We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Wonderful Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foxmount Country House
Ranked #3 of 24 Waterford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, ON
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed at the Foxmount for one night as we made our way from Dublin to County Kerry. We had a bit of trouble finding them, but Margret was very patient in explaining on how to get there. Once we found it, it was absolutely awesome to come down their driveway and see the stately home come into view. David was there to greet us and offered us a pot of tea and warm scones. What a great touch, especially when you've been driving around for hours! The Cottage Bistro in Cheekpoint was recommended to us, but we were warned that reservations were required. We took the chance and upon arrival, the owners were very gracious and provided us with an intimate corner of the restaurant. YES, reservations are definately required as this place really filled up quickly. (We found that the Irish eat their meals later than what we Canadians are used to) The younger staff at the restaurant were very pleasant and so personable...so refreshing to see this in the younger generation! Our room at the Foxmount was very spacious...we had the Bluebell which is more of a family room with 2 single beds and a queen bed. The decor, linens etc...was perfect. Breakfast was spot on! Fabulous home preserves and baking. Margaret and David are wonderful hosts. Thank you for making our Irish holiday so memorable!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolingv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    17
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
32
104
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

Unfortuately when we arrived the landlady wasn't in and someone else let us in, explained she was out and showed us to our room (without even checking our name!)

We put our bags in the room (pleasantly furnished with a small shelf of books with somethign for everyone) and wandered to the lounge where we were offered tea. The lounge was quite grand and welcoming with lots of books on local history etc. Our tea tray was promptly brought to us with cakes and elegant china. Later it only took 10-15 to get into Waterford and we found a good restaurant for dinner.

The following morning we went down to breakfast and sat with several retired American guests who were excellent company. Mum had the stewed home grown rhubarb with yoghurt as did several of the other guests, all of whom declared it delicious. Besides the Irish cooked breakfast and piles of brown bread with home made jam we were also offered some delicious homemade scones.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yabbyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2009

We stayed two nights at the Foxmount House. Margaret Kent is a welcoming, professional, warm hostess . Her Georgian home is spacious and lovely. The grounds are gorgeous. Great country setting...good access to Waterford area. Breakfasts were absolutely outstanding and she had wonderful suggestions on where to go in the area. Room was furnished in pine, white linens, and everything was immaculate.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garudagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2009

Beautiful estate with large gardens. The Kents are incredibly welcoming hosts who are warm while also being discrete and inobtrusive. Homemade scones and muffins are a treat. Try the rhubarb (served with a little yogurt), which is grown in their garden behind the home next to the working dairy farm. The breakfeast is elegant and delicious. Tremendous pride in their establishment and meal. Great dinner suggestions given for cozy seaport town nearby.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grecm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2008

Margaret and David Kent are warm and friendly yet dignified and professional. Their home has a lovely decor with just the right number of personal items (such as family photos) around that you are reminded these are real people with lives beyond that of inn keepers. Our room was enormous, with a sitting area that looked out on a large green lawn bordered by rose bushes. Informal gardens are bordered by fields with horses and cows; this is a working farm, which is part of the fun. We were encouraged to pick raspberries and wander everywhere. The Kents will give you the best recommendations for dinner; we enjoyed the local restaurants. Pay close attention to their directions ! Breakfast was cooked to order with Margaret's own fresh breads. The graciousness of the lovely diningroom and communal table encouraged conversation with guests, and we all lingered.

I did not want to leave Foxmount. Do stay here if you have the chance. It is a lovely iexperience in all ways.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandstoneSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownwood tx
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2008

Foxmount is FABULOUS! Ms. Margaret and her husband David were the perfect hosts. On a cold, rainy day they welcomed us with hot tea, homemade muffins and a warm fire. Their reccomendation of Cottage Bistro for dinner was "right on" and David even drove us there! Ms, Margaret's sophistication and warmth made us feel so comfortable staying over in their home. Absolutely nothing was overlooked in creating absolute perfection in a B & B. The furnishings, linens, the china, were so well chosen, it was hard to imagine staying anywhere else! The breakfast was simply "the icing on the best cake" I've ever had! I fell in love with their precious dogs, Lottie and Croft. Staying at Foxmount was the best part of my visit to Ireland.

  • Liked — 17th Century home in the quiet countrside with gracious hosts
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bikepedaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Such a beautiful house and estate. Our room was lovely, it was split level with a double bed in the lower section and 2 singles in the upper. The house is a treasure chest of collectibles presented in a very artistic yet homely way. Margaret Kent is your very competent hostess. The breakfast was just great with a procession of elegant dishes used for the different orders. A very professionally run Hostelry.

  • Liked — The house
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank okbyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
1.8 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Athenaeum House Hotel
Athenaeum House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Waterford
527 reviews
3.3 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxmount Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxmount Country House

Property: Foxmount Country House
Address: Passage Road, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Foxmount Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing