We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome guaranteed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterford Marina Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Warm welcome guaranteed”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

From start to finish a great experience.
We arrived by car and discovered a secure free car park belonging to the hotel. The receptionist was very friendly and the room was clean and spacey. I was surprised to get complimentary wi-fi which was great. We had a meal in the bar which was tasty and plentiful.
The breakfast was nice and again plentiful. They had a great selection on the buffet and the staff couldn't do enough for us.
All in all a very nice experience with friendly service. Everything was done with a smile.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for writing such a lovely review for The Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am delighted to see that you both enjoyed all aspects of your visit to us and that the team here looked after you with a smile. We would be delighted to meet you again and please do not hesitate to request the same room. In the meantime I would like to wish you both a very Merry Christmas and a healthy 2014.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    455
    142
    33
    13
See reviews for
202
544
36
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
co wexford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013

my hubby and i stayed here for 2 night from the start it went bad when we were checking in to hotel receptionist said to me its are policy that we had too pay befor we got are room thats not on we booked a smoking room and she said no smoking rooms left so i kick up a fuss and she found us one lol we got over this meal was ok not the best ive had went to residents on are last night group off ten bar man came too table to see if we wanted a drink one off the lads order 4 vodka in pint glass blt club lemon bar man ask was he was he joking he said not the barman said i cant sell ya that so he ask for 2 doubles and barman said ok but he would have to pay first as if to say we would not pay there is no need for that so over all i did not enjoy my stay at this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay in the Waterford Marina Hotel, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we do offer different methods of payments which are pre-authorisation of a credit card or payment in advance using cash or laser card. With regards to the drinks order, in conjunction with the Responsible Serving of Alcohol training it is inadvisable to dispense these volumes.
I would hope that you consider staying with us in the future to experience our usual high level of guest care and attention.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Positives: Guest room was good sized and comfortable, riverfront location was scenic and the wi-fi was free, which is always appreciated. Everything in the bathroom sparkled—porcelain, wall tiles, chrome.
Negatives: Pillows flat, no bath amenities other than one shampoo/soap product out of a dispenser in the shower. Some hot dishes were offered at breakfast, but overall it’s a pretty limited menu.
Most people seeking a 3-star accommodation just want a clean and comfortable place to sleep without a lot of frills. If that’s you, you’ll like the Waterford Marina.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Callejera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am delighted to see that you enjoyed our comfortable, river view, good sized bedroom with its free WIFI and I appreciate your description of the sparkling bathroom. I would like to apologise for the pillows and have since replaced. With regards to the breakfast in our Waterfront Restaurant we offer a full irish breakfast which has sausage, bacon, black/white pudding, hash browns, tomato, beans and a variety of eggs - poached, fried, scrambled. We also have a fish of the day dish plus a variety of cold meats and cheeses plus a large selection of juices, cereals, breads, yoghurts, fruit - tinned and fresh, we have menus on all the tables and the staff will serve tea/coffee and toast to your table. I hope we have the opportunity to look after you again and that you will enjoy a good food, service and hospitality.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

my first time and it won`t be my last time staying here, warm rooms, very clean, staff were top class, the food was excellent, i had a freshly cooked breakfast both mornings, and pleanty on the plate to set you up for the day, and a strong cup of tea to wash it down , i dined in the bar before leaving having the lunch specials, very tasty, and well worth the money, i did`nt have a river view, but then again i only had to walk down a flight of stairs and out the main door to view it, it`s a little hidden gem, only a few minutes stroll into the city centre, this hotel gets a thumbs up from me, and i look forward to a return visit,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadivsor,
it is great for us to read that your first time to stay with us was a success and its lovely to get the thumbs up from you. I would like to introduce myself on your return visit and please request a river view room from our reception team when you make your reservation.
In the meantime I would like to wish you a Merry Christmas.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Once again it was a pleasure to return to the Marina. The staff are friendly and helpful and food and accommodation are excellent. A lovely view of the River Suir from the riverside rooms. Off the main street so there is little traffic noise to disturb a guest.

Room Tip: North side gives a great river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing to return to The Waterford Marina Hotel, myself and all the team really appreciate when our guests come back time and time again to stay with us as it shows we must be doing something right. Tripadvisor is a great way of telling everyone of your own experience in a hotel and I am delighted that you both enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to meeting you again in the near future but in the meantime have a Merry Christmas and a healthy 2014.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a 2 night break here, booked through a deal site. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Rooms very spacious. One of the only hotels I've been to lately that still do smoking rooms. Had dinner in the bar which was delicious, and can't complain about breakfast either, plenty to choose from. Would definitely return when looking for a quiet place to recharge.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us in The Waterford Marina Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to us and that you were able to recharge the batteries. We look forward to meeting you again and in the meantime would like to wish you and your family a Very Merry Christmas.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night at the weekend and really enjoyed it. It is very good value for money. The bedroom was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and well equipped. The location of the hotel is good, just a short walk from the city centre and the hotel has a very secure car-park. Breakfast was very nice and the staff were very friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardroyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
I am delighted to read that you both enjoyed your recent stay with us in the Waterford Marina Hotel, we all appreciate the time you took to write a review on Tripadvisor to tell the readers about your experience here. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit in the very near future and in the meantime we would like to wish you a Very Merry Christmas.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Marina Hotel

Property: Waterford Marina Hotel
Address: Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm comfortable 3 star hotel is situated in the heart of Waterford City on a well maintained cobbled road overlooking the River Suir. You can enjoy a stroll along Scotch Quay onto The Mall where you will find The Bishops Palace, House of Waterford Crystal, Reginalds Tower and much more. The Waterford Marina Hotel is perfectly situated for all visitors to the City, Heritage, Shopping and Nightlife all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Waterford Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing