We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dazzling!”
Review of Waterford Crystal

Waterford Crystal
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.46*
and up
Waterford Crystal and Kilkenny Rail Trip from Dublin
More Info
$16.03*
and up
House of Waterford Crystal Guided Factory Tour
Ranked #1 of 60 things to do in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Originally founded by George and William Penrose in 1783, Waterford crystal is world-renowned for quality and beauty. Have you seen someone blow molten crystal into a vase? Check out the factory tour. Visitors are guided through the factory to see experienced craftsmen at work, creating new crystal pieces. The factory is open to tours, contact the company for details.
south woodham ferrers UK
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Dazzling!”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Very interesting to see all the different stages to the production of Waterford Crystal. lots of examples of completed works on show. Shows how truly skilful these people are-wow!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mumford666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,749
    708
    200
    42
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
“Great Crystal Bargains to be Had!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I didn't have time for the tour, but I stopped in the showroom to purchase some gifts to be shipped back to the States, as well as some wine glasses and champagne flutes and a wine bottle coaster for myself. The prices were great, even when compared with amazon price cuts in the States. It cost twenty euros to ship the entire order insured, and five euros to have a master engrave each piece or a set of six glasses (yes, still only five euros) with his name and a customized inscription.

There are several shelves of items manufactured only in Ireland and then there are many other samples of items manufactured elsewhere in Europe. I got a mix, as there were some designs I really liked and didn't care about the manufacturing origin. A set of six goblets or flutes cost about 260 in comparison to a list price of 395 in department stores in the States. Allow 6-8 weeks to receive them, if time sensitve.

Park in the Bolton Street Car Park and go through a narrow street towards the river to come out right next to the crystal showroom. Pay for two hours, as there sometimes are lines, and you want to take the time to peruse the whole showroom which is pretty extensive. Have fun! There is a cafe and restrooms en route to your next destination.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DC_World_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our tour”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We toured the Waterford factory in Ireland in June 2012. It was very interesting and we did see the glass process. We saw beautiful pieces in the process of being perfected, and they have a very good selection in their store. I ordered a biscuit barrell there and was disappointed that it had a "Made in Solvenia" sticker on the bottom! However, it is BEAUTIFUL, and I can look at it and remember my trip to Ireland and the beautiful town of Waterford! So - it's ALL worth it! At least it has the word "Waterford" etched in the glass!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Better than I thought!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

When we decided to go on the guided tour, I cringed. I expected it to be long and boring! Seeing the product made was really interesting. The tour wasn't too long and it was interesting to see real pieces being made. I would recommend to family and friends visiting the area.

Helpful?
Thank 850MurphyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“So impressive to see up close”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

This is a tour of a real working factory and not just a museum. My dad dragged the family on this tour. I expected it to be so so, but it turned out to be a highlight of my trip to Ireland. They let you get right up close to the glass blowers and artists carving the designs. You literally can stand right next to them! The skill and effort put into one piece is incredible.

Helpful?
Thank TT_ND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterford Crystal also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Waterford Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing