We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelodge: Waterford, Port Lairge, Alice, Sian... you'll love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Waterford
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Travelodge: Waterford, Port Lairge, Alice, Sian... you'll love it!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The best thing we experienced in Travelodge Waterford was the staff. Excellent is not enough! Two ladies in particular have been extra helpful with us: Alice and Sian, in order of appearance to us, they made us feel less homesick :). Alice was the first we saw as soon as we entered the hotel, a big smile and a sweet kindness. Sian was the lady that really gave us a good insight of the city and about job situation, since we came here for living not just for tourism. Her tips and contacts are inestimable to us! About the rooms, they're clean and tidy, the white and blue really help you feel relaxed, hot water and heat work really well, you can have a cup of coffee or tea whenever you want just in 30 sec! About wifi, we requested a voucher for having wifi in our rooms, it costs only 5 € and it lasts for 24h. A very important thing to do if you need a connection in your room. Bitbuzz is a very good service, transparent and fast, something to keep in mind for future usages. About location, at the beginning it may sound far from the city center but, believe us, it's worth having a walk to get into the city so that you gradually get acquainted with Waterford, which is a beautiful Irish treasure. We had 3 good days in Travelodge Waterford, we came just for a place to crash while we had to explore the city for a house to rent and a job to seek, and we did it. If you're a dynamic person looking to stay in Ireland or just a tourist who wants to visit "Port Lairge", than Travelodge is your perfect solution to all tour needs! Thanks you again for everything and best wishes to anyone of your incredible staff! A bid hug to Alice and Sian!

Room Tip: Our room had windows that faced the Mc Donald near here. We though experienced no problem at all, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galatyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank You for your kind review about our Hotel and our staff. We are always delighted to hear about enjoyable stays and I am particularly pleased that our staff were helpful and friendly. I wish you every success and good luck in your time here in Waterford. Don't forge tto call back in to see us

Regards

David Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    87
    75
    67
    89
See reviews for
118
130
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hey, it's a Travelodge. I guess it's a good deal, but they really do shrimp on thing.
Nothing in the bathroom but one tiny bar of soap. No shampoo etc....
No lift, narrow corridors.

Got woken up at 4am by shouting in the car park.

Eddie Rockets next door do an okay breakfast. I'd recommend the pancakes as a change for the usual hotel breakfasts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandfatherClock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear GrandfatherClock,

Thank you for your comment.

We are sorry to learn about your disappointing stay.

The points you’ve raised will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

Your feedback is important to us, and we would like to investigate the issues. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form, to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were staying in the travel lodge and had 2 rooms booked as there was three of us. One of our friends had a sudden bereavement and could not come on the trip. As a death cannot be planned and can happen at any time. Nobody was aware of this until the evening. We rang to explain and were told we would still have to pay for 2nd room plus a security deosit because the card we used to book the rooms had declined. The cards are only used to secure the rooms in case someone does not turn up , you can then be charged. NO MONEY is taken at this stage, so it should not have mattered that card declined. So we were asked for security deposit even though we turned up for our stay and payed for the two rooms in full by cash.Extremely poor service due to a sudden death that nobody could have anticipated. Plus idiotic staff. This could of been handled alot better and we never recieved ant money back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Jen,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review about us here.
I would be grateful if you could contact me directly here at the hotel so that I can discuss your comments fully with you and have an opportunity to explain our cancellation and credit card policy to you.

Kind Regards

David Ryan
General Manager

david.ryan@travelodge.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Standard Travelodge --you get what you pay for. On the Cork Road about 1km from the Round Tower and quays. I usually stay here when I'm in Waterford. Clean and cheap...........................................

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Detroit_Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Pat,

Many thanks for posting your feedback here and for your comments.
The Round Tower you refer to is Reginalds Tower and well worth a visit along with the other Museum of Treasures in the Viking Triangle.
We look forward to seeing you again soon when you are next in Waterford.

Regards

David Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed 2 nights. On arrival receptionist was nice. Had to pay 10e to book in early even though room was ready and 'clean' -NOT!!! badly needed a good hoover. very basic. Shower ok. Toilet filthy. towels like sandpaper. Staff were rude and wouldnt even say hello. Couldnt sleep with footsteps from upstairs. Computer in lobby didnt work. Not walking distance to town. On the upside im not going back and please dont make the same mistake I did. To TRAVELODGE: Dont patronise me with your copy and paste response to all the complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Alan,

Thank you for your review. I would appreciate if you would contact me personally so I can fully address the comments you have raised in relation to your room.
I am disappointed that our staff were rude to you partcularly after you mentioned that the receptionist was so nice on arrival.
My contact addres is below. I look forward to hearing from you

Regards
David Ryan
General Manager

david.ryan@travelodge.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

So location wise this place is good enough, it's on the N25 so you'd do well not to find it - and it's a completely standard travelodge type place. Except, it's just got an air of being a bit grotty about it. The room that I stayed in had sparkling white sheets and duvet cover, but when moving the covers I saw the duvet - or rather the colour of it I couldn't get to sleep at all. Maybe my experience was a one off, but a good scrub, a lick of paint and some clean bedding would do this place a favour.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Sean,

Many thanks for posting your review here.
I'm sorry you encountered bed duvets which were not up to your expectations. We have been on an ongoing basis replacing and refreshing our bedroom furnishings including Matrresses, Duvets and Pillows as well as repainting rooms. I apologise that we had not yet completed the replacement of the one in your bedroom. However I can assure you that we will have the program completed very soon.
I am glad you found all the other bedding etc sparkling clean and that our location was easy to find.
I hope to see you again in the future

Regards

David Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

beds comfy, clean; lots hot water for bath; unfortunately someone decided it would be acceptable to tape the loo seat, how they thought that would be hygeinic I shudder to think!
as my hubby said, Woodies store is right next door, it would have been quicker to replace seat for a tenner and probably quicker than time it took to tape the seat! When we complained we were given room next door no bother. I mentioned it would have been nice to have got breakfast vouchers for the hassle, but girl on desk not authorised to be so genorous!
our room faced car park, we thought that a good thing as we could keep eye on car, but in the early hours the noise outside went on for ages, probably recommend a room away from car park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Linda T

Thank you for your comment.

We are sorry to learn about your disappointing stay.

The points you’ve raised will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

Your feedback is important to us, and we would like to investigate the issues. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form, to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
1.1 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,150 reviews
1.9 mi away
Viking Hotel Waterford
Viking Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
496 reviews
1.0 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,168 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Waterford

Property: Travelodge Waterford
Address: N 25 Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterford Travelodge Hotel is ideally located just outside the main city centre. Travelodge Waterford is located on the main Cork to Rosslare Road (N25) our hotel is the ideal gateway to all that the sunny South East has to offer. Local beaches and golf courses are all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Travelodge
Waterford Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing