We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely food”
Review of Munster Bar

Munster Bar
Ranked #17 of 174 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waterford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely food”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My family have been to the Munster now for years, and we cant fault the food in any way, It's always freshly cooked and piping hot, the service is great and the staff are very helpful and chirpy, it is a family run restaurant and bar and the Fitzgeralds go out of their way to make your stay a very pleasant one, and of course the price is very good for the quality. Would highly recommend it,

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    81
    20
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
McGregor, Minnesota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“We keep returning to this lunchtime gem!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Every time we are in Waterford, we make sure to eat lunch at the Munster. Friendly staff. (Never too busy if you wait for carvery to end at 2 pm before ordering off menu) The sandwiches are to die for! It's rare for my husband and I to agree on a place for pub-food, to both find something we love on menu and to go back again and again and be continually impressed with the food. Seriously great combinations of brie and meats and breads and sauces and perfect crisps and decent prices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caseyjDESIGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food, great time.”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The Munster Bar lived up to it's reviews , the food from the bar was so good we went twice , the Irish Stew was the best I've ever had and my husband had Sausages , onions and mash , we had both two nights in a row , the apple tart with custard was delicious .
The staff were fabulous , very helpful and made us very welcome .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenbanjup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect meal... perfect night!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

One Saturday night before a night in the theater me and my boyfriend went to the Munster bar for a pre theater meal and drink. All I can say is that we will definitely be doing this again and recommending it to friends! We booked a table for 5.30, we went into the bar for a two drinks as we were early.. where we received beautiful wine served by a lovely helpful woman. After our drink we walked upstairs to the beautiful warm restaurant where we got a beautiful tasty meal for an amazing price! It was busy and yet we were still on time for the show and had wonderful table service! A perfect night and a perfect meal!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely bar, good service and the best chowder in Ireland.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Lovely bar, good service and the best chowder in Ireland (so far).
I have long reckoned that the best chowder I've enjoyed was to be had at the Moorings Bar next to Dungarvan Castle in West Waterford. However I have to say The Munster Bar has put it up to the best - and because of the lack of flour (to any discernible degree) I found the mélange lighter and though not as "meaty" as the Moorings offering - it was most satisfying.
My wife at first did not concur but eventually (by the end of the substantial bowl) gave The Munster Bar 1/2 point more that the Moorings - in fairness no other comes close.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pfiddle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Munster Bar also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Munster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing