We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Woodlands Hotel(Waterford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granville Hotel(Waterford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzwilton Hotel(Waterford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,360)
Filter reviews
1,360 results
Traveler rating
885
289
106
54
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
885
289
106
54
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmunster roompresidential suiteprivate islandcar ferrygolf clubdriving rangeself catering lodgesclaw foot tubfairy taleround of golfsitting roomfamily weddingold worldfrom start to finishsconesfollowing morningtop class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
827 - 832 of 1,360 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

On arriving at Waterford Castle the staff were so friendly and helpful, couldn't ask to meet nicer people. The grounds are breath takingly beautiful, shall definetely return. Anyone interested in Golf is in for a treat as there is a lovely golf pitch.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for such lovely feedback. The staff recognition is most rewarding and we are grateful for such compliments.
We look forward to having you return in the very near future.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Thank you on behalf on the Photonerds for your welcome and hospitality. Such a beautiful location perfect for photographs. A good night was had by all members of the club and the photos we have taken are gorgeous.We hope to go back again as there were some areas we didn't use as there was such choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrissieDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to share your views. It was our pleasure to have you with us and we certainly look forward to viewing some of the shots.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I first came to Waterford Castle in January, and stayed in the lodges with my family. I gave it 5 stars in my review then (also on trip advisor) as a family break, even in the freezing cold with 3 young boys. I knew straight away that it was the perfect place for my 40th and have just spent the most perfect, idyllic weekend with my friends and family celebrating in the lodges.

Excited calls from the ferry, "we're here", open mouths all around on seeing the lodges, picnic tables outside in the sun, kids playing in the playground. Fantastic food in the clubhouse (the Castle was booked for a wedding which looked amazing). Hares running around us, deer over the hill.... a different world.

The staff are very helpful and really nice and chatty. Phillip was on hand for multiple emails to organise things for me and couldn't have been more careful.

I would really recommend the lodges for a celebration, its a very special place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missraisineyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I was delighted to read your review and pleased to learn of your experience at the lodges. We feel privileged that you choose Waterford Castle to celebrate such a great occasion. Belated Happy Birthday wishes from all of us here and I hope the celebrations were very memorable.
Thank you for the staff recognition and in particular, I assure you that Philip will be most pleased with your feedback. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your return.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in a one of the Lodges (#44). It was huge for our needs (a married couple). It had three bedrooms, two ensuite with a separate bathroom upstairs and a toilet downstairs. Kitchen well appointed but, like a previous reviewer, we could find no tin-opener.

We ate in the restaurant one evening. Very nice meal, served with care and attention, and even a few freebies thrown in (a small starter and a sorbet).

We self-catered the second night.

Played golf (9 holes-very good value for guests-only €15).

It was very nice to walk back to the lodge from the Castle after the meal and drink in the bar-very quiet and peaceful along the island roads with little or no traffic.

It seems even more remote because it is on an island and you have to travel across by ferry.

Would highly recommend it as a lovely place to spend a couple of days.

Waterford city is also well worth seeing (Waterford Glass, City Museum, Bishop's House, Reginald's Tower etc.) .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alant2547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for finding the time to post your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and many thanks for your compliments. Sorry about the tin - opener. This will be addressed immediately. We really appreciate your recommendation and hope to have you stay again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We’re from the USA and my daughter and her finance wanted to get married in a Castle. With her finance’s Irish heritage, they finalized and picked the Waterford Castle. In my mind and having to pay for this blessed event, the logistics would be very difficult in getting the guest list of family and friends worked out of whom would even be willing to travel so far. In the end from start to end things couldn’t have gone smoother and this is in part thanks to the staff at the Castle. From the arrival of the first guest to the departure of the last everyone at the Castle did everything they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible especially for the Bride and Groom.
The Castle itself is in superb shape with very, very comfortable, clean and well appointed rooms. The food and drink was equally as good if not great. The entire staff was always on point and acted on the utmost professional level.
The grounds of the Castle are as beautiful as the Castle itself. Taking evening strolls or in our case we using the grounds as a backdrop for the Wedding couples photo shoot.
As the Father of the Bride, my personal thanks to everyone at the Waterford Castle for making my daughters dreams come true without incident.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhornick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for sharing such wonderful feedback with us. Your review was delight to read and we greatly appreciate your compliments and recognition. We were privileged to be a part of such a special occasion and indeed we are grateful to have been the destination of choice. Our sincere best wishes to you and your family and in particular to the Bride and Groom.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Waterford Castle in the not so distant future.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews