We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here in October 2012, a trip i had been lookig forward to, unfortunately I left disappointed. The interior of the hotel is outdated and has not been modernised since the late 80s with damp on the walls, a rusty bath in my bedroom, broken windows and peeling wallpaper. This is not a four star standard and is very overpriced. the staff are very nice and the food is good, if again overpriced. I would not stay here again and would not advise people who are looking for a special occasion away to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for giving us your feedback. We were dissapointed to read of your experience and we are truly sorry to have dissapointed you. Our refurbishment plan will address the points that you have identified and we hope that you will consider returning to view the work carried out.
We appreciate the recognition you have given both the staff and the food at Waterford Castle.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

933 - 939 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

My other half arranged for a weekend away to Mount Juliet for Friday night and Waterford Castle for Saturday night. Both hotels were within a similar price range but a world apart in standards. Waterford Castle disappointed us on a number of levels. The place is generally run down. Old damaged furniture, peeling wall paper, rusty bath in bathroom. To add to the disappointment the hotel was cold even though it was a mild evening. I understand the castle dates back but the condition of the hotel was certainly not 4 star. Postive aspects of the hotel was the excellent service provided by the staff and the general cleaniness. However, these did not make up for the quality.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to share your views. As you will imagine I was dissapointed to read your review and to learn of your overall experience. On a positive note, it was nice to read your compliments in regards to service and cleanliness. I sincerely apologise for our shortcomings in not being able to provide a positive memory of Waterford Castle.
We are at the start of a refurbishment program which will encompass all areas of the Castle. I hope that you will consider returning so that we can redeem ourselves and showcase our work.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent a weekend there attending a wedding. The weather was dreadful but this hardly detracted from the experience which was wonderful. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, the food is delicious and the staff could not be more attentive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyLinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We were delighted to read such a complimentary review. The staff will be most proud of your praise.
We look forward to welcoming you back and hope to be able to provide sunshine on that occasion.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I were originally supposed to stay in Waterford Castle. A few days before our trip our travel agent called and told us we wouldn't be able to stay in the castle itself but we were being offered one of the lodges as well as all of our money back. I was disappointed but we were still going to get to see the castle and we had free roam of the grounds. When we arrived at the castle the manager on duty was most apologetic about us not being able to stay in the castle. She told us about the formal dinner that evening and I asked her to please make a reservation for us. After dinner, our check was only for the "service fee". I told the waiter there must be a mistake and he said, "No miss, no mistake. Thank you and have a great evening." I must say the staff at Waterford Castle went far above the call of duty! Not only did they reimburse us 100% of our fee to stay there but they also bought us Bailey coffees to relax with while they checked us in, they left us a bottle of wine in our lodge AND they bought us dinner!

As a note, the lodges are stunning! Very modern and beautiful! It was nicer than many of the condos in Park City. I only wish we could have stayed there longer!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am delighted to hear that we were able to turn your experience into such a positive one. We sincerely acknowledge the compliments you have afforded the staff and we are most grateful for the complimentary review of the lodges.
We hope you can stay longer the next time round!
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had been looking forward to staying at this hotel on our tour of Southern Ireland, but when it came to it, I was a little bit disappointed.

We had booked one of the holiday cottages, and whilst the castle lived up to all expectations the cottage did not, they seemed a little bit dated and unmaintained, and freezing!!

Not sure if we caught it on a bad day???

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for posting your recent review. We were delighted to hear that the Castle lived up to expectations but dissapointed to read of your experience in the lodges. I would like to apologize for our shortcomings and we will aim to fix our faults immediately.
I hope that you will consider returning to Waterford Castle
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Attended a wedding at Waterford castle. Food, service and accommodation was amazing. Usually weddings can have the feel of a mass catering event but the staff were incredibly attentive and it felt that we were an an exclusive restaurant. The staff were also great with children guests. The ceremony that was held in the reception was lovely,the venue really is very special.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazzak1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for sharing your views with us. We were delighted to read your complimentary comments. We greatly appreciate the commendations you have given us. All of the staff will be incredibly proud of the recognition.
We hope to be in a position to welcome you back to Waterford Castle in the near future.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Most unique setting. The Castle is set on its very own Island with a romantic history. Now includes a Golf Course. As for Dining it too is a unique experience. Quality, class and unique just like the Castle. Relax in winter by the big fire in the Reception area perhaps with a night cap in hand before retiring to the luxury that is Waterford Castle. To escape from the world this is where to go yet you are within minutes of the Medival City of Waterford via the Islands chain operated Car/Pedestrian ferry. A taxi will take you to and from the City directly from the castle door. For a short stay there is really no need to leave the island! Should you visit look out for the Fox who nightly attends the Castle Vacinity in search of his Gourmet Dinner. The Fox may also be seen at lunch time! Priced to attract you even just to dine on a special occasion is an experience you will remember.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LD0yle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for posting such a lovely review following you recent visit to Waterford Castle. It will be a pleasure to share your comments with my colleagues. We are most grateful for your beautiful portrayal of the Castle. Our friendly fox can still be seen daily around the grounds.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
2.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,389 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,227 reviews
1.5 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
2 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,217 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: $141 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing