We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, WI
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed at the Glasshouse on our 4th night in Ireland. It was fairly easy to find, and has a great central location. Parking is in a garage that goes underground, and if I had to complain about anything, it would be about the tight spaces and maneuvering, but every parking garage we parked at in Ireland was like that. The staff was friendly, and the rooms very modern looking. The dining area has a nice view of the river. Everything is easily within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Cocotea
That you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have a great central location right in the heart of Sligo. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    549
    257
    92
    72
See reviews for
155
871
67
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N.Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is very good hotel with its location in the centre of Sligo,s many shops,pubs & restaurants.
The rooms are spacious and well presented.Everything was spotlessly clean.
The breakfast was faultless with a wide range of food on offer.The breakfast room has a lovely view out onto the river.
My only complaint is the wifi in the room.If you keep in contact with your smartphone then you will need to go into the bar area,dining room or reception area.it can be a bit annoying and a surprise for a hotel of this standing but we survived and I hope to return to this hotel when next in Sligo

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear garyanne
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have a fantastic location right in the centre of Sligo. We would like to make you aware we do have Wifi in all our bedrooms, access to your individual password is accessed through the tv system. We would like to thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

If you want to relax in comfort but within walking distance of great restaurants, this hotel is for you. It is a 3 star in my opinion as little things like no fridge or wifi in the room mean it can't be described as 4 star.
But the staff are great, very friendly & we will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIrelandrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Nirelandrosie
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you found our staff great and very friendly and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind Regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We are stayed here many times it is a great hotel. The rooms are spacious and spotless clean and the beds are so comfortable. the staff are great especially the bar staff - they are so helpful. i like to go for a high floor and we are always accommodated. The underground parking is so handy also. There are great pubs and restaurants close at hand - Foleys is the best for traditional music.

Room Tip: A high floor is has no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArdMhacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear ArdMhacha
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you find our staff great and you enjoy visiting us here at The Glasshouse. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Kildare, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here with my Fiancée for one night. We booked room only. Check in was quick and easy. We were welcomed by a very friendly lady at reception. We had a double room which was spacious, spotless and modern. Great facilities in the room. It was great to see a splash of colour in a hotel. The bathroom spotless with very good shower.
We had dinner in the restaurant, the food was very tasty, the service was very good!The hotel is located on the river, which is within very short walking distance of all shops, pubs and restaurants.
I would definitely stay in the glasshouse again.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than one night it might be nice to get a room with a view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SazC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear SazC1
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you found our staff friendly and service good. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My wife and I based ourselves here for a long weekend spent touring around Yeats' country. It's the perfect location, in the heart of the city, but easy enough to access and within walking distance of all the shops or eateries. They have an underground carpark which is free for residents but used by lots of others as well; it seemed always very busy and some of the parking was all over the place so it's very tight to manoeuvre around. The hotel itself is pleasant inside, nicely furnished and well kept; the bedroom was comfy and spacious but the bathroom maybe needed a bit of an upgrade. We had a lovely view from a top floor out over the river and weir. There did seem to be several groups of young people staying and we found that they tended to fill up the bar and they were also quite noisy at nighttime. Breakfast wasn't included for us but we bought it anyway; it was tasty but very expensive. We also ate one night in the restaurant which was excellent. All in all, pretty good and would certainly recommend for anyone who wants a handy spit from which to explore the county.

Room Tip: Ask for one high up and facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Sean L
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have the perfect location right in the heart of Sligo. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed in the Glasshouse for the second time last weekend. Again it was a great experience and the staff were extremely friendly as always. Check-in was quick even though it was quite busy. We stayed on the 5th floor overlooking the river and the town which was lovely, and the balcony was great as we were able to sit and enjoy the views. The room was big, spacious and bright. The bar had a great atmosphere and there was plenty of buzz about the place. We came back to the hotel quite late (around 1:00 am) after a few too many sociables in the town and a very kind staff member offered to make us some toasted ham and cheese sandwiches as we were starving!! He brought them up to the room within 10 mins, excellent service! Anytime we stay in Sligo we stay in the Glasshouse, highly recommend. One note, they are in the middle of installing A/C in the rooms so they only have electric fans but it didn't bother us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mudbugbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear mudbugbelly
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you found our staff friendly and have passed on your kind comments to the staff. As you noted we are currently installing air conditioning in all our bedrooms and look forward to having this completed next month. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
446 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Property: The Glasshouse
Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing