We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Nearby Hotels
Waterford Marina Hotel(Waterford)(Great Value!)
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dooley's Hotel Waterford(Waterford)(Great Value!)
$117
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$145
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzwilton Hotel(Waterford)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhu Glenn Hotel(Slieverue)
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$83
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granville Hotel(Waterford)
$159
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel(Waterford)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,365)
Filter reviews
1,365 results
Traveler rating
889
290
106
54
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
889
290
106
54
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmunster roompresidential suiteprivate islandcar ferrygolf clubdriving rangeself catering lodgesclaw foot tubfairy taleround of golfsitting roomfamily weddingold worldfrom start to finishsconesfollowing morningtop class
Filter
Updating list...
1,044 - 1,049 of 1,365 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed one night at the Castle. It was a cold, drippy, soggy early April afternoon when we arrived and walked into the main hall. We were greated by muted light, a warm fire in the massive fire place. Our room was wonderful. On the main floor on the side of the building, it was huge, quiet and elegant. We had dinner in the bar area and it was yummy, Again a fire in the fireplace. Dressed up a little and had a nice time. Had a chance to walk around the castle before it got dark. Beautiful grounds and they have a mature Monkey Puzzle Tree to the right of the building when you face it. Extremely clean, comfortable bedding, Bath was wonderful. The only flaw was the wait staff ignored us at breakfast the next morning and we only had the buffet as no one took our breakfast order.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catwoman27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian3553, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear Catwoman27,

I am pleased to ready that you enjoyed your stay here at Waterford Castle recently. I have passed your comments on to the Restaurant team and we have used this as a training tool to ensure future guests receive service satisfaction.

Thank you again.

Kind Regards

Adrian Rossetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I have stayed here quite a few times with my husband and the children in the lodges. The accomodation is beautiful , modern, and has everything you might need. Warm with underfloor heating even in freezing post Christmas weather Dec. 2010. We have eaten in the Golf Club ( not always open tho ) with the kids and the food is lovely and reasonable. Food in the castle hotel is more expensive but for a special christmas treat we have ,once with relatives ,and once an early bird with the kids- gorgeous ! Took photos in the great hall with the giant castle fireplace and wall hangings. The staff supplied golf balls to our children to 'practise their driving skills ' and they loved it. We have walked around the island watching deer and other wildlife that freely roam around . Indeed we have seen deer behind the lodges nibbling on the lovely landscaping ! Even getting there is an adventure as you have to get a special ferry across to the island. Only downside in summertime is the lack of swimming pool as you have to go to a mainland hotel to use their leisure facilities. So it remains a winter retreat for us and we love it!

Room Tip: If going to the lodges Bring a basket of bread milk and breakfast stuff as you don't want to have to go to the mainland for these. The hotel may be shut at times because of weddings but Ardkeen has a good shopping centre nearby.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldielocks327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryEllen, Sales & Marketing at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of Waterford Castle. I am delighted to hear you have visited us a number of times with your family. It sounds like you have had many adventures on the Island with our resident deer. We are looking to extend our hours of business at the clubhouse and hope this will be available to you on your next visit.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards
Kerry Dunne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the lodges, they are designed fantastic, really lovely, its a shame they are not maintained well, for example the lodge was very dirty walls and chairs I had to wipe down myself, curtains were broken, had to rewash all the kitchen utensils because of how dirty they was, next up is the problem with eating out no one to help you out, finally got hold of someone for the bistro and we were given a mobile number to ring, come on a mobile? To top it all off, the castle was booked for a wedding meaning we couldn't see it at all, so disappointing. All in all folks, look at it this way, its modern day titanic, the castle first class the lodges third class, nice walks and stuff but not for me, I stayed in cleaner travellodge on trips. Sad to say, but not a spot I'll be having my wedding in.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcpower2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian3553, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear Marcpower 2010,

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us here at Waterford Castle & Golf Resort. We take all negative comments received seriously and use these as a tool to improve our guest experience during their stay.

We have received many positive reviews about our lodges and we continue to strive to make all our guests enjoy their stay.

I also note that you were not able to view the Castle due to an exclusive function which is a pity because its a beautiful property.

If you decide to return can I ask that you contact me directly and I will deal with your booking.

Kind Regards

Adrian Rossetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We are just back from a fantastic relaxing weekend with all the family,staying in the beautiful lodges.When we entered the amazing houses, the fire was lighting, and we felt at home straight away.Houses are so modern, bright, spacious, clean and so cosy, with all 4* qualities & more.The nature walk was great, and seeing all the beautiful wildlife (Deers, Hares) added to the excitement.All the adults & children had a brilliant time.The ferry was an added bonus, giving us the magical feeling of staying on this magical island.So close to Waterford city & Tramore, yet when you board the ferry, you feel a world away from everything...pure bliss!! Will definately be returning soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DublinMadyolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

A lovely old building in a unique island setting.
A first-rate restaurant, offering gourmet cuisine.
We got a 2-night package, with 1 Dinner (Set menu with good choice) included.
Standard room was quite satisfactory.
Golf-course is only a stroll from hotel - not the cheapest green fees, but an interesting course in perfect condition for time of year.


[Don't be put off by car-ferry access to Island. It runs 24 hours, with minimal wait.]

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FOX47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews