We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Country Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foxmount Country House
Ranked #3 of 23 Waterford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Country Experience”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived late at night and were warmly welcomed by Margaret. She gave us a quick tour of the house and got us all set up in our rooms. The upstairs rooms are large & stately but if a double bed is important to you, it would be worth mentioning at booking. Breakfast was great with eggs fresh from the chicken coop and freshly squeezed juice. If you're looking for a place away from the hustle and bustle, this is the spot! The grounds are amazing with horses, chickens and other friendly animals roaming around. Heather, who served us breakfast was fun to talk, was gracious with her time and has a little twinkle in her eye! Great experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lauraginsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    17
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
32
102
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I'm so in love with this place. Margaret Kent was a wonderful host and the house is gorgeous. Woke up to the sound of horses neighing and chickens and cute dogs running around. It is a working farm and of course, with that, breakfast was outstanding. I will definitely be back to see them all and enjoy more time here. I miss this place already!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JoolsinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Immersed in the beautiful Irish countryside, this B & B offers all the comfort and hospitality for a relaxing holiday. Thank you very much for your kind hospitality and we hope to see you soon.
Michelangelo, Simona and Camilla Carozzi

Room Tip: We suggest to stay there at least 3/4 days... enjoy your holiday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelangelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, California
Level Contributor
359 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This 300 year old farm house, restored to its former glory by Margaret Kent and her farmer husband David over many decades, is a wonderful place to stay in the Waterford area without having to deal with the mess in town. It is minutes away from everything you'll want to see in Waterford, but far enough from the hustle to provide a quiet evening. It is still a working farm so be prepared for dogs, plus chicken and horse sounds during the day.

The breakfasts are filling while flexible with family members helping out while trying hard to make you feel welcome. Traditional Irish fare and quite good. The morning we had breakfast we shared it with a family from Spain. All were surprised when the Yanks were able to converse in Spanish. Sadly, too many Americans are one language folks, surprising anyone from Europe where it is common to speak 2 or more languages.

Margaret has been recognized for setting the standard for B&Bs in Ireland, so you'll be receiving very nice service and great advice for things to do and places to eat / imbibe. She sent us over to the coast where we had an ok meal at the Strand Inn. See that review separately.

The rooms are a bit small, something you'd expect at an old farmhouse, but are comfortable. This is not a luxury inn, but a cozy, restored place to stay just outside the city. If you are going to visit Waterford Crystal and the museums, this is a great base that is reasonably priced. David was a bit shy, but Margaret has a gentile, authoritative air about her that will make you feel welcome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WineEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at Foxmount for 2 nights on our honeymoon in August 2013 and Margaret welcomed us right from when we pulled up in the driveway. It's quite a grand house, slightly old-fashioned but in a genuine and authentic way. Margaret was a wonderful host, a really warm and welcome character who made our stay very enjoyable. Finding the place was a bit of a challenge, but I think if you actually follow the directions on the website and/or give Margaret a call when you're near you'll do fine (satnav was no good though). There was only one thing which prevented the stay being 5 stars, which was that the hot water had run out at about 10.30am. (We were in a hurry to get going, otherwise I'm sure Margaret would have been more than happy to put the hot water on boost for us). I'm fine with a cold shower but it ruined my wife's morning. If you wake up at a sensible hour rather than lazily sleeping in til mid-morning you'll be fine. And top tip - make sure you have the stewed rhubarb, and with your porridge have the Jameson's soaked raisins. Both were lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peteypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This B&B was the best accommodation we stayed at during our 3 week tour of Ireland. An old manor house set in beautiful grounds on a working farm close to Waterford. Our hosts and all the extended family were most welcoming especially the very young boy who donned his wellies to show us around the farm with great enthusiasm. The rooms were lovely. The breakfasts in the formal dining room were exceptional. We would highly recommend staying here. We only regret we didn't stay longer.

Room Tip: The whole house is full of old world charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lyroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Staying at Foxmount Country House is not only a treat, it's a reminder of values many have left behind. Margaret and David have been living at Foxmount for 49 years and they are very proud of their working farm as well they should be. A foal was born three weeks ago and we watched him imprint his mother's ways out in a private pasture. Tea and breads when you arrive; the rooms are great and the breakfast is outstanding! Heather, their daughter-in-law, not only takes your order but serves you while Margaret cooks in the kitchen. The eggs are from the farm, raspberries were freshly picked one morning, the orange juice is also freshly squeezed as well; in fact, everything is fresh. We stayed three nights and it is quiet at night, secluded if you want privacy, and Jack Meade's pub is walking distance if you want to experience the locals in Passage East. But the best surprise is the porridge! This is not your everyday oatmeal. This is special, authentically Irish, and there is some magic to it but you'll have to stay at the Foxmount to find out what it is. A great stay, definitely recommend it and we look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms so book early. The Bluebell is the biggest I think and can sleep four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jasmarilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
1.7 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.6 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,101 reviews
1.0 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,071 reviews
0.7 mi away
Athenaeum House Hotel
Athenaeum House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Waterford
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxmount Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxmount Country House

Property: Foxmount Country House
Address: Passage Road, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Foxmount Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing