We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous surroundings, but bring your essentials!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous surroundings, but bring your essentials!”
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed at the lodges the recent wedding of a friend. The castle was stunning, the lodges were high end and the food was solid. My only criticism is that when they say "self catering", they mean it!! Make sure you bring shampoo, soap, bottle opener - anything and everything you need. In fairness, the hotel was sold out and we were only there for a weekend, so we probably weren't as prepared as most who might come to stay at the lodges. Otherwise, this is a truly memorable and gorgeous location.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscar503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    261
    97
    53
    22
See reviews for
359
532
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, OH
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We booked through a travel web site and when we arrived we were disappointed to find that the castle rooms were overbooked. However, management more than made up for it by offering us accommodations at the nearby lodges, which are luxury three bedroom condos, and dinner in the Munster Dining Room. Service and food were excellent and the atmosphere has to be experienced to be appreciated. Breakfast was served in a beautiful setting and was first rate.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrhume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

The Castle and its public rooms are terrific. Nicely and comfortably furnished with coffee and tea availible all day in the lobby ( where there is also free wifi). However "Danny Boy" plays on a loop 24 hours a day and it's a bit much. The same music problem occurs in the main dining room where a 40 minute "playlist" of Lloyd Webber and Burt Bacharach can drive one mad. The food was ambitious, expensive and only average. The room we had was dowdy, the windows needed washing and the shower quite frustrating. Our stay wasn't unpleasant and the staff are lovely but it all needs an up grade.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamAllen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfordcastle, Rooms Division Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2010
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent stay with us at Waterford Castle.We have taken note of your comments and we are working to improve on these areas.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Louise McNamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Kentucky
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

My wife and I just recently did a 9 day self-drive tour of Ireland. We stayed almost exclusively in farmhouses. But we splurged on one night at Waterford Castle and are so glad we did. You take a ferry to the island that is the sight of Waterford Castle and Golf Club. When you get off the ferry and turn left, you can see nothing of the Castle. But you are driving through lush forests and spendid large rhododendrons. You arrive at the back of the castle where you can unload your luggage before parking the car. The car park is hidden so that you are not looking at rows of cars from your room. Check in was very smooth and there was help getting our luggage to our room. The room was very large and well appointed. The king size bed was extremely comfortable. There was a great bath with both a shower and a soaking tub. We had dinner in the castle restaurant which was a five course meal with food which was cooked to perfection and elegantly served. The staff was very attentive and you were allowed to relax and enjoy a great meal. Breakfast was in a unique stone room with an oval skylight of enormous size that allowed you to look up to the top of the castle and the blue sky. Getting away from the traditional Irish fry breakfast, I had a very good omelet and my wife had a vegetarian breakfast. There were great breads and fresh fruit. If you are in Waterford, definitely consider the Castle for your stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prabedky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We are a family of 4 - 2 adults, 2 children (boys aged 4.5 and 2.5 years). I'd have to rank our stay at the Waterford Castle holiday homes one of the best holidays we've had. Our boys were so excited to catch the car ferry across. On the way, my 2.5 year old son said "It's the Island of Sodor mummy!" (where Thomas the Tank Engine lives...:) so cute!) Anyway, the holiday house was modern, decorated with style, had a Ray Eames chair, full size kitchen and functional lay out.

One downside was that clearly this house was loved and was showing signs of wear and tear - paint damaged on some walls where chairs had rubbed, some dimmer light switches missing, some water damage on the ceiling in the living room where the balcony resides above. The worst thing was that the back door didn't want to lock so the house wasn't "secure" (although, the whole area feels secluded and secure, I still prefer to sleep with locked doors at night and when we leave the house in the day). However, this was completely manageable - we took notes on arrival and passed it to the hotel reception who offered for us to change homes (we declined) and sent someone to fix the lock.

The house was generously fitted out with 3 bedrooms, all with own en-suite. Also, downstairs there was a toilet room. The kitchen was fitted out with many utensils but missing (eg: no frying pan, only one pot for cooking, etc) but did have a microwave, etc . It could have been if we stayed longer and requested more pots/pans, etc that they may have given this to us. The bedrooms had lovely beds and I slept really well. Parking was out the front of the house. There is no fee to use the ferry and it is a 24 hour service.

The fact that you stay on the island means that you can walk out the door and explore the castle and it's grounds, plus immediate access to the golf club, etc. We took a ball and had a kick in the area that is clearly used for clay pigeon shooting (some occassional empty shot casings lying around in places where they probably didn't think to look but my husband spotted a couple). It was a lovely patch of lawyn surrounded by ancient rock walls. We then found the walking trail to walk around the island which was fun to do with the boys too.

In Waterford, we were disappointed to find that the crystal factory had shut down due to the Global Financial Crisis but apparently they were due to open the new visitor centre in June but it wasn't open when we were there - just missed out. It actually turned out to be a good thing as we found a fantastic childrens park which kept them busy for a whole morning. Equipment was for ages for the very young (ie: <18 months) and up (there were teenage boys playing on some of the euqipment too!).

We wanted to do some shopping in Ireland and Waterford turned out to be a good option, with quality name brand shops like Clark shoes, Tommy Hilfiger, plus department stores. I also got my hair cut at the local Toni&Guy - the cutters did a quality job.

I'd definitely recommend Waterford as a place to stay (plus close to Bunmahon Beach which is another very quiet, remote but excellent beach - lots of sand, shells, has a large car park and excellent kids playground next to the caravan park and across the road from the local store and pub). We'd definitely consider going back to Waterford Castle and staying longer (only there for 2 days) so we could take advantage of the golf course and other activities on offer...pity we couldn't stay longer. Apparently the restaurant in the Castle is excellent - pity we didn't have a chance to go.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SDCTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfordcastle, Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent visit to Waterford Castle.I am delighted that you enjoyed your family holiday with us on the Island and that the south east area had lots to offer to you.We also appreciate the points you have made on the maintenance of your lodge and are currently running a care programe in order to ensure that all houses remain a high standard.
I look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the furture.

Kind regards
Louise McNamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

I would thoroughly recomend Waterford Castle. We stayed in the lodge accomodation which was of an exceptionally high standard and extremely comfortable. Facilities on the island are excellent and the wildlife is a real bonus. Very good value.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally48Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Accomodation was excellant, the dining room and food incrediable, breakfast the following morning in the stone conservatory was breathtaking and all this surrounded those beautifull walks and the islands deer a true hidden gem

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
2.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
1.5 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing