We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Waterford Marina Hotel(Waterford)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granville Hotel(Waterford)
$141
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$111
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzwilton Hotel(Waterford)
$114
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portree House(Waterford)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$91
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,416)
Filter reviews
1,416 results
Traveler rating
917
304
113
55
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
917
304
113
55
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmunster roompresidential suiteprivate islandcar ferrygolf clubself cateringdriving rangeclaw foot tubfairy taleround of golfwashing machinesitting roomfamily weddingold worldfrom start to finishreception areascones
Filter
Updating list...
1,103 - 1,108 of 1,416 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Waterford castle is like no other venue that i have ever stayed in before in Ireland. I was fortunate enough to get married there and i would do it all over again in a heart beat. It is a fantastic location for any sort of important event in your life that you would like to celebrate or it is definitely a place to go if you just want to get away from it all and be treated to first class service and food.
All my guests raved about the food, in short our meal was fantastic, it is defintiely a treat to eat in the Munster Room, Michael and his staff of chefs create mouth watering dishes from locally sourced produce. The staff, i can't talk more highly of, every single member of staff that i encountered was friendly, attentive and anything you asked of them was done immediately. Every single staff member came across as wanting to give you the best service they possibly could.
My husband and i are already looking forward to our next trip to Waterford Castle.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but if you can afford it get yourself a suite. However it doesn't matter if you can't, any room in the castle is perfect. Just remember there are only 19 of them. Not overly ideal though if you are physically disabled.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shellymf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryEllen, Sales & Marketing at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our property and staff. We take great pride in the food and service here at the Castle and I'm delighted that this came across during your stay.
I am happy to hear that you are already planning your return trip.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards
Kerry Dunne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Just back from my cousins wedding this weekend we took two lodges and found them to be fantastic very plush lovely kitchen living area comfortable beds etc best holiday rentals we have ever stayed in worked out great value as there was ten of us in total would definitely return

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We got married in Waterford Castle last year and returned for a special celebration recently. Our wedding last year was catered for splendidly - nothing was too much trouble and all our guests (and ourselves) were loud in their praise for the venue and the staff.
Recently we returned for an overnight stay with dinner in the hotel restaurant. We were recognised and made so welcome it was like visiting a friend's very special home. Once again the food was absolutely excellent, the Castle and grounds were magical, our room was stunning - in short the overall experience could hardly be bettered.
This is a very special hotel. No large hotel-chain anonymity - the client is treated personally by the most attentive staff. While it is not as slickly commercial as some, it is true to the fact that it is a small medieval castle which has been sensitively upgraded to provide 21st century comfort levels.
The entrance hallway is spectacular but warm and welcoming with couches around an open fire. The grounds are not manicured and sterile but at present are a blaze of colour from Rhododendron, Camelia and Azalea shrubs and trees. If you are a golfer there is a fine course on the island - if not there are beautiful walks through the woods.
While it is not cheap it is excellent value for money if you seek peace, comfort and wonderful food in the spectacular setting of 'The Island'.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billyg010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryEllen, Sales and Marketing at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

It was great to have you back at the Castle for your first anniversary, thank you for your lovely review. It is so nice to see that you feel like you are returning home and we look forward to seeing you for many anniversaries to come.

Best Wishes
Kerry Dunne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

stayed here in march for my birthday.very impressed with the ferry and whole grounds.were given a voucher and upgraded ourself.was never keen on old castle hotels, but the room was spacious and really warm,no draft what so ever!!!!!that must have been the best shower i ever encountered in a hotel room,my god i could have stayed in their forever.had a nice birtday plate with sweets in the room on arrival.would have loved a few more tv channels but thats personel preference.free wifi in the bar area only,not a bad idea seeing that you are their to relax not to work.had afternoon tea the first day,were happy with everything.had dinner in the restaurant the second night and had only one small issue with the wine,but that sorted itself out on check out.food was amazing and atmosphere very casual.the only glitch was that due to a fault there was no hot breakfast the last morning of our stay. i do understand equipment breaking but in a 5 star hotel surely they could have improvised something(use one of the kitchens in the club house or lodges??). also no apology from waitress or manager on duty. overall very enjoyable stay and would defenetly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marco004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Went to my best friends wedding at Waterford Castle. I can't praise it enough, a beautiful old building, stunning grounds FANTASTIC food and great service...the staff were excellent (Particularly fond of Antonio who is a great front of house).

If I could give it some constructive feedback the only thing i'd say is it could do with a lick of paint in a few spots, and higher water pressure for some of the showers... but it didn't spoil our experience in anyway,we're just fussy.

Grazie Mille!!!
R & J

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RemLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryEllen, Sales and Marketing at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of Waterford Castle, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the wedding you attended here. I have past your comments onto all of our staff including Antonio, who were all delighted with your comments.
I'd also like to thank you for your constructive comments, we are continually improving our property and appreciate all guest observations that can only help us to perfect our offering.

We hope to see you again in the near future,
Many Thanks
Kerry Dunne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews