We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Characterful cottage with wonderful peat fire”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The Beach Bar at Aughris
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Sligo, County Sligo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
DOL74
North Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Characterful cottage with wonderful peat fire”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

A very warm welcome with lots of useful local information. Warm and cosy rustic cottage, really comfy double bed and great big open fire. Near to Knocknarae, Carrowmore and Carrowkeel. Good view of hills from the living room window and nice enclosed garden.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elgreen68
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Eilish and Stanley went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect--from the coffee they provided to the suggestions and help with negotiating the area, they could not have been better The cottage is quaint and well equipped. The kitchen was modern, the beds comfortable--and the market within walking distance was so convenient. I've traveled overseas before but have never felt so welcomed and at home. Staying in the Sligo area was a fluke--a jab of a pin on a map but what I found was spectacular. The cottage is a ten minute walk to where the ocean beats against rocky cliffs (a mini cliffs of Mohr) and a five minute drive to the beach. It was rural but only a 25 minutes from Sligo town. We had a great time and can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the people
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caro22cc
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful cottage”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, teenager daughter, her best friend and I stayed at Katie Ann's cottage in July. It was very comfortable and fully equipped for our weeks stay. We thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful location and garden. Tracy, Eilish and Stanley were very helpful from directions to the cottage to information about the surrounding area. We walked to the local beach, a few miles away, which we enjoyed. There is a shop, very handy, only a few minutes walk away. We ate at the Beach Bar a few nights. We definitely would recommend a stay at Katie Ann's cottage, it was a lovely house and garden to come back to after a busy day.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely spot, lovely people, beautiful cottage”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We feel very lucky to have holidayed at Katie Ann’s Cottage. Tracey and Eilish ensured everything we needed and more. The cottage is perfect and the garden superb, the boys (3 & 5 years) had a ball playing outside each evening and the sheltered BBQ area allowed us to dine outside rain or shine.

There was so much to see and do, loved Lissadell House, Eagles Flying (Display spectacular!), and the Beach Bar for dins. Had two beach days, one at Dunmoran, the other Rosses Point – both fab. And would highly recommend ‘Pudding Row’ – a great little cafe in Easkey.

Thanks you so much, we will definitely be recommending and really hope to stay again.

John, Roisin,
Conall and Ronan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynne2520...
Larne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The wish of a perfect cottage came true at Katie Anns Cottage”
Reviewed June 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We walked in to cottage and we were amazed at the lovely little touches ,the set of both bedrooms from the lovely bed linen and retro hats all perfect.In the kitchen a tray was set with bone china cups and saucers ,tea,coffee and irish made biscuits.Elish came and introduced herself to us and was very helpful answering all our queries.
When my partner fell ill she was so helpful and gave us doctors and chemist addresses and asked about his health everyday.
The football was on and we cheered to see ROIreland and northern Ireland win it kept my partner amused and entertained .
Ballisadare was a lovely village and for lovely coffee and cakes the village craft and clothes shop is the best.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann F
2 reviews
“Couldn't be better, hospitality amazing, beautiful cottage, beautiful place.”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Tracey,s Mum and Dad went out of their way to make our holiday enjoyable. Lovely extra touches in the cottage added to the experience. On our arrival we found their generous extras very welcoming. The location was lovely, 10 minutes to a beautiful long deserted beach. Only 15 minutes from the town. Situated between the sea and the mountains, it was very peaceful and tranquil, with stunning scenery. We have travelled extensively but this holiday was up there with the best. We will be back and would recommend it to our friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel1020
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy comfy cottage”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this lovely cottage for two nights during the mid-term break. We arrived to a blazing fire and a tray of tea things which was a lovely touch and made us forget about our plans to go anywhere but in front of the fire for the night! The cottage was spotlessly clean and had everything we wanted- the kitchen is really nicely laid out and I Loved the cute crockery and nice touches to it's past life around the house. The location is slightly out of the way but we didn't mind driving and it really isn't far from sligo and the main spots in the area. There is a really nice beach bar close to the cottage- although you would need a car to get to it- we planned on walking home but thought it was a bit long- maybe in summer you could walk along the beach or cycle but in winter you would definitely need a designated driver if you are planning on having a few drinks. There is also a lovely beach about 20 mins walk away which was one of the nicest we saw in Sligo. All in all this is a lovely house to base yourself in if you don't mind being being slightly off the beaten track (although its by no means too far from anything) and the level of hospitality was second to none- we were so glad we stayed here instead of an impersonal hotel. Plus- the bed was really comfy and cosy! Will definitely recommend to a friend!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing