We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid and sleep in your car”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Travelodge Waterford
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Meath Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Avoid and sleep in your car”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our visit started with a sour receptionist trying to charge us again for our stay even though we had paid on line. Went up to our room and the smell of air freshner was disgusting. Our ensuite ceiling was covered in mould and the curtain rail was covered in rust. Lay on the bed in our clothes as the bed was questionable. Stayed in room for 5 hours but had to get up and leave. Couldnt even have shower due to dirt in shower. Corridors smelled really bad of smoke. Door of our room had crow bar marks where obviously someone had broken in and rough repair was done. Save your money and sleep in your car!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    84
    73
    67
    87
See reviews for
115
126
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed in room 41 on a Tuesday night in September 2013. Was kept awake all night (12 midnight to 5am!!!) by young adults smoking and drinking at the hotel entrance/smoking area. No phone in room to complain to reception. I complained to the Hotel Manager when I got up to start work at 7am after 2 hours sleep!! He apologised and said I would be refunded at least half of the room rate (Euro 61), but it would take a few days to go through as I booked and prepaid online. 3 weeks later and no refund! I called the hotel and spoke to a incompetent receptionist, who laughed when I went through the whole story again. After much unnecessary talk, I finally discovered the manager had left. The receptionist said he would make "no commitments" about a refund and would talk to the area manager and call me back in 2 days when the "very busy" area manager was visiting the hotel. 4 days passed and still no phone call and no refund. I called back to speak to the receptionist and was told he would be in at 3pm and would call me back.....no call. I emailed the area manager and got an email back from him saying he would look into it and contact me on Monday. Surprise, surprise Monday has come and gone and he never got back to me. Now not only did I loose a full nights sleep, I have lost unknown the time and money dealing with this incompetent company. My advise....don't bother.

Room Tip: NOT room 41 or anywhere overlooking the hotel entrance/smoking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
K_J,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your comments.
As per my email to you I hope that the refund situation is now fully resolved and that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Travelodge in the near future. Its disappointing that the noise from other guests disturbed your night sleep but I can assure you we do our utmost to ensure our guests have a great nights sleep. Once Again many thanks for your comments and your review.

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Arrived a little early and sent away - reception was unfriendly and property in need of upgrade. Comparing stays for a month in Ireland this was the poorest one. Had printed out booking page which included breakfast but the hotel had no note about it. gave us a breakfast pack.

Room Tip: The internet pictures of the property are somewhat misleading. Room was average but glad to move o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The first 3 nights were great,stayed in room 16.
The last night was awful stayed in room 7, i think. It was awful the room smelt the sink and bath were badly chipped.I felt because the first time we stayed we stayed for 3 nights we had a better room. The last night we only stayed for 1 night and it did'nt matter to you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Alma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Booked a family room - given a double
When I queried it, was told they had nothingg else. they brought a mattress up, expected me to make that bed myself, and work out myself how the sofa worked for a 2nd bed. Only when I insisted was I shown where the 2nd bed was. No one seemed bothered. I left a number so manager could call the next day. He didn't, so not even an apology. Fittings in the bathroom were broken. The place was scruffy. A dreadful dreadful place, and not only will I never stay at Travleodge Waterford again, I will never stay at Travelodge ANYWHERE. You should be ashamed, having a family arrive at 11pm at night and the family room they booked is not given to them. I wasn't even pre-warned at reception. We were left to make our way to the room, with 2 young children, to find there was only one bed in it. ABSOLUTELY UNACCEPTABLE.

Room Tip: Don't choose this place - I wouldn't even grace it by calling it a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We only stayed here for one night, but it was very pleasant. The room was clean and every thing was satisfactory in our family room. The location was quiet, but very far out of town 30 minute walk! Also there was no restaurant but I think that was temporary as there was a partially burnt down building next door. The staff were brilliant, very helpful about what to do in Waterford and even looked after our bags after we checked out so we didn't have to cart them around town all day before catching our train.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here on our roadtrip around Ireland and chose it for price it's position within our larger journey.
Yes the hotel is out of town and appears to be in a bit of a dodgy area but as a place to crash it's just fine.
There is a fantastic SuperValu supermarket less than 5 mins walk away which has some great fresh and healthy options. We got a heap of stuff from here for our dinner back in the room as we didn't feel like driving anywhere for a feed. There is also a Maccas next door.
Downtown Waterford is less than 10 mins drive if you want to go further afield for dinner.
Room itself was about what was expected from the chain but again, more than adequate for what we were after.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChonyBails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
1.1 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
1.9 mi away
Viking Hotel Waterford
Viking Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Waterford

Property: Travelodge Waterford
Address: N 25 Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterford Travelodge Hotel is ideally located just outside the main city centre. Travelodge Waterford is located on the main Cork to Rosslare Road (N25) our hotel is the ideal gateway to all that the sunny South East has to offer. Local beaches and golf courses are all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Travelodge Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Travelodge
Waterford Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing