We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will return!”
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I will return!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a great place to stay. Clean, comfortable rooms, charming old hotel that has all the modern conveniences w/o destroying its charm. The hotel staff were warm, welcoming and very helpful, especially when I had a couple of questions regarding searching for my ancestors. Our room was overlooking the river which I thought was excellent when we checked in, but it was a bit noisy at night with the window open. Next tine I will ask for a room off the street...but I will return. The Granville is NOT to be missed on a trip to Waterford, Ireland.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DMS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    346
    94
    35
    24
See reviews for
227
583
32
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Pros: great location, good food, clean rooms, well-appointed and comfortable rooms...

Cons: None...

This is an excellent hotel that I would recommend for anyone staying overnight in Waterford, Ireland.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Many thanks for your recommendation and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Granville Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

What a gem. Love this hotel, would stay nowhere but the Granville when in Waterford. It is full of charm, I love the old style of the hotel. Rooms are very clean and very comfortable. Food is very good in the bar. I think best thing about the hotel is the staff, they are so friendly and will do anything for you. Can't rate the Granville enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 29maria1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
That you wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Waterford except The Granville Hotel is a wonderful recommendation to give us. Many thanks and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol, Idaho
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

A 3 week trip in Ireland can go bad when you lose contact with family. I unknowingly left my cell phone behind after staying at the Granville, losing contact with family back in the states. They were perfect detectives, finding my daughter in my contacts on the phone, let her know my phone had been found and mailed it back to me! They went above and beyond! Our room was on the street side, with a view of the river and quiet. I would highly recommend staying here to everyone.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Delighted that we could turn around a bad experience and that everything worked out. We vey much appreciate your comments that we went above and beyond. I am sure the staff will be delighted when they read your review. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel is so elegant. Excellent service and great food. Central location. Loved my room. Very comfortable. Hated to leave. I highly recommend the Granville. I believe everybody would be happy here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelgal417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. That you hated leaving The Granville and that you believe everyone would be happy here is a great recommendation to give and we are very grateful for your comments. Hopefully you will get to return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Granville is situated on the river front in Waterford. It has a significant history and is used by a large number of American coach parties. The hotel itself is unique, the rooms all different, all well equipped. The breakfast is excellent, many home made products, a great selection of cereals, cooked food, juices and best of all, home made breads.
The reception is always a joy, Mary greets you with a lovely Irish welcome and remembers you from previous visits.
the bar area is just what you would expect, the bar food is good too. I have had dinner on two occasions and it was acceptable. There are times when the coach parties can overwhelm the hotel but it says more about the popularity of the hotel than anything else.
I recommend the Granville for having possibly the best staff anywhere.

Room Tip: As always, the more you pay the better the room. Sometimes rooms overlooking the river can be affect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryR847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
That The Granville Hotel has the best staff anywhere is wonderful to read. We appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sure it will encourage more people to stay with us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Twp, Ohio
Level Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Extremely charming hotel! Beautiful lobby and very cozy bar. Dinner was very good and a demonstration on how to make an Irish Coffee was really a great touch! Wonderful staff! The location is great overlooking the water front and the downtown area is a very short walk away. You should consider this as a location to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mybav60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Many thanks for your great recommendation and I hope you are making plenty of Irish Coffees at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#11 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing