We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No complaints, just a wonderful classic European hotel.”
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No complaints, just a wonderful classic European hotel.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked this online without much guidance, and couldn't have been happier. This place practically reeks of old time elegance and history with a staff that was pleasant and friendly.

The room (a triple) and the en site bath were both larger than I expected given the age of the hotel. Like most hotels this age, there were small sets of stairs between the lift and our room, but at least there was a lift...

The food was wonderful. We had sticky toffee pudding and Irish coffee in the bar before bed, and breakfast the next morning. Both were memorable, and breakfast was absolutely a delight with lovely strong coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
“Couldn’t have been happier” and your breakfast and the food you had in our bar was memorable is just lovely to read. We all appreciate your comments and glad we delivered a good experience for you. Perhaps you will get to return one day and I know your review will help to guide visitors to the Granville Hotel. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    346
    94
    35
    24
See reviews for
227
583
32
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Granville has the perfect location. It has a pleasant entrance lobby, the bar and restaurant are both very nice. The rooms are above average. The price seems competitive. Flat screen television with a reasonable number of channels, tea/coffee etc, all looks well. Really nice bathroom. Staff are very helpful and friendly.

All the above suddenly means nothing when you realise the room doesn't have air-con, it's the hottest day of the year, the room you're in is soaking up all the heat from the rest of the building - so stiflingly hot you can't sleep, which is the main reason, after all, you have a hotel room. When the heat is this uncomfortable in the room, the amenities and other niceties about the hotel have absolutely zero value or interest to you, all you can think of is how you might possibly get the temperature down to sleep.

For this reason, I simply have to rate it as poor. I'd have loved to give the granville a 5 star review, and had I visited in winter, I'm sure I would have.

Can think of a couple of minor bad points other than the above - getting to some rooms can be a bit of a maze navigation (e.g. up and down multiple sets of steps here and there that don't seem to have an obvious purpose) - an annoyance when you're trundling around luggage or baby buggies), there's no decent view of anything from many of the rooms.

Room Tip: by all means go to the Granville, but if it's anywhere near summer, make sure you check if the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan_Valentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your observations of your recent visit to The Granville Hotel. You have been very fair in your opening comments and that had it been winter you would have given us a five which I appreciate. I can also appreciate your views on the lack of air con in the room your where in and apologise that you didn’t get a good nights sleep. We are a very old historic building in the centre of Ireland’s oldest city. As you hopefully can appreciate it is not the norm to have such warm weather conditions in this country. However it does happen from time to time and hence we have over the last number of years introduced air con to a number of rooms where it is possible to do so and have placed portable units in all other rooms. I am not sure from your review if we were made aware on the evening or if we had an alternative room with air con available. I am sure if we had we would have moved you. The steps are part and parcel of an old building some people think it adds charm. We have some rooms with views over looking the river and others face on to our roof garden and some others because we are city centre have neither. I am very sorry and if perhaps you will stay with us again please make your reservation directly with me and I will ensure you gat a room with aircon, a view and with no steps. Many thanks again. rhurley@granville-hotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have stayed in the Granville about 5 times.
It is a good hotel and very well located to the centre of Waterford.

Good reception, good bar, good room.
The hotel has always been good but seems to have improved since my last stay about 6 months ago.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 21dewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We keep trying to maintain our standards and improve where we can. We appreciate your observations and the encouragement they give us. Look forward to continued custom. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Granville Hotel in Waterford for one night in May. The hotel is well located, right down town in Waterford and close to the Waterford Crystal factory and many other historic buildings in Waterford. The room was very large by every standard for a European hotel and was nicely decorated. We had dinner in the hotel dining room and had their buffet breakfast the next morning. Enjoyed both. We would stay here again. .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdgpcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
To say you would stay at The Granville hotel again says a lot for us and hopefully you do. We appreciate your review and al;l your kind comments. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Was a little leery of this one based on other reviews, but the location is PERFECT, the staff friendly and the hotel has had a lovely renovation. Rooms are small, but comfortable with all the amenities and just wish we'd stayed longer.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimiluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Your review I am sure will help others to choose the Granville Hotel. “Just wished you’d stayed longer” is great praise indeed. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Spent 4 nights here in Waterford. Lovely building. Very accommodating staff.
Booked as a Ferry-Hotel deal with Stena Line - great value.
Superb quality breakfast choice, inclusive overnight parking across the road on the riverside.
Very professional staff - impressive attitude: on last day one guy piled up a dish of fruit such that the juice overflowed while he continued to add yogurt on top (there's always one!). The waitress saw he was dripping juice all over the stacked crockery but stood back, and as soon as he walked away, picked up the splashed crocs returning from the kitchen a moment later with a fresh stack - no fuss, lots of pride, very professional, well done!

Room Tip: Some rooms are a distance from the lift and on a split-level so may drop-down 4 steps then turn the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your dining experience at The Granville Hotel. It’s a team effort to achieve what you experienced and your praise for all involved is very much appreciated by all here. Hope you return soon. Many thanks .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, Maryland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Granville Hotel is a recently renovated historic hotel situated on the riverfront in Waterford. It is in the heart of the city so easy access to all shops, historic sites (including the ancient Viking ruins), and the famous Waterford Crystal Factory. While the rooms were small, they were comfortable and included windows that opened for some fresh air and free wi-fi. The restaurant is a popular Waterford dining spot and serves breakfast & dinner on white linens in a room with stained glass doors and period touches – it is very pretty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBJBride0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
To say that you would definitely go back and stay at the Granville is great praise indeed. We appreciate your review and I am sure it will help others to choose to stay at the Granville. Hopefully you will get to return and perhaps stay more than one night. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#11 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing