We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it”

L Atmosphere Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 173 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $49
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Tucked away within a quaint townhouse in the heart of Waterford City, L`Atmosphere is an authentic French bistro and wine bar run by Arnaud Mary and Patrice Garreau since 2005. Expect fresh and seasonal cuisine prepared by Arnaud and dedicated chef and served by a courteous and professional staff. A multy award winning eatery fearuring a unique variety of local fish and sea food, you will also find the best of Irish beef, poultry, lamb and when in the season wild game. Quality, local ingredients cooked with precision and flair are the emphasis. Sofisticated desserts prepared exclusively by pastry chef Patrice Garreau provide a suitable ending to mouth-watering meal. Alternative try a selection of the finest Irish and French cheese. Eamon Barrett advising of "Wonderful food, elegantly cooked and served, showing a deep culinary culture. This small but perfectly formed bistro is truly not to be missed
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Real cassolette cooking, brilliant atmosphere, certainly lives up to it's name and the value was outstanding we ended up staying from 7-11 such was the feel good feeling here

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lolalake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    108
    22
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good food in nice surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had the €20 early bird menu - it's very good value, with three courses and a glass of wine included in the price. After reading the reviews on here, we were slightly disappointed with the food - it was very good, but not quite as magical as we'd expected! My colleague had a terrine starter which seemed to reappear in the main course as a foil for the confit de canard, which could have done with a fruit sauce. Portion sizes were on the conservative side.

Still: an excellent meal at a nice restaurant, very well presented and served at a very good price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, authentic French food!! The early bird menu is out of this world!! I had the braised cabbage and sausage which was so tasty! Beef bourginon which was melt in the mouth!! The dessert was to die for, staff was super friendly and extremely helpful!! Thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saschef24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
289 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Incredible set menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Early bird menu for Saturday evening was 20 euros for three courses with a glass of wine. Incredible pâté for starter, large portion of beef stew for main and good brûlée to end. The duck confit was also very good.

Staff was nice and fast. Charming small dining room. We liked sitting in front dining room. Busy and lively.

Highly recommended for the set menu before 6:45.

Reservations recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicolawca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“€20 lunch menu is a delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have had the very good fortune of visiting L'Atmosphere several times over the pas few months and I have to say it has, on every occasion, been a pleasure.
I've tried the duck, lamb and the my favourite the beef bourguignon all of which were delicious.
I decided to try the lunch menu recently for €20 it's brillant value for money. A delicious starter, main course and desert - and a glass of wine, all for €20 - it's unbeatable value for money.
The service was very good too.
It can be a little cold in L'Atmosphere so bring a jumper and the toilets need a revamp - these are the only negatives; its why I have not awarded the excellent rating, however the food is excellent.
I'd recommend the meat dishes over the fish dishes every time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shopping-spraoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L Atmosphere Restaurant also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to L Atmosphere Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing