We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't be better, hospitality amazing...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The Beach Bar at Aughris
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Sligo, County Sligo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Ann F
2 reviews
“Couldn't be better, hospitality amazing, beautiful cottage, beautiful place.”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Tracey,s Mum and Dad went out of their way to make our holiday enjoyable. Lovely extra touches in the cottage added to the experience. On our arrival we found their generous extras very welcoming. The location was lovely, 10 minutes to a beautiful long deserted beach. Only 15 minutes from the town. Situated between the sea and the mountains, it was very peaceful and tranquil, with stunning scenery. We have travelled extensively but this holiday was up there with the best. We will be back and would recommend it to our friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel1020
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy comfy cottage”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this lovely cottage for two nights during the mid-term break. We arrived to a blazing fire and a tray of tea things which was a lovely touch and made us forget about our plans to go anywhere but in front of the fire for the night! The cottage was spotlessly clean and had everything we wanted- the kitchen is really nicely laid out and I Loved the cute crockery and nice touches to it's past life around the house. The location is slightly out of the way but we didn't mind driving and it really isn't far from sligo and the main spots in the area. There is a really nice beach bar close to the cottage- although you would need a car to get to it- we planned on walking home but thought it was a bit long- maybe in summer you could walk along the beach or cycle but in winter you would definitely need a designated driver if you are planning on having a few drinks. There is also a lovely beach about 20 mins walk away which was one of the nicest we saw in Sligo. All in all this is a lovely house to base yourself in if you don't mind being being slightly off the beaten track (although its by no means too far from anything) and the level of hospitality was second to none- we were so glad we stayed here instead of an impersonal hotel. Plus- the bed was really comfy and cosy! Will definitely recommend to a friend!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy H
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful cottage full of character & warmth!”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I plus little dog stayed in the cottage for 3 nites . It really is a lovely cottage & Eilish has so many little touches to it that adds to the pleasure of staying there . Everything spotless & everything you need in it to have a great stay .Eilish a very warm & helpful host , great big garden which our dog throughly enjoyed. Beautiful area with lovely beaches & the local pub the Beach Bar is a must to visit! The place to stay if you are visiting Sligo thank you Eilish

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's a perfect cottage!
Liked least: Nothing to dislike!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louthy201...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We booked Katie Ann's cottage for 3 nights with our 10 month old daughter and friends with their 19th month old daughter. We wanted something a bit different than the usual central apartments that we have stayed in while on holiday previous years. The Cottage did not let us down, it was exactly what we were looking for, quiet, quirky and quaint. It was spotless, the attention to detail in every room and the little touches made it even more special. We had a fab few days even though the weather wasn't great! Eilish the owners mum greeted us when we arrived and made us feel extremely welcome, it was nice to know we had someone beside us if we had any questions or queries throughout our stay.
We drove to Sligo on one of the days, which was about a 20 minute drive, we walked to the beach one morning which was lovely and another day we drove to Inishcrone which was beautiful. We ate at the Beach bar which is a must if you stay at this cottage, great menu and views.
The local shop which is right beside the cottage was great, all the essentials that you need right on your doorstep! :)

We look forward to returning... hopefully with some sunshine next time! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelleh...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful stay in a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed August 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I would highly recommend this cottage for anyone wishing to explore this lovely part of Sligo. The cottage is spotlessly clean, beautifully appointed and you can see the care and attention to detail in every room. We received a lovely warm welcome from Eilish who went out of her way to make us feel at home and the welcome pack provided is a really nice touch.
The garden and the BBQ area are fantastic and both were very well used during our trip when the sun shone all week (how lucky was that)! Both are so private and well maintained. We loved walking the shore and a trip to the nearby Beach Bar in Aughrus is a must for good food and a pint of Guinness overlooking Knocknarea and Benbulben. The cottage is in a great location, very peaceful and quiet and yet only 10/15 mins from Sligo town. We loved walking in Ladies Brae and a visit to nearby Lough Talt and Easkey Lough offered even more walking. A quick climb up Knocknarea to visit Queen Maeve's tomb offers wonderful views across the bay. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you could need and Eilish provided really useful information about local attractions and amenities. We look forward to returning for some R&R in this magical spot in Sligo. Thanks Eilish.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximiy to the shoreline and the garden and BBQ area.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eibhlín T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage with lots of space indoors and out.”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in the cottage in July with our 7 year old and nearly 2 year old. We got a lovely welcome from the owners and the house itself was really well stocked with lots of necessities and extra fun things too! The kitchen had all the equipment needed to cook most things (I even managed to bake a cake!) and the BBQ area was brilliant. The children loved the garden and really enjoyed having chats with the sheep in the next field.
The beds were comfy and nicely made up and the cot was nice and cozy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How the cottage was laid out/looked.
Liked least: The one creaky floorboard beside the cot.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally K
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Katie Ann's Cottage. It is very comfortable, cozy, well equipped, and has beautiful views. A short walk from the cottage is the "Wild Atlantic" a must see for everyone.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing