We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Waterford Marina Hotel(Waterford)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzwilton Hotel(Waterford)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granville Hotel(Waterford)
$158
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$122
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$65
$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portree House(Waterford)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,413)
Filter reviews
1,413 results
Traveler rating
914
304
113
55
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
914
304
113
55
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmunster roompresidential suiteprivate islandcar ferrygolf clubself cateringdriving rangeclaw foot tubfairy taleround of golfwashing machinesitting roomfamily weddingold worldfrom start to finishreception areascones
Filter
Updating list...
1,116 - 1,121 of 1,413 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2012

If you are looking to experience an old castle with great food, this is the place for you. The public areas of this hotel are covered in old oak pannelling and the reception has an enormous open fire place. The restaurant is really atmospheric and breakfast is served in the conservatory. Most of the grounds on the Island are laid out as a golf course but there is one maked walk by the water. I stayed in the lodges which are of a 5 star quality.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blue2belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryEllen, Sales & Marketing at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and the atmosphere in our Munster Room Restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the hotel on Trip Advisor and I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Many Thanks
Kerry Dunne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I recently stayed in Waterford Castle for my fiancé's birthday. The entire weekend was very relaxed and we were made to feel very welcome. A bottle of wine had been left in our room which was a lovely touch! The room itself was lovely, very cosy and my fiancé made good use of the roll-top bath! We had a meal in the "Munster Room" which was a lovely experience. A live pianist played in the background as we enjoyed each delicious course. A particularly lovely touch was when the dessert was brought out. The pianist played "Happy Birthday" and the staff had put a candle in the dessert + "Happy Birthday" written around the plate, there were genuine tears of joy at that moment and such a lovely touch! I expected quite a formal atmosphere as it is quite a spectacular venue but it was quite the opposite. There were standards (smart casual clothes at dinner), but at no point did it ever feel awkward or pushed on you. This is one of the few hotels we have stayed at that we were sad to leave, we will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryEllen, Sales & Marketing at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, I am glad to see that you and your fiancé enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the meal you had. I will be sure to pass this onto all of our restaurant team and pianist, who will be delighted to hear you both enjoyed such a special occasion. We looking forward to having the chance to delight you once again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Kerry Dunne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Attended a small function in the conservatory off the main dining room and the whole experience was exquisite. The room was beautifully set out and very athmospheric. The food was excellent, a good choice and prepared to the highest standard. Only snag was that the vegetables were served a little late into the main course. Everything top class. I will definitely return to have dinner here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank Bazerelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryEllen, Sales & Marketing at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
I'd like to thank you for your recent review of Waterford Castle, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Our team of Chefs take great pride in the food they use and are always happy to hear such positive feedback. I also appreciate your constructive feedback regarding our service of vegetables for main course, in the future we will ensure that this service is more prompt. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed in the lodges in Waterfird castle last weekend with friends.The houses are fab,warm,spacious,and everything you would need .We had dinner in the Castle and although it is a bit expensive ,it is worth it for a special occasion,the food is fantastic,the dining room has charm and elegance and the staff throughout are friendly and very helpful.. definately worth a visit..we will be back.Highly recomend !!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian O, Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our lodges and that the food in the Castle and staff that looked after you would encourage you to return! We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind Regards
Gillian O'Dea
Wedding & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Just back from a second stay at Waterford castle. We stayed in the lodges, which are a few steps from the hotel and set in lovely grounds. They are furnished to an extremely high standard: 3 double bedrooms, large kitchen and sitting room, bathroom and 2 en-suites. Very comfortable, high spec. design. The setting is magnificent- the castle stands on its own island, accessible by ferry. It's a magical place with deer roaming freely, acres of woodland walks and a fairytale castle. The staff were uniformly superb- friendly, very helpful, efficient. Clearly, they are trained to the highest standard (I wish more Irish hotels would take note). An example of the efficiency of this hotel: when we realised the lodge didn't have a coffee maker we called up to the reception, frantic from caffeine withdrawal pangs. After profuse apologies, they ushered us into the dining room for complimentary coffee, croissants and biscuits and by the time we got back to our lodge, there was a coffee maker dropped in. What service!! And all done with friendliness and class- nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant and bar was also excellent. Lastly, some of the lodges are dog friendly - it really made my holiday to bring my dogs with me and they had the time of their lives exploring the woodland trails! Without doubt, Waterford castle is my favourite hotel/ resort in Ireland.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dogyoungone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian O, Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for returning to Waterford Castle and our Castle Garden Lodges. It is very important to us that you are made to feel at home by our staff while they also deliver the highest level of service and it's great to hear that they exceeded expectations! I'm sure we will see you again soon on the island.
Warm Regards
Gillian O'Dea
Wedding & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews