We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No faults apart from the BED”
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Co. Down
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“No faults apart from the BED”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The sheer buzz of this place is exhilarating. It is clean, has well apportioned rooms with all that would be needed to make one comfortable (however see my comment about the bed). I had a room with a balcony overlooking the river which was in full flow after the recent weather. This was awesome. The staff could not do enough for you. The room was getting air-conditioning fitted and there was a fan left in the room but in February there are no issues with heat at night. The food was good.

There was unfortunately an absolute cardinal sin committed. The bed was horrible. It was effectively two singles pushed together to make a double and the section nearest the door (understandably the side used most) was showing signs of use and it meant there was a nasty hard ridge to contend with which meant sleeping was absolutely awful.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony overlooking the river is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Greg M
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff efficient. We would like to apologise for the problems you encountered with the bed and would like to assure you that we are currently replacing some of our matresses. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    549
    257
    92
    72
See reviews for
155
871
67
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We initially had booked this hotel but cancelled it as it didn't have a pool. So I had wanted to visit it and see what I had missed..to be honest I was glad I hadn't stayed here. We ordered 2 soup at 1.25pm and asked for it to be delivered up to the viewing bar - which wasn't an issue as it stated on the menu to inform when ordering if u wished to sit in the viewing bar. At 1.55pm I was fuming, we still hadn't got the soups so I went back downstairs and asked the girl what the delay was? She replied "oh why didn't you get them"? I was so annoyed as she was the actual person who took our v simple order. Finally at 2pm we got our 2 soups.
Would I go back- absolutely not. I may be harsh but I'm a stickler for service and I was v much disappointed by the overall service and friendliness.. How hard is it to get 2 soup??????

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank sparkle2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Sparkle2008
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are very disappointed to read of your experience and would like to apologise. We would like to invite you to contact one of our managers if you would like to discuss the problems you encountered.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

In summary it's a great location, the hotel rooms are great and offered good value meal deals. The river is beside the hotel and the hotel is central to everything. There are lots of pubs and local restaurants nearby so you don't need to go far. Connections to local areas are good and easy to get to.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank markp286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Markp386
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have a great location in the centre of Sligo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Spent a 2 night stay in The Glasshouse. Had a deluxe suite which is on the 6th floor and also includes a roof terrace. Rooms were spacious & very clean. We dined in the Kitchen restaurant and I would highly recommend the 7 course tasting menu. Staff were extremely friendly & a credit to the hotel! I would highly recommend a stay & I will definitely return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liamyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Liamyos
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you found the staff extremely friendly and a credit to the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend booked for us to stay @ the glasshouse as a treat for valentines and what a treat it was , we had diner in their kitchen restaurant which was fabulous and after a few drinks locally and in the residence bar if returned to our fabulous spacious comfy room overlooking the Garavogue river ... The glasshouse hotel was a real treat and can't wait to go back

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SandraCarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Sandra Carty
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you had a fabulous stay and are looking forward to coming back to the Glasshouse. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Glasshouse is situated right in the centre of Sligo so has a really convenient location. Staff were very friendly and attentive and we can't fault the service. Our room was bright and spacious with a great balcony right over the river. The only downside was the bed was absolutely tiny! More like a large single bed than a double for 2 people. Not really acceptable for a 4 star hotel. We would stay in the Glasshouse again but would expect an improvement on the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Hannah M
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have the perfect location right in the heart of Sligo. We are delighted to read that you found our staff very friendly & attentive. We apologise that you were disappointed with the size of the bed and we would encourage you for any future visits to contact us direct with any requests. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I travelled to Sligo and stayed here for Valentines night. We were disappointed at first with our room as the door to balcony was broken and wouldnt open so when we called reception they offered to give a different room that would be available in an hour and a complimentary drink. We were subsequently upgraded to a 6th floor delux suite which was amazing! The staff were so nice and dealt with everything promptly and efficiently! Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nelle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
445 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Property: The Glasshouse
Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing