We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never let's me down”

Lily O'Briens - The Chocolate Cafe
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

I work just around the corner from here and am in quite regularly, hot chocolates are gorgeous but also have lovely sandwiches and baps, especially the smoked chicken bap. Often buy the little pouches of chocolates for when I have visitors, great value. What I love most is the service, they are always very friendly and welcoming, it's nice when you've moved to a city away from home to have a regular place you feel welcome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wicklowroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocolatecafe11, Owner at Lily O'Briens - The Chocolate Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

That is great to hear thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 57 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stopped in here for coffee recently. Both sections were busy so we took a seat at the counter at the window. First noticed a strong paint smell and a sticky counter top, taking a closer look I saw that the paint was fresh and wet in places on the counter as if someone had put something hot on it before it dried. The waiter told me it had been painted a few days ago and covered the wet paint with a tissue. The latte I ordered arrived in a take away cup, I would have expected it in a glass, and it was cold. I feel that there is a need for some attention to detail.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Declan2004Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocolatecafe11, Owner at Lily O'Briens - The Chocolate Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for your review! Unfortunately there had been some refurbishment and there was a paint smell from the window area. We are a takeaway based café so all our coffees come in takeaway cups - we apologise for it being cold and would have loved to have been given the opportunity to replace it. Please call in again and make yourself known to Philip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Felt like an indulgent treat, and found chocolate heaven in this Cafe. Lovely friendly staff in a comfortable setting. I sat & enjoyed a delicious hot chocolate & a slice of their "Rocky Road" chocolate biscuit cake. There was great banter between customers & staff and the cafe had a steady in/out business both for takeaway & sit-in. Great selection of lunch & treat items on offer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trevor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocolatecafe11, Owner at Lily O'Briens - The Chocolate Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Great hot chicken ciabattas. Lovely cakes, attentive staff and reasonably priced. You don't need much more. Best little cafe we've been to for as long as we can remember!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DublinFjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocolatecafe11, Owner at Lily O'Briens - The Chocolate Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great choice,all fresh produce,very good value,cute little coffee shop,Cakes were so nice.Cant wait to call in again.

Thank janeanne42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocolatecafe11, Owner at Lily O'Briens - The Chocolate Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for your review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lily O'Briens - The Chocolate Cafe also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing