We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”
Review of Waterford Crystal

Waterford Crystal
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.42*
and up
House of Waterford Crystal Guided Factory Tour
Ranked #1 of 60 things to do in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Originally founded by George and William Penrose in 1783, Waterford crystal is world-renowned for quality and beauty. Have you seen someone blow molten crystal into a vase? Check out the factory tour. Visitors are guided through the factory to see experienced craftsmen at work, creating new crystal pieces. The factory is open to tours, contact the company for details.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

It was nice to see people actually working on different pieces of crystal. We found the tour to be interesting and of course, the gift shop was extreme.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Krafty91384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,659
    662
    191
    41
    17
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A stop worth making”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Waterford Crystal factory tour

This is a very educational experience. Watch master craftsmen shaping glass and cutting it to exact specifications to create an object of beauty and functionality. And, if it is not perfect watch the item being tossed into a barrel with other shattered glass fragments.

Whether your appreciation of Waterford Crystal is owning fine glassware, seeing a championship trophy, or being amazed at an elegant chandelier, this is a place to visit.

You may even be shown a $10,000 vase and have it handed to you for a photo op!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank XJ-the-DXer-and-YF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An artistic experience”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Even though the majority of Waterford crystal is made elsewhere in the world this facility makes all of the specialty & truly unique pieces produced by Waterford.
The level of craftsmanship displayed by the workers as you go through the tour is amazing. We got to see some of the pieces that were being produced for Queen Elizabeth's diamond jubilee. and they were fantastic.
Would definitely recommend a visit if you're in the area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roxan_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth seeing!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We certainly had our doubts about another tour stop to see how Waterford Crystal is made but it was so worthwhile seeing these experienced craftsmen design and make these crystal treasures we have had passed down from our families. We are losing so many of the craftsmen of our times and so has Waterford who now have very limited amounts of their crystal now being made in Ireland. Be sure and ask if purchasing outside if the Waterford you are buying was made in Ireland.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 610Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagrange, NY
Level Contributor
336 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Classy and Beautiful! Full of History!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was a great tourist attraction that showed the history of Waterford. I had not interest originally in taking this tour but was glad that I did in the end!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank cerveza930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterford Crystal also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Waterford Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing