We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely excellent hotel”
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Cold Spring, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent hotel”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I had wished that my group were staying a little longer in Waterford because of how nice this hotel was. From the minute we got there, we were greeted promptly, given our room keys and our bags were brought up to us as quickly as possible by the porter. We were given a room on the top floor that had a very large balcony overlooking the river in Waterford with a table and chairs that fit out there. The room was very large with a queen bed as well as a twin and the bathroom was as clean as could be. We had dinner in the hotel the night that we stayed there and it was absolutely excellent. The service was very attentive and the food was superb.

Waterford was quite a sleepy little town when we decided to venture out after dinner. I'm not sure if it was because it was during the week or if it's just one of the smaller cities in Waterford that doesn't get very busy but mostly everything was closed except for a few pubs that we made our way into. I had wished it was a little bit busier but all in all, we had a fantastic stay at the Granville and in Waterford. As we were leaving, the manager of the hotel actually came onto our tour bus and thanked us for staying and wished us well along the rest of our travels which I thought was very nice and not expected at all!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    354
    95
    36
    24
See reviews for
235
604
33
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I and a friend stayed in the Granville on the night of 11th August 2014. The experience was great from start to finish. The staff were helpful friendly and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. The room was spacious clean and very comfortable. The food and the bar and restaurant was lovely. Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelling
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Only stayed one night but enjoyed the Granville. Our room was quite spacious and nicely appointed. The beds were very comfortable and the linens were nice and crisp. With construction on the street in front we were happy to get a room in the rear. No view of the river, but very quiet.


The room was spotless.

The hotel is very well maintained and was very nicely decorated. It is clear that the owners take a great deal of pride in the hotel.

The breakfast was very good as well. Lots of variety and very tasty.

The location is great. There were no taxis left by the time we got to the front of the queue at the train station, so we walked to the hotel, in about 10 minutes. The hotel is only a couple of minutes from the bus station and is in the middle of the town centre.

We would happily return to the Granville if there was a reason to return to Waterford. It does roll up the sidewalks at about 6:00, so one should bear that in mind when planning your day.

Room Tip: In August 2014 there are road works out front, so a room in the back may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schnoodleontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed here on 9th August en route to Killarney with Majestic tours (returning to Granville on Friday on way home). We cannot rate this hotel highly enough - it is perfection plus more. We are on the trip with a couple of friends and they too rate it as fantastic. A stunning hotel retaining many original features tastefully decorated, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. Staff are extremely helpful, polite and attentive. The food is fantastic so compliments to the chef - I had salmon and prawns for starters, lovely succulent pork for mains and selection of delicious ice creams for desert and all tasted wonderful. Plates lovely and hot and desert dishes nice and cold. Our room was lovely and overlooked the waterfront. Not wishing our holiday away but we look forward to going back to Granville on Friday. Ros and Brian C

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, United States
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Unfortunately, Ireland was experiencing very warm weather when we got to this hotel. They did not have AC and we had to keep the window open. It was hard to sleep because we could hear a lot of noise from the street. This did not keep us from enjoying the hotel. Warm weather like this was unexpected and you have to just go with it! Some people on our tour group were very upset, but the beauty and service of the hotel made up for it. The breakfast was adequate. They served oatmeal with your choice of toppings (Baileys, Whiskey) and a variety of traditional Irish offerings. The dinner at the hotel was okay, service was great. I was told every room was different in the hotel, our room was on the smaller side. We had a great time listening to music one night in the pub.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Our one night stay here was perfect! Exemplary service. Very well appointed room. Clean bathroom. The lobby and facade ooze history. We had dinner and breakfast and both were of the highest caliber. I had my first Irish coffee and enjoyed it thoroughly. Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dc4opera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Everyone was really friendly. Breakfast buffet was great Bailys or whiskey in you oatmeal. That was a first for us. Rooms were clean and nice. Bar area was fantastic! Entertainment at bar was real good.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kurt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,149 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Athenaeum House Hotel
Athenaeum House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Waterford
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing