We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Customer service poor when trying to get a meal” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Granville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Dromore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Customer service poor when trying to get a meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had read the reviews about how good the food was in this hotel, so when we were in Waterford last week, we thought we would try to get a meal, as the place only had about 20 people in the bar. But despite waiting for 20 minutes, while 3 bar staff walked past cleaning the floor and chatting we were not asked if we wanted a meal or a drink. So i went up to the bar, and asked if I could order a meal, and was told that someone would be down to our table shortly. But after waiting another 10 minutes, no-one appeared, so we left and found a small restaurant called the Pantry next door, which although hadn't the same style of seats as the Granville, it did provide excellant food. During our 30 minute wait 2 other couples that were sitting close to us, also got tired of waiting to have their order taken and left.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. As you will appreciate we are very concerned when we read such a review. It is clear that some where our procedure broke down and you where left waiting and for this I am truly sorry. By bringing this to our attention we can revisit our procedures and remind everyone what we need to do. The staff has read your review and are very disappointed that they left you waiting and damaged the reputation of the hotel. What would help us to ensure this does not happen again is if you could email the day and the time this happened to rhurley@granville-hotel.ie. Hopefully you will return to the Granville Hotel and see that this incident was a once off. Again my apologies and many thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    310
    87
    30
    21
See reviews for
186
514
29
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio U.S.A
Level Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I'm on holiday with my Sister Roseann from American to celebrate her Birthday! We have ventured across all of Ireland and had the greatest of luck to find this wonderful Hotel and Restaurant!
I happened to see its lovely stain glass entrance as we drove down the main street! I had my sister walk in to inquire about room rates and if they had any rooms available? Roseann was meet by the Receptionist, miss Mary, who was as friendly as could be and explained the rates and their specials. What a kind thing to practice being kind and helpful! I stay in a lot of hotels through a lot of them have lost this Professional approach to management! We had a delicious Dinner( I had the seafood chowder soup! it was excellent! I watched a sweet lady pick up a penny as she walked thru the restaurant! I told her in jest that its was a lucky penny and she was going to have a wonderful night! she laughed and introduce me to the gentleman next to her and said her was blessed and lucky all ready, they were the Owners of this charming place. to see the pride and love that those two spoke of this hotel tells me that this why such attention to detail is so important! I write a lot about clean and affordable Hotels and this one is at the top! they have easy access for handicap or elderly persons wanting to stay!
Thank you again for the wonderful memories, Ann and Liam Cusack !

Room Tip: Our room had a bay view and in the morning it revealed a lovely town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, Owner at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We were delighted to have met you and that you enjoyed your visit to the Granville Hotel. We really appreciate your very kind comments and hope you both get the opportunity to visit us again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
99 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Booked through laterooms.com, 89 euros for an executive twin room (one queen bed and one twin bed with view of water through a smaller type window) with cooked to order breakfast included in main dining room. Boutique type hotel with every room decorated differently. Staff very friendly. Excellent central location. Had excellent dinner in hotel restaurant in main dining room. Went for early bird special (5:45-7PM) with plenty of food. Free cookies at front desk. Free parking across from hotel only from 5PM-11AM. Had washclothes, magnifying mirror, complimentary tolietries, safe, desk, shower/tub/free wifi, a/c. Needed to pay for computer in lobby. Nice decor in pub also. Some street noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WImom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
The time you took to write your review is very much appreciated. From your review you seem to have experienced most of what we try to achieve and excellence is our goal. Perhaps you will get the opportunity to return to the Granville Hotel one day. I am sure this review will direct customers to the Granville and we very much appreciate that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
207 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Granville Hotel in Waterford city, in Ireland, has just been voted the best hotel in its class in Ireland. that is some award. this hotel has constantly been among the best for years. The standard of cleanliness, quality, personal service and welcomeness has to be experienced. Everything about this hotel is quality, and, apart from the excellent and personable staff, the hotel owner himself is a real 'hands-on' and welcoming person. Enjoyed an evening meal in their award-winning restaurant with friends and it was fabulous. the food was beautiful, cooked to perfection, hot, great variety and selection and served in cosy surroundings.
This is the place to stay if you come to Ireland and visit Waterford in the south-east

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Many thanks for the recommendation and I am sure your review will direct guest to the Granville Hotel. We very much appreciate that and the time you took to write your review. Looking forward to being of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed recently for 2 nights in a beautiful room over looking the river. The hotel has a wounderful old world charm about it, but tastefully modern. The restaurant has a great athmosphere and is very well appointed. We dined in house on both nights and enjoyed fabulous food and wine from an extensive list. There we were greeted warmly by the GM Richard and the next evening by the owner Liam. The staff throughout the hotel are extremly helpful and courteous. It is littel wounder the hotel recently won the award for best hotel. Well done Liam & Richard. We will be back.

Room Tip: Choose a suite overlooking the river. Well worth the little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Very much appreciate your kind comments. Without helpful and courteous staff the Granville would not flourish and I am sure they too will appreciate your comments when they read your review. Many thanks for taking the time and look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

attended a wedding reception in this hotel,stayed overnight.found staff very polite and helpful.dinner served at wedding reception was very good considering 200 people sitting.breakfast was typical full irish which was very good.hotel location was ideal for anyone wishing to do some shopping,all in all,a very enjoyable overnight stay

Room Tip: rooms to the front,has a nice view of the river and quays
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donal k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at The Granville and very much appreciate the time you took to write your review. Your positive comments about the wedding meal, breakfast, staff, and location will all help other people to choose the Granville Hotel. We are grateful to you for the recommendation. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were just one of three tour groups staying here. The manager came onboard the bus to greet us upon arrival and then to wish us a good journey as we left. The rooms were spacious, location was terrific and the food service was top notch. It was indeed a Grand hotel and the best one during our two week tour of Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KRLBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We appreciate your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Granville Hotel. We feel it’s important to try to always welcome our guests and also to say good bye and thank them for there custom. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and perhaps one day you will visit the Granville again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 stars 995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#7 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#8 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Hotel

Property: Granville Hotel
Address: The Quay, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#1 Family Hotel in Waterford
#2 Business Hotel in Waterford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Granville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Hotel Waterford overlooks the waterfront & marina in the heart of Waterford City's business & shopping centre. The Granville Hotel, Waterford offers 100 comfortable guestrooms, extensive conference, banqueting and wedding facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing