely return there though as I really like this hotel and the staff are so nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hbucket1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear hbucket1,

Thank you for your respond. I am delighted to read that you are a repeat guest with us here in the Woodland Hotel, Waterford.

I have to apologize about the light bulb incident and please be assured we have taken note of your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Woodlands Hotel, Waterford.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    130
    68
    49
    43
See reviews for
163
125
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Booked in with my wife for one night.
Lucky we only live 45 min away as we had to turn round and go home.
The first room we were put in a leg was broke off the bed which gave it a big slope back to one side. The curtains were faded away and filthy.
Both floors were thick with paint fumes that would poison you.
The second room had stained carpet which looked like blood. A big extractor fan was roaring outside the window, which would have had to be open to let the fumes out.

Find somewhere else!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear SEN77,

Thank you for your review. As discussed we are currently c undergoing a small amount of refurbishment on our bedrooms which includes painting and varnishing etc
Again I apogize for the issues you encountered during our stay.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Woodlands Hotel, Waterford in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Waterford
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding last weekend had a great time staff are very friendly especially the girl that was on reception didn't catch her name had a family room booked which was clean & comfortable breakfast was good plenty of choice great place for a wedding .will def go back for the food and great service keep it up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MunsterfanWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Munsterfanwaterford,

Thank you for your review and your kind comments. I will ensure to pass your comments onto the team who I am confident will find very motivation.

We hope to Welcome you back to the Woodlands Hotel, Waterford in the not so distant future.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I had my wedding in the woodlands hotel in December 2012 and have nothing but praise for this hotel. From dealing with Claire we new we would be looked after! The staff on the day were just exceptiOnal and so professional. The food was amazing. Overall cannot say enough well done woodlands hotel and staff! The tall
Guy that was managing the staff was superb! Thanks for the best day of our lives :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridetobe97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Bridetobe97,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you read your comments about your Wedding Day here in the Woodlands Hotel. We understand that a Couples Wedding Day is one of the most important days of their lives and work hard to guarantee the highest standards for our wedding couples.

Again thank you for taking the time to write your review.

From all the team at the Woodlands Hotel we wish you all the best for the future.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night just before christmas, my boyfriend and i were full of christmas cheer and hoped to find the same at the hotel.. sadly it was not to be. we checked in late afternoon after a festive afternoon in the city, to a cold and unwelcoming receptionist. After a short wait as the receptionist dealt with a problem on her system she checked us in, we were handed our keys without any information on the hotel, breakfast times, leisure centre, dinner times not even an indication as to which direction we should go to find our room. The room it self was very clean and quite large however the chocolates and wine that we were to receive on arrival were not in the room, but were promptly delivered by a very friendly guy after a quick call to reception. Room was roasting during our stay and breakfast was cold and tasteless. As i work in hospitality myself perhaps my expections were high, good location and impressive apperance on arrival however it is not a hotel i would rush back to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tipp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Tipp2013,

Thank you for your respond. Further to our conversation I am delighted that you would be happy to return to the Woodlands Hotel.

Again I cannot apologise enough for the treatment you received on arrival.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Got a half-price deal on this hotel through Pigsback which gave us 1 night B+B with a box of chocolates and wine on arrival. Stayed on Saturday 22nd December 2012. Found the staff very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Rated as 3 star, we found the room was above what we've come to expect from 3star, very clean and with all the facilities one would expect in 4star. We had an nice evening meal in the bar which was reasonably good value and served up quickly. The bar itself had a nice atmosphere and was decorated in an old world style. Waterford city centre was a 10minute taxi ride and cost €8. Breakfast was a good, filling, Irish breakfast comparable with anywhere we've stayed. Overall we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to the South Eastern capital.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear MichaelC,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you found the staff very friendly and helpful.
It is great to read that you enjoyed the facilities here in the hotel and enjoyed your meal in the Brasscock Bar.

I will ensure to pass all of your comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Woodlands Hotel, Waterford in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here as attending wedding in Waterford Castle.
Lovely hotel and great big spacious rooms, also leisure centre included in price.
We stayed on room only basis so didn't have food but barfood was available.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noreen57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireOMahony01, Sales & Marketing Manager at Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Noreen57,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you got to enjoy the leisure facilities here in the hotel which is included in the price of the room. I am happy to read that you found the rooms spacious and big.

We hope that you will make it back this direction and hope to welcome you back to the Woodlands Hotel, Waterford.

Kindest Regards,

Claire O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.1 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
2.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel

Property: Woodlands Hotel
Address: Dunmore Road, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing