We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good old world pub”
Review of Geoff's Bar

Geoff's Bar
Ranked #12 of 175 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good old world pub”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have been here 3 times, which speaks for itself! Food excellent. Service was reasonably prompt in spite of being always busy. Decor old fashioned with lots of old advertising posters.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bmw215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    120
    28
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I would definitely go again!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Went twice recently. Both times the food was excellent and I finished everything! The prices were reasonable. It's lovely on the inside. Very big and it's very busy without being noisy. The service is good. Waitress got a bit mixed up with my order but friendly all the same.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niamhniamhniamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ignored by staff, dirty and smelly”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We seated ourselves and waited for 15 minutes while trying to catch the attention of the waitress. no luck, she seemed uninterested! Very dark and needs a good clean when you look closely. My friend used the toilet which left a lot to be desired so on that note we left. Also the smell of what I can only call 'loo blocs' was so overpowering.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TdeFaoite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrendous customer service”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Myself and three friends were in waterford for the day and rang two days previous to book as we were restricted with time and had heard great things about this place. We booked for six o clock. It was busy with a nice atmosphere when we walked in .we werent too happy with the table we had but we appreciate sat will be busy so couldnt swap. A table close to us sat down and a staff member came over in less than 5 mins and asked them if they wanted to order. So we got dropped menus and staff member stated " ill be back in a few" nobody came near us after that . After 25 mins we went to bar to be told " sit down and somebody will be with you". Order was eventually taken and my friend asked instead of mixed leaves could she get some veg to be told we dont serve veg. Despite there being veg stir fry on menu!!we waited for our food and we v annoyed to see a different table who ordered after us being served there food first. We called the staff member over and said nicely was our food on the way as we had been there over an hour. He said he would check. And no sooner had he left when a very rude staff member landed on us stating "excuse me ladies its actually only 40 mins ye have been here" his attitude towards us was condesending and rude. He smiled and fought us every step of the conversation when we explained just how long we had been waiting. We aired our concerns and he didnt pay any attention just told us what a successful busy restaurant it is. We paid for the minerals and left the premises. I am glad to see a business doing so well in jan it loses custom like that. I work in customer service and its definitely in my top 5 worst dining experiences and I didnt even get to taste the food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank lizzybee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The best bar in Waterford!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

I've been going to Waterford for 15 years to visit family, and Geoff's is the ONLY place to go! Lovely food, big drink choice, loads of different rooms! You can sit at the 'big table' and enjoy watching the ebb and flow, or you can tuck into a little nook and enjoy a quiet pint. The best Guinness in town, reasonable prices and lovely friendly staff.... This'll be my 'local away from home' for many years to come!

Helpful?
Thank snailywee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geoff's Bar also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Geoff's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing