We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little island of France in the middle of Waterford”

L Atmosphere Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 173 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Tucked away within a quaint townhouse in the heart of Waterford City, L`Atmosphere is an authentic French bistro and wine bar run by Arnaud Mary and Patrice Garreau since 2005. Expect fresh and seasonal cuisine prepared by Arnaud and dedicated chef and served by a courteous and professional staff. A multy award winning eatery fearuring a unique variety of local fish and sea food, you will also find the best of Irish beef, poultry, lamb and when in the season wild game. Quality, local ingredients cooked with precision and flair are the emphasis. Sofisticated desserts prepared exclusively by pastry chef Patrice Garreau provide a suitable ending to mouth-watering meal. Alternative try a selection of the finest Irish and French cheese. Eamon Barrett advising of "Wonderful food, elegantly cooked and served, showing a deep culinary culture. This small but perfectly formed bistro is truly not to be missed
Co Kildare
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a little island of France in the middle of Waterford”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

absolutely superb, genuine, classic French cooking in the perfect French bistro atmosphere (and I speak as someone who lived in Paris for four years) - really good value and wide-ranging menu, including excellent soupe de poissons, cassoulet, confit de canard, escargots etc - cannot recommend highly enough

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boruthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    108
    22
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Très bien”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have visited this restaurant twice some years apart and each time it has been perfect. The early bird is unbelievably good value.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank shellieBbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“L’ambiance at l'Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We sailed to Waterford and tied up to the dock in the center of this
charming Viking-founded city on the Suir. We asked the couple who
helped us tie up, “where should we go to eat?” and they were unhesitating
in recommending l’Atmosphere—for good food and plenty of it.
We were not disappointed, from friendly waitstaff to artfully prepared appetizers, perfectly
seasoned sauces to the chocolatey desserts: C’etait delicieux!
We were also fortunate in being at the restaurant when it was emptying and had an opportunity to meet the owner/chef. Not only did we enjoy a good meal and a good memory, but we have a new friend In Arnaud, who surprised us with an oven ready boeuf bourguignon for us the next morning. Perfect for the overnight crossing to the Scilly Islands!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SveaFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Myself and 3 others dined here last night ( Sat eve ) and was very impressed with the whole experience. I have to be honest and say it wasn't quite what I was expecting as this was the first time for me to dine here, but it definitely wont be the last. The interior is very "Bistro" style and the service nicely casual which threw me a little as "French restaurants" can be quite pretentious and this restaurant was anything but that. The menu I thought catered for all "Foodies" and those who are perhaps not as adventurous with their dishes which suited our party perfectly, we were also offered the "EB" special 3 courses plus a glass of house vino for 20Euro ?!? Amazing deal which 2 of our party chose from and I have to say they chose very well, the portions were incredible, so much so even our dogs enjoyed some fine "Beef Bourguignon" when we got home.
This is a fabulous little restaurant and I was sad to see it wasn't full to bursting at 8.30pm on a Saturday eve, maybe next time? and I can assure you there will be a next time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“French elegance at its best”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

All of the staff working here are French and it's crystal clear that they take great pride in their work The French love food and they do food superbly here

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Olaf Petersen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L Atmosphere Restaurant also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to L Atmosphere Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing