We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Neat...room not up to standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waterford Marina Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice and Neat...room not up to standard”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Location: spot on. Near the Waterford Crystal showroom, at the quiet, top end of the river. 15 minute walk back up to the main bridge and the old Guinness factory; 5-10 minutes to shops and pubs.

The setting of the hotel is beautiful - in a quaint and quiet estate, right on the river. If you get the right room you'll get some fantastic views. Reception area is nice, the bar is lovely, and never made it up in time for breakfast to see the restaurant (not sure if there is one!).

The room...a bit tatty and shoddy to be honest. We'd booked a twin room (think the confirmation said a triple, but as there was only two of us that was fine). The room felt a bit....tired. Old, small TV, no shampoo's or toiletry's (they did give them out at reception)...and the kettle was a hanlin in itself! Picture should be attached, To get the kettle to boil one must either hold it at an angle...or produce the amazingness integrity of myself....placing a spoon (curved edge up) under the kettle, anchoring the end of the spoon down with a cup. This allowed the kettle to boil...

We did make the bar one night (got in late, till close!). Was very nice and not too bad on the price.

Overall...it's a lovely hotel, with friendly staff in a great location. I didn't see any other rooms so it could well be the luck of the draw. If we had a good room this would have been a 4* rating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazey82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of the Waterford Marina Hotel with Tripadvisor readers, firstly I would like to apologise for the issue you experienced with your kettle and to say that if you had contacted reception our Duty Manager would have rectified that immediatley. We do indeed have additional toiletries at reception but all bathrooms have a stock of Shampoo/Showergel as standard. Our Waterfront Restaurant serves breakfast daily and we have a lovely A la carte menu plus a nightly Table d' Hote menu available to all guests.
I would be delighted to welcome you both back on a return visit and would appreciate the opportunity to introduce myself to you.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    465
    144
    34
    13
See reviews for
203
554
36
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murrumba Downs, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was a very comfortable older hotel with really friendly and helpful staff and lovely meals. The room I stayed in was quite large and clean, with a bathtub/shower in the bathroom which I enjoyed. The view from the window was not very good though, but not much can be done about that. The heating is controlled in your room which was a bonus, especially in winter. This doesn't happen in B&B's which can leave you freezing in winter after the heaters go off and coming from Australia I felt the cold a lot. There is free Wifi but I could only access the unsecure Wifi, which was very slow. The staff rebooted the router but nothing helped. Despite this I had a lovely stay. Quite close to the Waterford Chrystal showroom. If you drive to the showroom there is an inexpensive carpark towards the rear of it. Pay for 3 hours if you want to do the tour.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angeltheatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor after your recent trip to Ireland. Your kind comments and thoughts are very much appreciated and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time in Waterford City. Please do not hesitate to contact us in the future and we will ensure you are allocated a Riverview Room so you can enjoy the wonderful River Suir during your stay.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Nice hotel and pleasant staff.
Rooms were clean and a good size. The only complaint we had was that the bed mattress was a bit lumpy and the duvet was a bit small!
Very reasonable prices as we booked with just 24 hours notice via laterooms.
Did not use the restaurant but went to the bar one evening for a late night drink - some chairs stacked around and lots of lights switched off so did not encourage us to sit there. Took our drink back to our room. This is probably due to it being mid week in January however.
Very quiet in the hotel - heard no other noise, Had a room facing the river on the 4th floor so had a great view over to the quay. Ideal central location and could walk into town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the quays on a high floor to get the best view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I am delighted to read your kind comments about the staff, rates and location. I would like to apologise for the shortcomings you experienced and will certainly address them with the individual departments.
Hopefully you will returne to Waterford City in the not too distant future and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Waterford Marina Hotel.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just back from a weekend away in the Waterford Marina Hotel. What can I say, the hotel was fab, the staff were so attentive. We had our 2 children with us and a travel cot was provided in the room. I rang to reception for extra pillows and they were delivered to us in 5 minutes. There are coutesy newspapers at reception. The only meals we had were breakfast in the hotel and I can certainly recommend it. Thanks for such a great weekend we will be back very soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublingirl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience of the Waterford Marina Hotel with Tripadivsor readers. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to look after your requests in good time. I'm glad you enjoyed breakfast and we would be delighted to welcome you and the family back for a return visit in the very near future
Please make sure to tell reservations that you are a return guest when you are booking.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We recently stayed here as part of a wedding party. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating, the room was well sized and clean. Couldn't hear other rooms or the hallways unlike in most hotels which was nice. Great to have a secure car park on site as well. The staff attending to the wedding party were great, especially the manager. Very reasonably priced and couldn't fault it. Would definitely use this hotel again if I needed accommodation in Waterford!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mich_C_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review The Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, I would like to say it was a pleasure meeting you and your family over the Christmas Period and I am glad we were able to be part of the families special day. I look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit at any time in the future.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Good location for our group of 10. Very accommodating, good rooms, and fun bar area. Friendly staff and bountiful breakfast. IrishTourism, Tina O'Connor, arranged all of our facilities including the Waterford for our 2 week whirlwind tour of Ireland along with a van and driver. Great facility and good location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickiehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time after your holiday to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, it is lovely to read that you and your friends enjoyed your 2 week whirlwind tour of Ireland and that after all the fun you still remembered us.
Our thanks also to Tina in Irish Tourism for recommending us to look after you and your friends and we would love to meet you all again in the near future.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed with 5 family members for a weekend in November 12. Very clean hotel, friendly staff and good food. Only a slight complaint, breakfast staff tried hard to keep everyone happy but it did appear they were understaffed.Times we are in this can be forgiven when you consider value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfordMarina, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, your kind comments about the hotel, staff and food are very much appreciated. Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during breakfast, my staff do indeed try their very best to look after our guests.
I would like to take this opportunity to wish you a safe and healthy 2013 and we look forward to meeting you and your family again in the near future.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,277 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Marina Hotel

Property: Waterford Marina Hotel
Address: Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm comfortable 3 star hotel is situated in the heart of Waterford City on a well maintained cobbled road overlooking the River Suir. You can enjoy a stroll along Scotch Quay onto The Mall where you will find The Bishops Palace, House of Waterford Crystal, Reginalds Tower and much more. The Waterford Marina Hotel is perfectly situated for all visitors to the City, Heritage, Shopping and Nightlife all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterford Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing