We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Chips!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Geoff's Bar

Geoff's Bar
Ranked #12 of 173 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Iowa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Chips!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were sent here by the staff at The Bishop's Palace. "They have the best chips!" we were told.
The bar itself feels like small rooms cobbled together, some larger, some just small snug areas, making this great for groups who want a bit of privacy.
The food was really good- and the chips were some of the best we had.
A more 'traditional' bar, you make your food and drink orders at the bar, as well as pay your bill there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irishgrl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    115
    28
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“really pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I thought this pub looked tiny but it's really big inside. Such an odd interior - each part of the pub feels like a different pub, odd size furniture (everything just feels either a little too big or too small but maybe that was just me!) The atmosphere is buzzing and there is such a mix of people there. Really nice spot overall. Beer garden is great in nice weather.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love love love this pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Best pub in Ireland, great atmosphere and lovely food :) Great to catch up with friends, great to people watch, lovely window seats, and the food is yum!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Irish Pub Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

After our Waterford Crystal tour, we asked the staff where would be a good place for a pub dinner and Geoff's is what they recommended. We are glad they did because we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! We were able to find a table right away and went to the bar to order our first round of drinks and get menus. The server that took care of us the rest of the visit is what made Geoff's stand out from the rest. He was attentive and offered suggestions but the best was his attitude. He had a great sense of humor, joined in off-color banter with us, joked around and livened up the entire experience. The food was good, decent portions and not too terribly pricey. Recommend the calamari starter and both the pasta and cajun chicken panini were great, but the highlight for us was definitely the atmosphere and personality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skygirl213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a very friendly bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Very good food, reasonable prices. good beer.
Friendly and cheerful staff.
A good place to unwind after a hard days work....

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rumbumbaccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geoff's Bar also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Geoff's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing