We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely affordable steaks”
Review of McLeary's

McLeary's
Ranked #6 of 177 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Waterford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely affordable steaks”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Very nice meal and not as expensive as most steak houses in Ireland. Staff well trained and friendly. Good choice of beverages.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magsdfuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    132
    44
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best in Waterford”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have eaten in mclearys a number of times now and the food still seems to amaze me! ,, easily the best steak you can get is in mclearys and for dessert the tastiest pavalova iv ever eaten! , the food is to perfection and the people in there are so friendly especially to two men that own the place, two gents!!. Thanks for the service mclearys!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emmett c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Consistent Excellence”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Recently visited McLearys for a family celebration & was once again overwhelmed by the welcome from Ken, Kevin & the staff. Needless to say that the Rib-eye was as good as ever. It won't be long before we return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Party of Fourteen, Family Birthday”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Having been to Mc Leary's many times on different occasions, it was the obvious choice for Mum's 75th Birthday. We were not disappointed, such a lovely, friendly atmosphere and service along with delicious food. The seafood pancake starter was a big hit with many in the group as were the steaks, which were cooked exactly as requested. Others in the group had had pork / chicken etc, and everything was beautifully presented. The two Guys that own and run Mc Leary's are in the Industry a long time and are real professionals at looking after everyone personally. They even came out to present Mum's Birthday cake and sang Happy Birthday, everyone in the restaurant joined in with the singing and gave a lovely round of applause to Mum, she was over the moon. We have had many celebrations in Mc Leary's and the service, food and atmosphere will always keep us going back.. Well done Guys.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monamis66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Rarely Good Steak”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

I've visited this establishment twice since the beginning of 2014 and both times I've left very disappointed.

First let me explain that this restaurant is really very nice in many ways.

It's situated in a central part of Waterford City within minutes of most hotels and night spots yet in a very scenic and homely part of the city.

It's both pleasantly and warmly decorated and the service is very good with the waiting staff very pleasant and accommodating.

The price can be either cheap enough with a €22 starter, main course and tea/coffee menu or more expensive depending on your choices.

My main problem is simple.

Twice I have gone here and twice I have ordered the steak, cooked rare.

On both occasions the steak has arrived practically charcoal on the outside and somewhere between the extreme side of medium and well done on the inside.

There was no taste.

Surely a rare steak is the simplest thing in the world for a chef to cook in a restaurant marketed as a steak and seafood restaurant.

I'm willing to give anywhere a second chance but if you can't cook a steak to order in a steak house, nothing else matters.

I won't be back a third time.

Helpful?
2 Thank Burke84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McLeary's also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to McLeary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing