We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel-Would stay there again”
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel-Would stay there again”
Reviewed September 9, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a group tour. So, the hotel was booked by the tour company. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were polite and friendly. The food was excellent. For breakfast, I asked for scramble eggs instead of the typical poached and fried eggs, and received my order promptly. The only minor problem was trying to control the temperature of the shower, which fluctuated between comfortably hot and just warm. Maybe it was just me since my wife didn't seem to have this problem. There is a very nice pub in the hotel. There was also a great pub to the back of the hotel, with a lot of character. All in all, a great place to stay with a good location.

  • Liked — Staff in the restaurant-attentive, polite, and friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franko60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    354
    95
    36
    24
See reviews for
235
603
33
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We stayed here last weekend. My husband got a great deal for 2 nights b&b with one evening meal. Its a lovely hotel and we had our inclusive evening meal the first night which was absolutely delicious! In saying that, I think they gave us the wrong menu, there was a different menu for the 'inclusive evening meal' but we werent charged differently.
The hotel had a wedding on the first night and was very very busy. Our room was adequate but unfortunately, even though we were on the 3rd floor, we were awake pretty much all night listening to the wedding party downstairs and for some unknown reason, what sounded like a woman pacing around her room on the floor above us, we were sure they had wooden floors on the floor above, the noise was that loud from her heels! Then just to top it all off, someone during the night thought it would be funny to turn our 'do not disturb' sign around and the maid was trying to enter our room from about 8 oclock onwards!
Anyways, reception were very nice and apologetic and immediately moved us up to the 5th floor 'Penthouse floor' The rooms are slightly bigger up there but pretty much the same as our original room and just as noisy. I would recommend this hotel for people who are planning on late nights, if you're looking for a quiet hotel with the family or anything, forget it.

  • Liked — The Food
  • Disliked — The Noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabMammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitley bay
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Have just returned from a trip to Ireland and was delighted with our stay at the Granville Hotel. The receptionist was great and even though we had arrived early our room was ready.
The room was very comfortable with a small flat screen TV, a double bed and a second bed was also in the room. The bathroom was quite large with adequate towels.
The breakfast included with our deal was excellent with plenty of choice and very good service. The hotel is old and gracious and we would definitely go back .
Parking is across the road in the public car park. The hotel will validate your ticket from 5pm until 11am other wise it cost 1.80 Euro an hour to park which is quite expensive but as it is on the waterfront I guess this can be expected.

  • Liked — great location excellent service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

The facade and the lobby areas are fresh and inviting. The bars and restaurants are well decorated, light and airy. The staff were not the friendliest but were efficient in what they did. The location of the hotel is on the main road and is therefore noisy. The car park for visitors is located within a public car park opposite the hotel and across the busy road. The car park is quite expensive if you are going to stay for more than 1 night. The room we were allocated was on the third floor and at the front of the building. The roof of the room was part of a flat roof constructuion and was therefore hot. The room was compensated with air conditioning but we found it difficult to sleep through a combination of temperature, road noise and/or air conditioning unit that needed to be used to offset the room temperature.
The hotel overlooks the harbour and is convenient for local bars and restaurants.

  • Liked — Convenient location of the hotel to town, bars and restaurants
  • Disliked — location near the main road, noisy and rooms were hot. Staff could have been more pleasant.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffyabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

Let me start by saying the public areas in the hotel are beautiful. The hotel bar, restaurant and lobby area is filled with old world charm and waterford crystal. The rooms were a nice size and nicely decorated. Our room had a double and twin bed, which were a little lumpy and the frames seemed a little fragile, but it was a good night sleep. We didn't experience any noise from the street. The bathroom was very nice and we had a good shower with lots of pressure. The staff was very helpful with site seeing and the parking across the street was free. We had drinks in the bar, dinner in the restaurant and breakfast the next day. Everything was very nice, the food was very good and the waitstaff pleasant and attention. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — public areas
  • Disliked — lumpy bed
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz4271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacey, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2008

If you like a centrally located, great old classic hotel, the Granville is for you! Delightfully furnished , very spacious room (514) on the top floor with a large balcony overlooking the river. Close to train station (five to seven minute cab ride) and bus station (about three blocks away). Very nice breakfast menu, prompt service and good food.

Overheard some folks complain about street noise during the night; we didn't hear it; but be aware of the problem and request a quiet or back room.

Friendly and helpful staff who are glad to accommodate special requests.

A bit pricey (110 euros for suite) but really about the same as the high-end B&Bs; and we felt we got much nicer accommodations.

  • Liked — Genteel and friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — There really wasn't any negatives encountered
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verticallander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Valley
Level 5 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2008

We spent two nights at the Granville Hotel that included breakfast and dinner one night. We found it to be a charming old hotel with a beautiful lobby that was recently redecorated. We didn't have to wait to check in and the front desk girl steered me to a less expensive parking lot across the street at then end of the block. She was very friendly adn welcoming. We didn't find the parking to be an inconvenience at all. Our room contained period furniture and was decorated to match, not a style that I'd put in my home but it complemented the hotel.

Our room did have a tea kettle and some tea and instant coffee. We didn't use them but they were there.

We had dinner in the hotel the first night and we both had the fried mushrooms and the sirloin steak. We were both happy with dinner. Our server seemed to be new, he was a little unsure of himself, but the food was great and we were glad that we had dinner. We are naturally late eaters so we were there at about 9:00 pm and we were one of three full tables.

Breakfast was very good and great service.

The bar was beautifully decorated with a lot of oak and brass. The bar service was friendly and prompt.

We had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen2248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,146 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing