We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around County Tipperary
from $63.40
More Info
Reviews (719)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveler rating
405
158
28
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
158
28
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swiss cottage guided tour in great condition heritage card nooks and crannies well worth a visit car park heritage sites self guided interesting history wonderful tour worth a trip lovely walk great stop butler family cahir siege
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 594 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a nice castle right in the heart of town. We arrived a little early for the tour but it is very easily navigated on your own. Very intact and definitely worth a visit.

Thank KnoxTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped in here at the end of a day driving around the area (Waterford, Vee Drive, etc). There is a pay parking lot right next to the castle which is very convenient. I believe it was 1.2 euro/hour. I think the entrance fee to the castle was 8 euro total for the two of us. The castle sits on a small stream and the grounds in the rear of it are nice. There are also tours offered inside which were very informative. I would certainly recommend a stop here and you can also take some extra time to look at the shops in town.

Thank MT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful castle with lots of tales to tell. If you have time after touring the castle, take the gorgeous hike along the river to the Swiss Cottage. It will take up about 1.5 hours. We went across the street and had a quick lunch at the Irish pizza chain Apache Pizza (who knew Ireland had a pizza chain?). Lots more to explore here than we allotted time for.

Thank Dennis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Interesting history. Loved that you can still see two canons lodged in the castle walls. Tour guide that gave about a 25 minute tour and history of the castle was excellent storyteller. Was part of booked tour to Blarney Castle - was great stop.

Thank Jill0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are one manual wheelchair traveler and one able body who travel a lot. At Cahir Castle, a WC can access the court yards and the small information / video theater, but most of the information and displays are inside towers and at the top of stairways so cannot access those. The washrooms were accessible and super clean plus had a help chain for emergency. The grounds and the information though were great. This place seemed to be less on the tourist trail than others we stopped at so it was nice to explore it calmly and at our own pace.

Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While vacationing in Ireland we had our days planned out. That was until our taxi driver told us about Cahir Castle. He told us that we would love it there and we did! After visiting the Rock of Cashel the Cahir Caste wasn't far at all. Not only did we love the exploring the castle but the location and grounds were also beautiful.

1  Thank FrequentFlier239756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This castle has an interesting history and doesnt take long to visit.
Bathrooms are located inside.
2 canons are still lodged in the castle walls and are clearly visible.
A tour guide gave us a 25min tour and history of the castle.
It was part of our booked tour and a nice little stop.

Thank maritimeramman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

We took a self-guided tour of the medieval castle. We enjoyed it and if you are in the area, it is a nice visit that doesn't take a lot of time to see.

Thank Patty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

We took the self tour of the castle and were quite impressed with the condition that the castle is in for a 500 -600 year old castle. We were able to go into almost all of the castle, only a couple of areas were closed off for safety reason. The working gate was impressive Don't miss the audio visual tour if you are not taking the guided tour.

Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

We didn't want to wait for a tour, but I wish we had. We caught a bit of one of the tours and the guide was fantastic. We still had a great time exploring the castle. Most of the buildings are open for you to go up into. Really enjoyed our visit there.

Thank traveler092006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews