We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
waterford
1 review
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

Ws stumbled on the hotel by accident.From the time we checked in to the time we left everything was exceptional.The food and service in the restaurent was super.All the staff were friendly and professional.We would return again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jucy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    253
    96
    52
    22
See reviews for
347
514
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2009

I stayed at Waterford Castle recently for the first time with my husband. We had decided to take a short break away for Paddy's Weekend and chose waterford a location,  so close to Dublin but somewhere neither of us had ever explored before. We arrived to the Castle just before dusk and were delighted with the experience of taking a car ferry over the island where the castle is located, as we travelled up the drive we saw a deer grazing in the distance, a heron flew over head and we met a cock pheasant on the drive way, such amazing nature encountered before we had even parked the car!Were were given a warm reception on arrival to enter the lobby you feel like you have stepped back in time to by gone days a truly magnificent room with a huge fire place, and shown to our room by by a lovely young man. We stayed in the Glin Suite which is lovley it has been kept in the style to suit the castle feeling with spacious bedroom & bathroom, and the bed was amazingly comfy. We had made a had reservation for dinner with the front desk and once again were blown away not only by the food but the service wines were all a perfect match. We both had fish for main course which was so fresh and tasty, we are still talking about it!  The next day my husband headed of for a round of golf while I chose to take a stroll around the grounds and then curled up in reception in front of a blazing fire with a book to wile away a few hours. We left the castle completely relaxed and delighted with our choice find! We will definitely be back....

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyespy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
572 reviews
268 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2009

OK we got a winter break at a faction of the "normal" cost. Our room was normally over 500€ per night for a double room with breakfast. For that they should be offering something seriously good, and fell short. Even at their winter break price it fell seriously short. Dinner for two is also seriously expensive at about €170 for two with a bottle of house wine, more of that later. In short the place is a rip off, and that appears to be the view of most recent reviewers. Words like "soulless" "lacking roaring fires in empty fireplaces" "no character" "no charm" have cropped up, and regrettably I have to concur.

Waterford Castle is on a private island, serviced by their own car ferry. About 5 kms from the centre of Waterford it is very convenient for the city. The island is host to a golf club and a small development of houses attached to the club. The castle is not a "castle" in the "fortified stronghold" sense of the word, but is a castellated country house, with big rooms and a feeling of grandeur.

That is the good bit. The bad bit started when we arrived. The radiators had not been turned on in our room on arrival - there had been a snowfall that morning so it was cold. The receptionist failed to notice the cold, but we did when we took our coats off. With some difficulty, I managed to turn them on - it is an antediluvian heating system, and has boxed in radiators). Twenty minutes later they were barely lukewarm. A trip to reception resulted in a shrug and a rather morose sloping off to "reset the boiler". The rads did then get warm, but a big old room was still cold by bedtime. We asked for an electric heater, and had to have it on all night. Next day heating again cut out in the hotel about 8pm, and we had to go to reception to ask for it to be put back on. Again, done without an apology.

The lighting in the bedrooms is appalling, a large room lit by 2 bedside lights and one desk light. One bulb had blown and we had to ask for another. The lampshades were torn and burnt.

Our dinner certainly was not in the €170 for 2 category, a pre-starter of three thin slices of salami (curling at the edges), bread that was not fresh (again curling at the edges - I mentioned the bread to the duty manager, who disappeared into the kitchen, but was too ashamed to come back and tell us the results of his chat with the chefs on the subject of the bread), scallops (appeared to have been frozen and tasted woolly), main courses were respectively beef (seriously good) and venison (seriously bad), puddings middle of the road - an apple crumble with ginger ice cream, had vanilla ice cream as there was certainly no taste of ginger in it.

Breakfast was certainly not up to the €23 per head advertised on the menu.

All in all a disaster, and I would caution anyone against staying there.even at a quarter of the price!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wcastle, Sales & Marketing Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2009
Dear Guest,

First & foremost I would like to sincerely apologise for the bad experience you had during your stay at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort at the start of this year.

We pride ourselves on delivering excellent service and value to our guests, which we feel is reflected in the majority of our guests experiences.

However I appreciate that this was not the case for you, & thank you for taking the time in bringing these matters to my attention, I can assure you that your thoughts have been taken very seriously by my management team and each issue has been looked at in isolation for us to further improve our service delivery & customer satisfaction.

Please feel free to contact me personally at any time to discuss your thoughts in further detail, and hopefully you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back through our doors in the near future to give you the experience you deserve to receive at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort.

Yours Sincerely,

Ciaran Gardiner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2008

We enjoyed a one night stay in a deluxe suite . The room itself was huge. The entrance hall, bathroom and bedroom all fine sizes. View was good. Great reception, breakfast lovely and ambiance great.

Only thing didn't find good was the lighting in the bedroom/bathroom!!!!!!!!!!! speaking from a female point of view, you need good lighting and well located mirrors and plug points for hair straightners/dryers. This was not the case. It was near on impossible to apply makeup in the badly lit bathroom. Hair dryers/straightners had to be plugged in in the bedroom and you had to hope for the best as you stretched out around the corner to the mirror in the entrance hall as no plug points here or anywhere near a mirror!!!!!!!

Otherwise, a beautiful one night getaway. Food lovely. Will return.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lighting in rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraClonmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2008

Previously reviewed this hotel and raved about it. We loved it so much we returned or the third time on 3 November for four nights. Having just returned from that stay I thought I would write another review. We drove onto the ferry leading across to the hotel and both smiled as we knew we were returning to paradise. We pulled up outside the hotel and walked through huge doors knowing we would be greeted by a roaring open fire in a magnificant lobby area complete with rich carpets, tapestries and wonderful medieval 'castle' furniture i.e. big, squishy, comfortable and wonderful and we stopped dead in our tracks. We were totally stunned, and not in a good way. No roaring fire, no rich carpets, no tapestries, no squishy comfortable furniture and zero character. The hotel is being 'refurbished' and, once again, a 'designer' has ripped the guts out of the place. All richness and age, the very things you stay in a castle for, have been ripped out. In their place is modern furniture and a cream carpet!!! Who the hell thought a cream carpet was a good idea?! When we arrived, and after we'd got over the shock at the changes, we both noticed the carpet was absolutely filthy and would never stay clean. What a ridiculous idea. We were greeted by the receptionist lauging (in a nice way) at our response. She'd recognised us fom previous visits and asked us what we thought. At this point we exercised tact and just said we were surprised. We were then shown to our favourite room (The Roche) and we walked though the door and heaved a sigh of relief at the fact the room had only had a lick of paint and a new carpet. Nothing else had been touched and it was as we remembered it, idyllic. Breakfact the next day was, as always, superb and the it was great to be remembered by the morning supervisor who really is a joy and a text book example of excellent customer service. But yet again, apart from the stunning mullion windows, the designer had done their work and completely destroyed all sign that you were staying in a castle (perhaps the UPVC replacements are still on order!!) and, as in reception, had made an excellent job of removing all character totally and utterly. Upon returning in the evening we went to the bar for a nightcap and sighed. Once again all character removed. The bar area is now an insipid sludge grey with modern furniture and no soul. The last time we were here we stayed in the bar until the early hours drinking in front of a roraing fire which was idyllic. This time there was no fire, no squishy furniture, no character. and no charm. After one drink we left and retired to our room. We were told the hotel was in the process of being refurbished room by room. We were kindly shown one of the 'refurbished' rooms and we both sighed. Bland, insipid, characterless. In a refurbished room you could be staying at a Hilton in any city in the world, the new manager apparently worked for the Hilton chain so that could explain a lot. The Island is undergoing a massisve period of improvement including a marina and spa. No thank you. My partner and I travel the world on business on a regular basis staying in the kind of typical soulless five star hotel the Castle is in danger of becoming. For that reason when we are on holiday we want character, charm, and luxury. For the previous visits the Castle provided that in spades and then some. No longer regrettably. All I can say to you if you are intending to visit is go for it for the breakfast and totally totally superb and out of this world afternoon tea (we had one again whilst we were there and it was delectable though that could change if they refurbish the kitchen!!). As long as you can deal with the fact that once inside there is no indication at all that you are staying in a Castle and could be staying anywhere you will have a great time. Will we be back, sadly no. WHAT A TERRIBLE TERRIBLE SHAME.

  • Liked — The stunning building exterior, location and our room
  • Disliked — The 'refurbishments'. They are in danger of destroying everything the hotel was, is and should be!!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank DipsyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

Having stayed in both Ashord and Dromoland castles it was our turn to spend a night in Waterford castle (it being in the same price bracket we expected it to be on a par with the others). My fiance decided to take me for a birthday treat and had paid a tidy sum for the room. The ferry over to the island is impressive as is the castle upon arrival. I have to say I was very disappointed when we were shown to the room, it was tiny and extremely shabby. The carpet was thread bare, the throw on the bed had seen better days (in perhaps the early 90's) and the blanket was like something my parents had received as wedding present 35 years ago. The ghetto blaster on the window sill was completely out of place ( having said that the old castle windows were lovely). The bathroom on the other hand was the same size as the room and was decorated in beautiful ceramic tiles, I chose to spend quite a while in the bath as it was the biggest I have even been in. But really, the bathroom is not reason enough to visit a hotel. We ate dinner in the dining room that evening and it was a wonderful meal with which I cannot find fault. The restaurant manager deserves a mention as he was a very pleasant character. The meal was the saving grace, but I would be reluctant to recommend the hotel to people. This castle's guest rooms seems to be in need of some management and are in dire need of redecoration.

  • Liked — The meal
  • Disliked — Shabby room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank saharaomeara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

I booked my stay through ignorance. I wish I'd seen this web site before booking my one night castle experience. What a disappointment! All that money for an old, dirty room. I mean really black mold on the window, what appeared to be wine stains on the wall, a filthy holey bedspread, a headboard with material worn thin and stained beyond belief, carpeting stained and worn thin, the armoire when opened smelled yuckey, the lampshades were dripping nicotine. Bathroom was clean but shower ran out all over the marble floor so you worried about slipping. There was a bug on the wet marble floor so that creeped me out. The grounds were nice but never were we informed of the walking trail we ventured out and found it ourselves. The room was reserved for two yet fruit, one plate and one fork and knife were provided. I could go on but enough is enough, Their wall of awards and highly touted website is a crime. Some one should p;ut a stop to this rip off,.

  • Liked — Walking trail
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank tightbluejeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
2.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
1.5 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, LateRooms, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing