We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but a little surreal”
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good but a little surreal”
Reviewed October 9, 2009

A modern hotel in an impressive building right in the centre of Sligo town. We really enjoyed our stay here but our overall impression was of slight oddness. Firstly, the design of the building sticks out in what is essentially quite a traditional Irish market town. The strange colour scheme and the frankly naff art prints of 'hip' young people in heels and shades give you the impression that it was designed by someone who had read about the concept of the 'designer hotel' but had never actually stayed in one and had therefore decided to base the look of the place on a provincial nightclub circa 1994. The strangeness of the place was only compounded by the fact that they were obviously trying to drum up business through some kind of cheap deal so the place was 70% full of pensioners.

The rooms themselves were clean and comfortable and I grew to quite like the garish lime green by the end of the stay. The staff were also all very pleasant and helpful . We had booked three nights over the phone at roomrate only but on arriving we were told by the check-in staff that there was a three for two deal so we ended up paying less than we had anticipated with breakfast included which was a nice touch. The free parking is also good and all-in-all this is an ideal base for exploring Sligo and if you go with it, the slightly surreal atmosphere is rather charming after a couple of pints of Guinness.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank testcard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    535
    252
    90
    68
See reviews for
149
839
66
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We were in Sligo for one night and chose The Glasshouse as it looked great on the website. And we were not disappointed. It was a lovely place, the receptionist was friendly and helpful when booking in, and the hotel itself was clean and had a funky modern feel. The room was small, but nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The only reason for not getting 5 stars is there was no walk in shower which I would expect from a top hotel, ours was broken too, and had no bracket fixing the head to the wall. But no big deal, we could have moaned and got another room if we were really bothered. We ate out (you must go to Monmarte to eat if you are visiting Sligo!) but when we came back we sat by the river in the bar downstairs and had several drinks. Place looked great at night, all lit up, and we had a really relaxing chilled night there. There is free parking downstairs too. So all in all, a really good hotel, and we would definitely stay again if we were passing.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Emma_kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soria,Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We had a lovely 6th floor room with a great view and everything was fine until we went to bed and found that the bad was impossible to sleep in. I wrote a note to the management thinking that they would do something but to no avail. Spend three sleepless nights there. Too bad as the rest was fine. On weekends there are alot of parties so it can get noisy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WallySoria_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Wife and I stayed here with two elderly relatives. The hotel is very modern and we were worried that the relatives would be "out of sorts". We need not have worried as the staff were extremely helpful and made us all feel very comfortable. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Food was excellent (there was a slight mix up which delayed our meal by just 10 minutes but we were offered a round of drinks by way of an apology). If we are back in the area I will definately go back. (We booked through laterooms.com and got our rooms for £70 per room per night)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Gallovidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

I stayed in the Clarion the night before which was also a very enjoyable stay but due to a colleague coming from Dublin looking for a few pints we decided to stay in the centre of town. After some haggling I was able to have a corner suite on the 2nd Floor(227) for very good money for a Monday night. I have attached pictures.

The location is great and with ample complimentary car parking I was set and could abandon the car whilst at my meetings, not move it to head to the hotel and leave it the next day whilst at more meetings. Substitute shopping for meetings if your trip suits.

I have to agree with a previous review that for those wishing to use the hairdryer and the mirror at the same time they are slightly at a loss. The hairdryer is on the glass desk by the windows and the mirror is at the opposite side of the room. Solution - bring own if possible.

Mind you although they called it a suite I would beg to differ. I always imagine a suite would have a separate seating area. This has the usual small table and two chairs and a workdesk but every hotel room really has this. It did have its own entrance hallway giving me two doors from the hallway meaning I get excellent privacy and quiet. I also cannot hear a thing from the outside and only being on the 2nd floor you think I would hear the traffic on the bridge other reviewers mentioned. Nothing at all.

Pictures of the room and view are attached for your perusal. Rooms also have air con.

I did not use the bar or the restaurant and choose room service breakfast. It was on time but I have never had a late room service breakfast in any hotel......yet. I was very happy with it and it was very nicely presented.

The rooms were clean, tidy and comfortable save for a foundation stain on the carpet but thats to be expected of a hotel.

Staff are excellent. Hotel has ethernet cable provided internet which is fast.

Only downside. There is no gym at all.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BertieBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

a truly lovely hotel. boutique style and evrything was perfect. rooms were a decent size and beds etc oozed comfort. also a big plus - its right in the heart of this quaint little town.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinronan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

I stayed here for only one night with a friend. The only thing we regretted is not booking in a second night! The hotel is fresh and modern. It has a great position on the banks of the river. It's also right in the centre of town so close to all the shops and resteraunts. The bar wa good fun - there was a DJ there on the night we stayed - a Saturday. The resteraunt was also lovely - nice menu, great food and great service. We found the staff at the hotel really helpfull also. Even though it's quite a big modern hotel it feels cosy. We were surprised when a couple of staff members greeted us long after checking in and remembered us. It's nice to feel like you're not just another number, but a real person! In my opinion, this is a great hotel and if you're going to Sligo, you can't go wrong with this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
403 reviews
4.9 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Property: The Glasshouse
Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing