We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best accommodation experience in Ireland!”
Review of Pearse Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sligo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pearse Lodge B&B
Ranked #1 of 26 Sligo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2009

We were lucky enough to have the 'Annex' and enjoyed a spacious, tasteful, spotless room...with chocolates waiting on our pillows! From the moment Mary and Kieren greeted us it was obvious we were in the hands of wonderful people who run an excellent establishment. In two months of travel around Ireland this was by far our best accommodation experience and the best value. The breakfasts were generous and superbly cooked. We felt very spoilt!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moonstoneCastlemaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 389 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2008

Mary and Kiernan are the perfect hosts for this wonderful B&B. The Pearse Lodge is easily one of my favorite B&Bs because it truly feels like home. From the bottles of water and candy on the pillows, to the wonderful towels (including washclothes!) tied with ribbon, the Pearse Lodge is exemplary. I appreciated the secure, off-street parking, the vast array of travel information and restaurant recommendations, and the wonderfully comfortable beds! Additionally, Mary's banana French toast was the best I've ever had and her French Press coffee was just what I needed to clear the fog and mist. Before we left, our hosts provided us with detailed instructions about how to drive to Carrowmore and other locations. We absolutely loved the Pearse Lodge and I give it my highest recommendation. We will definitely return to Sligo, and when we do, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CardinalsLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Was very happy about finding this place. It was an easy walk to town from the house. The home had charm inside and out. Our room was in the back part of the house and was VERY spacious and quiet. Plenty of parking on the property. A computer was available for a small donation, so nice to be able to e-mail back home for those that don't travel with a laptop.

Mary did all of those nice finishing touches including bottled water in the room and chocolates on the bed. Loved Mary's banana french toast for breakfast! She was helpful with suggestions for places to eat and places to see in town. We found that some owners of B&B's just go through the motions with giving standard answers, but Mary was very sincere with all of her suggestions and went above and beyond.

Would stay back at this B&B in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sdonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

On the basis of other TA reviews, booked here for 3 days when at a family wedding, . Great location (near town and the church & reception venues). The bed was very comfortable and the shower great (though the en suite was very small). On a main road which our room overlooked.....but didn't hear a thing. But it was the hosts - Mary and Keiron - who really made the difference. They are extremely welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful about what to do and see, where to eat and have a drink. All their recommendations were spot on and we were also very lucky to have a beautiful day to see Sligo and the surrounding area at its best. As other reviews testify, the breakfasts are great - a very wide range of options to suit all tastes. Be warned though - some are very filling so make sure you have room or ask for less (e.g. pancakes, slices of bacon)! You have to order the night before so that, for example, the porridge can be soaked and then cooked slowly in the morning. But choosing the night before was no problem and just added to the anticipation. Just a shame we couldn't sample everything in our 3 days. The coffee is great too. Basically, great hosts. a very comfortable stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Douglas04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

If I ever designed a home away from home, it would be exactly as Mary and Kieron have created. Our suite was impeccable. Warm, welcoming, creatively decorated, and comfortable. We were welcomed with open arms, lots of great advice, and a lovely spirit. Mary couldn't have been more gracious or friendly. Breakfast - to die for. We could have sat and ate and visited all day. This was like staying with a friend, not staying in a hotel. We loved Sligo and we loved Pearse Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

the most superb b and b that is a home from home.A short walk into sligo with parking on site.The room was very clean with all we needed including bottled water and sweets on the pillow.wine glasses were put in the room when we brought in a bottle .The breakfast is to die for and as said previously you need to taste the banana french toast to appreciate what we mean.My husband can recommend the Ulster Fry .There were i am sure about 20 choices including smoked salmon.You can also use the internet there if you want if you make a small cash donation.All in all a very pleasant place to stay.We were recommended to eat at a local Indian which again was brilliant.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mrsdRedcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

My fiance and I stayed at Pearse Lodge for 2 nights. We had only planned to stay one night, but the room was so lovely and the breakfast so good that we asked if we could stay 2 nights. Luckily we were able to. Actually, we were sad to go after two nights!

The owners are very friendly and clearly take a lot of pride in offering such a good experience. This stay just went completely beyond my expectations of a B and B. You can expect chocolates on the pillows, beautiful beds and bedding, and tasteful decor. I can't speak for the other rooms, but the room we had was gorgeous. It was an addition to the side of the house, so it was brand new. Very spacious, beautiful wooden floors and with a pretty bathroom.

The breakfast was really special. They have a menu with 11 choices. I recommend the French Toast, and my fiance said the porridge was really good too. They had other things as well, but we don't eat meat so we were limited to about half the choices (which was totally fine- we only had 2 nights there anyway).

I want to go back to Sligo just to stay at this B and B again! It's a truly special place.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
488 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,715 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
531 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sligo Southern Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearse Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearse Lodge B&B

Address: Pearse Lodge Pearse Road, Sligo, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Sligo
Price Range: $82 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Pearse Lodge Bed And Breakfast
Pearse Hotel Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing