We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great location and good food. Strand hill worth a visit. Great beach for a walk or just sit and watch the surfing. Hotel right in Sligo town handy for shopping and going out at night no need for taxis or car.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mick5433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear mick5433
Thank you for sharing your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have a great location right in the town centre while nearby Strandhill is fantastic for a beach walk. Once again we would like to thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    509
    243
    90
    68
See reviews for
145
800
61
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

For the purpose of our stay, the Glasshouse was fine. We were using it as quick stay in Sligo to see the surrounding area. It seems like it's a popular option for hen parties (we saw 2) and for big groups. The room had been cleaned before we got there, but did not have the toiletries, waters, robes and all the towels stocked for the Deluxe Room we had booked. A quick call to the front desk fixed this, though. The room itself felt fairly clean, could have been a little cleaner though. The air-conditioning unit in our room didn't work; the panel would not turn on and the screen covering the unit in the ceiling was missing. We opened the window, but got serenaded by a group of men coming back from drinks around 3am (we were on the 5th floor).

Overall, I wouldn't use this hotel for a long stay or a place to get good sleep. The doors are pretty loud. There was some loud work going on in the hall the morning we left and it started quite early.

On the positive side, the complimentary parking added to the convenience of the location and all the staff I encountered were very nice. The common spaces were very nice and we had the breakfast buffet; which was nothing special, but seemed reasonable for a hotel buffet based on the price. Again, the staff in the restaurant was really nice.

Room Tip: We were on the city side; I think the river-side would be worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosanna91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear rosanna91
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you found our staff very nice. We would like to inform you that we are currently have air conditioning installed in all our rooms and apologise for any inconvenience this caused. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

The Glasshouse Hotel is on the bank of the river that flows through Sligo town. There are great views across the town and the mountains. The hotel is centrally located, close to lots of bars and restaurants. The rooms are well designed and equipped. However the winning aspect of the hotel is its staff. Every single person I encountered was friendly, knowledgable, interested in what I was doing in their town and really helpful. My reservation had been mistakenly cancelled by my workplace but when I arrived (late in eh evening) there was no problem or drama, the situation was handled efficiently and with good humour.
Strongly recommend the town and the hotel.

Room Tip: Ak for a room with a view of the river and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Declan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Declan D
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. What a great review. We are delighted to read that you found our staff friendly and interestedand we have passed on your kind comments to our staff. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

when i stayed in sligo it was great room was lovely food was lovely everything was great except for one thing.. the bathroom.. i need a walk in shower and the shower was in the bath so i had to go to my friends room for a shower other than tha everything was grand everything was goodd

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubmayohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Dubmayohead
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay, in relation to the problem you encountered we would like to apologise and suggest for future booking to contact us directly and we can allocate you a room with walk in shower. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay. Can't fault it friendly helpful staff. A good atmosphere and excellent food at a reasonable price. Stayed in the junior penthouse sweet and it was delightful decor was to a high standard with lovely views of the city. Central location within walking distance of all amenities .parking is free to residents and is fairly secure.I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone and I look forward to my next stay there.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ger O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Ger O
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. What a great review! We are delighted to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our excellent food. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed in this hotel as i was on a hen party break.. Had difficulty immediately with booking into room .tried to over us for a start. The bedroom was small no extras not even water in the room very basic. No bath just a shower not impressed as i had travelled all morning and was looking for to a soak. Bar is nice staff in bar friendly and helpful. The best thing is yes its location and breakfast also was good. @120 per room was little disappointed seeing as there is no pool or leisure centre, needs a few tweeks

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emo-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear emo-9
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are disappointed to read that you were disappointed with your stay. Unfortunately it is only our deluxe rooms and suites that would have the mentioned extras. We are delighted to read that you found our bar staff friendly & helpful. We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to contact one of our managers if you wish to discuss any problems encountered during your stay.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettystown, Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Had a 'one nighter' here for a business trip and found well located, nicely designed and very well run hotel.

In terms of location, it's difficult to beat if you're looking for accommodation centrally located. It also has a nice position on the fast-flowing river that can be found at the centre of Sligo. I did wonder if I'd be disturbed by traffic or late night revelers around the town, but once in the room there was nothing to be heard.

The fairly modern styling may not be to everyone's liking if you prefer a more traditional sense, but I found it quite 'sharp.'

Service wise, it was all good. Check-in was handled efficiently' any interactions with staff were always friendly and welcoming.

Foodwise, I can only comment on breakfast which was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear DaveyBikeBoy
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have the best location right in the centre of Sligo. We are delighted to read that you found staff always friendly and welcoming. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Property: The Glasshouse
Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing