We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterford Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterford Marina Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the river for one night in June. The room and bathroom were very clean, comfortable bed and great views straight onto the river. If you stay in room 212 look out over the river to the far bank and you will see no less than 14 Heron's "fishing" at high tide!
The only gripe is that the restaurant where breakfast is served is more like a School canteen than a restaurant. Some modern decor definitely is required. It is not a bit like a restaurant at all.

Room Tip: Ask for river view - this will be at the back of the hotel which is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
I would like to thank you for sharing your experience of the Waterford Marina Hotel with Tripadvisor readers, we have some lovely new drawings of the Herons on the wall of our Waterfront Restaurant and I was delighted to read that you spotted them on the banks of the River Suir from your bedroom window.
Our Waterfront Restaurant has 5 very large windows out onto the River and is a very bright room, we have positioned the tables where possible so that our guests can enjoy the views.
We look forward to welcoming you to Waterford City in the future and please do not hesitate to ask for a river view room during the reservation.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    445
    139
    33
    11
See reviews for
196
527
35
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I was very disappointed with the hotel, from the outside it looked great however when we got in and up to our room the decor was dated and the bathroom needed to be freshened up.There tiles needed to be regrouted and the silocone was discoloured. We got dinner at the bar there was ten of us eating,I ordered a ham and cheese toasted sandwich as did two others and the rest ordered a salad.The sandwiches were well over done and the ham was mostly fat, my friends said that the salad had an overpowering taste of garlic. We went out for a night on the town and when we arrived back we were met by a member of staff who seemed less than impressed with having to open the door to us, she then followed us to our room and wrongly accused us of making noise.The next morning I didn't bother going down for breakfast.I have stayed in quite a few hotels this year and feel for that for value for money it dose not measure up to other more reasonable priced hotels!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadivsor, please accept my apologys for the shortcomings you and your friends experienced during your stay and If you could contact me either by email or telephone I would like to discuss your review personally.
I look forward to talking to you in the near future and again I am very sorry that you and your friends did not experience our usual high standard of care and attention.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Email gm@waterfordmarinahotel.com
Tel 051 856600
Fax 051 856605
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at the Waterford Marina for my sisters hen weekend staff could not have been more helpful they reserved an area in the bar for us at nighttime which was great and we had ladies of all ages with us.Would definitely visit again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterford Marina Hotel after your recent visit, I am glad you all enjoyed the night in the Waterfront Bar, especially seen as there was a mix of ages in the group, it is always a good idea when possible to reserve an area with our staff.
Carlow is only up the road now with the road improvments so we would love to welcome you back for another visit to Waterford.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We recently stayed for one night in the Marina Hotel. There was a group of twelve of us and we secured a great rate through Lidl breaks. The rooms were perfect and some overlooked the front of the hotel facing the river.
We had dinner there and it was fabulous as was our bar lunch. Breakfast the next morning was really lovely and gave us a great choice of food.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlow68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking time after your vist to share your experience in the Waterford Marina Hotel with Tripadvisor readers. I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your break away with us, I will pass on your great comments regarding the food and service to all the staff. We would welcome you back to Waterford at anytime and please call direct to reservations and they will look after you with riverview rooms and a great rate.
Enjoy the Summer ahead
Kind Regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Just home from a midweek stay and we really enjoyed it. Lovely room and lovely staff and good food too.Always very friendly and helpfull the Waterford Marina goes the extra mile.

Room Tip: River view room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you Joe for your lovely review of the Waterford Marina Hotel. It is great to read your kind comments about the staff here and I am delighted they looked after you.
We look forward to meeting you again in Waterford City, please ensure you ask for one of our many riverview rooms.
Wishing you a safe and enjoyable Summer,
Kind regards
Karen and all the Team
Waterford Marina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coseley, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Found the hotel to be very good and value for money. Breakfast and other meals were fine and the staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were of a good standard and the whole hotel was clean and tidy. Secure parking for those that require it at no extra cost.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for taking time after you holiday to review the Waterford Marina Hotel, your lovely comments are very much appreciated and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us.
I hope that you make a return trip to Waterford in the future, maybe check out all the various activites and events planned for 'the Gathering 2013'.
In the meantime I hope you enjoy the Summer of 2012.
Kind Regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We had a one night break away from the kids and the dog.Booked the Marina on booking.com very good value and had a very good stay all staff very helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was very good had a big choice hotel car park was very secure all locked up by gates operated from reception all in all very good value and very clean room and friendly staff.

Room Tip: We got a room over looking the river very nice and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Waterford Marina Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review the Waterford Marina Hotel on Tripadvisor, you had a very short break and it would be lovely to meet you again with the family, we have lovely large family rooms and the Peoples Park is literally across the road and is great for children of all ages. There are many festivals and events in the City and surrounding areas throughout the year for all the family to enjoy.
Kind regards
Karen Dollery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.5 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Marina Hotel

Property: Waterford Marina Hotel
Address: Canada Street, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm comfortable 3 star hotel is situated in the heart of Waterford City on a well maintained cobbled road overlooking the River Suir. You can enjoy a stroll along Scotch Quay onto The Mall where you will find The Bishops Palace, House of Waterford Crystal, Reginalds Tower and much more. The Waterford Marina Hotel is perfectly situated for all visitors to the City, Heritage, Shopping and Nightlife all on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterford Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing