We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot for lunch”
Review of Espresso

Espresso
Ranked #31 of 178 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good spot for lunch”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Went here recently for lunch with a group of colleagues.

Lunch menu was reasonable value with a good selection of dishes. Service was reasonable as well. No complaints.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CobraBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    34
    17
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed January 19, 2011

two of us visited this restaurant early one evening after work this month. The restaurant was practically empty, two other tables had people at them. As we did not have a long time to eat, we ordered a main course each with two diet cokes.The food arrived quickly and was hot. We thought the food was average to poor quality, it was pretty expensive for what we had - 41 euro for a pizza, lasange, two cokes and some garlic bread. the staff were nice but there are better restaurants in waterford who serve better food at better value.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skiholsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nothing terrible, but nothing terribly nice either.”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

I brought a party of 5 here on a recommendation from a staff member, who will never be listened to again. The food was edible, but thats about as far as I'd chance a critique. I tried three courses, and all were about the same standard. 3 of the others in my group had the same opinion, but the last person quite liked it. The atmosphere (it was lunchtime) was dead, and the service was perfunctory. Main courses were pricey, given the fare. Honestly ? It was more like pub grub.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathalr_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Totally unhappy after out visit to Espresso.
went today in the eveving, my boyfriend has soup for starter which was very small, he then had a steak sandwhick, the meat was very fatty and had a slice of cheese on top which looked like it was taken from a pack of easy singles.
my lasgne defentily wasnt homemade,
we were both unhappy with our visit and wont return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank annetteWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No value here. Tried it lots of times...”
Reviewed July 1, 2010

No value here. Tried it lots of times. Love Italian food but here every dish seems saturated with salt. Service is poor and Items are expensive. This restaurant does quite well due mostly to it's location. Good effort made with decor pity same effort was not made with the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Platykoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espresso also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing