We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jaw-dropping room size for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterford Marina Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jaw-dropping room size for the price!”
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Came with my five year old and my 15 year old sister. Had booked the room for one night because it was just meant to be a stop-over after the ferry before travelling to a wedding. As it was about cost I did not have high expectations but we were amazed when we arrived. We had a massive top floor room for the three of us. Very informed and friendly reception staff, secure parking and great location. Desperately trying to think of a reason to stay again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kermack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    446
    142
    33
    13
See reviews for
198
533
35
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2010

My Husband and I stayed at the Marina hotel Waterford for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The Building was hidden away and was out of Noise and traffic. The room was plain but well looked after and clean. We stay in Hotels quiet a bit but we have never enjoyed such service as the young man that served us dinner both nights. He was just a lovely, charming young man who went out of his way to get us directions to the local beach even though he was quiet busy at the time. The food was also top notch for a 3 star hotel with a good selection of wines. We would tell everyone to stay there and we will definately be back in the new year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Just spent week-end in Waterford and I have to say was delighted with Marine Hotel, room was spotless view out the window over the river and two swans just outside, an Irish Receptionist think thats important to have front of house able to greet you with some local knowledge. Chap that served us breakfast a little gentleman, could not have been more helpful also Irish, and I am not in the least prejudiced just think its so important in a hotel where you are catering for foreign visitors, would definately recommend it to my friends for a little week-end break, walk to all the shops from it and most important for us ladies a locked car park where you can leave some of your stuff overnight with a clear mind.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarionCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I travel a lot and i decided to stay here for a change as there is no decent 4 star hotels in Waterford. This is a 3 star hotel and it does the trick. Its average, no frills, very basic and its a do everything yourself type place as there is very few staff. Bar food was good, pints were nice & bar staff were nice. Room was OK and i slept well. Receptionist was not friendly and needs some training. If its value and decent food you are looking for then this place is fine.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Python
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Booked a great value family room for one night and was very impressed with the spacious room we had on the fourth floor - double bed and 2 singles taking up a good deal less than half of the floor space.
Location is fine, if a little more distant from the city centre than most of the other hotels - it was about a 15 minute walk, and hotel signposting was a little easy to miss.
Decor was fine but fascia board in bathroom should be replaced as it has been damaged by damp and looks a little scruffy at this stage.
We understood our kids had breakfast included, but apparently this wasn't the case and a small fee was required.
This wouldn't have been a problem but for the manner of the restaurant manager. Having publicly berated the waitress for delaying us at seating, we were then told we could sit anywhere at the back of the dining area, weren't shown to our seats and informed that the children needn't eat if we wanted - not sure if discussing a 10 euro charge couldn't be better handled at checkout. We were astonished by the lack of customer relations skills, and I must say we felt a little like her staff members must feel at times...
A great pity that this spoiled our stay at this hotel as the food was actually good - our five year old said the sausages were the best ever...paying a breakfast fee would never have been an issue for us, and didn't need to be dealt with in such a manner.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I have stayed in this hotel on numerous times and I have never been disappointed. The staff have always been very helpful and friendly and never have an issues to meeting our personal needs. We ate in the restaurant and must say that the food was excellent. Plenty of choice on the menu and no delay in getting it. Again we ate breakfast in the hotel and it was lovely. However, there are works going on outside the hotel but I am sure like everything else the hotel do they will be worth it and in no way take from the hotel. Ideal location to the centre of town and it is great to be able to park the car and leave it there for the weekend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutiec10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
190 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed at the Marina Hotel after driving from Dublin (in the rain) and were a bit tired and ready to relax when we got to the hotel. We parked at the front as we were not aware of any other parking at that stage. When we checked in we were questioned on this and informed we were not allowed to park there and that was for coaches, alhough there was no sign that said that. We were told we had to move as a coach was coming in. I had finished checking in so I could move my car however my friend had to ask my wife to move his as he was checking in. Just what you don't need after a long drive!
The romm was okay looking out over the water. It looks a lot better in the photos than it does in person. It looks like it needs a good scrub and clean.
The restaurant was fine and after drinks we stayed for dinner and I must say it was better than I expected. The waitress was a little sour to start but she thawed a little as the night went on.
The hotel is a short walk to downtown Waterford and close the crystal outlet. The area leading to the hotel is undergoing improvemets so there is some mess and workers around.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WineloverMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,229 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,071 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Marina Hotel

Property: Waterford Marina Hotel
Address: Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm comfortable 3 star hotel is situated in the heart of Waterford City on a well maintained cobbled road overlooking the River Suir. You can enjoy a stroll along Scotch Quay onto The Mall where you will find The Bishops Palace, House of Waterford Crystal, Reginalds Tower and much more. The Waterford Marina Hotel is perfectly situated for all visitors to the City, Heritage, Shopping and Nightlife all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterford Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing