We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place to eat in Waterford”
Review of La Boheme

La Boheme
Reserve with OpenTable
La Boheme is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 188 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $45
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: La Bohème Restaurant is housed in the vaults of the Georgian ‘Port of Waterford’ building – an historic property which has been associated with the local Chamber of Commerce for many years.Proprietors Christine and Eric Théze have patiently restored this magnificent space to create an inviting and intimate atmosphere. Its original flagstone floors, limewashed walls and vaulted ceilings are unique and particular to Waterford. The design of the restaurant is sympathetic to the architecture of the building, with influences of New Baroque. The restaurant combines ornate antiques and decoration with modern touches creating an eclectic, decadent interior.La Bohème is a restaurant where the pleasures of the table are in accord with the décor, blending modern delicacies with recipes passed down from generation to generation. Enjoy an aperitif at our beautiful pewter bar while perusing the menu and whetting your appetite.‘Here at La Bohème we pride ourselves in going the extra mile to give our customers a dining experience beyond comparison’
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Even though when we arrived there was a mix up with our booking the front of house made us feel so welcome and even provided us with complimentary drinks. The service, food and atmosphere was absolutely amazing. I cannot say enough about this restaurant. We went for the early bird and the value was incredible. Special thanks must go to the daughter of the owner who enhanced our experience and is a credit to the restaurant. We will definitely return and will recommend to all we know

Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTheze, Owner at La Boheme, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Anne G.
Thanks for your kind words on Tripadvisor. I remember your party well and we did get off to a bad start as there was some confusion on both of our parts as to the reservation time. Thankfully we rectified this and your lovely review tells the tale.

We so appreciate your kind words of praise and your support of La Boheme.
We hope to see you on another occasion in the restaurant, perhaps ask for me personally when making the reservation next time :) Sarah was delighted with your compliment. Thank you!
kind regards,
Christine Thezre
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 278 of 482 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

A lovely basement 'wine vault' style restaurant. We were welcomed by staff and shown to our table. Menu was nice but some items only available on the more expensive menu, I decided to stay with the chicken/ham dish.
Having ordered we got a goats cheese amuse bouche, which was very nice, something like a small melba toast would have been nice to contrast the texture.
The starter of mushroom soup was excellent as was the main course & dessert.
Overall a very nice meal, we were there nearly 3 hours and I would certainly return, perhaps not at Christmas in order to try the standard / non-seasonal menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShaneMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTheze, Owner at La Boheme, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear ShaneMcDonald,
Many thanks for your complimentary review on Tripadvisor. We love reading positive attributes about our guests dining experiences in La Boheme and we are delighted you enjoyed the food and the overall experience.

We hope to see you on a future visit,
Christine Theze
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We arrived to this restaurant around 10 pm. Chefs looked after us even we arrived so late! Without reservation! Food was fantastic, service brilliant, highly recommended !!! Well done guys!!! Thank you

1  Thank FofiDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTheze, Owner at La Boheme, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear FofiDublin,
What a lovely review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted we could accommodate you at such a late hour and that you enjoyed the food and service. Even more so for the lovely comments we are now reading, so thank-you!
We hope to see you on a future visit to Waterford,
kind regards,
Christine Theze
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Super location - room is unreal. Menu is pretentious and staff have poor English. It can be cold - depending on where they seat you. Pricey. Pity really as Waterford City centre needs a five star restaurant.

2  Thank Palmyra14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTheze, Owner at La Boheme, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Palmyra14,
We always thank those dining guests who leave a review on Tripadvisor, so thank you. What I don't see the point of in your review is stating that the menu is pretentious. Perhaps next time you could detail this not only for ourselves but for other potential diners.

Our basement is over 250 years old and is in a listed building. Along with the city engineers, the builders, our architects and interior designer, we installed as much heating as legally possible. We start heating all the dining rooms, the corridors and even the wc's at 2pm daily for service that starts at 5:30. When weather dips below the freezing mark for a few days at a time, I am sure even private interiors will feel cold if one is sitting for a long while.

Our staff have all been to restaurant management schools and are very professional and yes, some do no speak English 100%, They come to Ireland to perfect their English after finishing their degree. We are part of Europe and enjoy the diversity that this brings not only to the culture here, but to the ambience in the restaurant.

kind regards,
Christine Theze
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The place is truly wonderful, the atmosphere is very unique- it's underground, yet cosy. The food is one of the best I've ever eaten, mind you, the portions are rather small, so men could not be fully satisfied. It's also quite pricey, so it wouldn't be a place where I could go too often.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dominika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTheze, Owner at La Boheme, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Dominika,
We love a trip advisor review that starts with "Fantastic Restaurant". Makes us want to continue reading and we are delighted we did, you were so complimentary on your experience of dining with us.

With regards to the portions, the majority of people when leaving say how wonderfully full they are but not stuffed. We do offer extra side plates of vegetables and potato at no extra cost.

We hope to see you on a future visit to La Boheme
kind regards,
Christine Theze
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Boheme also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing