We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good location”
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A very good location”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel is in a lovely spot in a central location in Sligo.
The hotel is decorated in fun funky colours.
The room was large with a good view of the river.
The room was very clean (apart from a few marks on the carpet) with all the normal accessories.
The wi-fi (accessed through the television) was excellent.
Breakfast is help yourself buffet affair.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed ourselves in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deva2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Deva2
Thank you for your recent review based on your stay with us here at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have a fantastic location in the centre of Sligo. We are delighted to read that you found our staff friendly & helpful. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    523
    250
    90
    68
See reviews for
146
821
66
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Indiana
Level Contributor
231 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Traveling through Ireland, we needed to stop for the day, and found ourselves in Sligo. We stopped at the Glasshouse. We were given a room on the 6th floor, with private balcony. It was a great view. As the name implies, the rooms are almost all windows...great lighting and view. The accommodations are modern and luxurious. The design in the lobby is quirky, ultra modern. Food for breakfast was good for buffet. Had nice seating beside the quay. A nice stop for the night!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Vickie D
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your room on the 6th floor and its fantastic views. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Right in the centre of Sligo town, near restaurants, shops and pubs. Clean, modern decor, comfortable bed, average size room and en suite; but nothing special. The main hotel entrance is off a side street, with a tiny reception area and lobby. Not really a place where you'll want to hang about and read the paper. But it doesn't matter as there are lots of lovely places nearby. Lovely views over the river, especially at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Aileen S
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have a fantastic location right in the heart of Sligo close to all restaurants,shops & pubs. We are disappointed to read you didnt find the lobby comfortable to read but we have two great bars including the View Bar which has fantastic views over the river. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed here for christmas party and was charged over double the price for room than was agreed. Got money back after a lot of questioning. Key cards had to be reset three times in one day. Contacted hotel afterwards and got an apology. Have stayed here before with no problems but on this occasion A disappointing stay overall in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giant83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Giant83
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are disappointed to read about the problems you encountered during your stay and would once again like to apologise. We would like to invite you to contact one of our managers if you wish to discuss any problems encountered.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

It is an absolute pleasure to be staying at this hotel. . In fact I'm writing this review from the comfort of room 103! The staff are simply fantastic, nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are beautifully decorated; food is excellent. All in all this is what all hotels should aspire to. I will definitely be back at the earliest opportunity.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank De2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear De2006
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you found our staff fantastic and our food also excellent. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future and would once again like to thank you for your review.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in the majority of hotels in Sligo (in laws live there!) we had yet to stay in the visually striking Glasshouse - arrived there in the afternoon to be greeted by a lovely receptionist - we had booked a standard double
room - nothing standard about it - room was very modern and colourful but actually worked really well & the bed was super king size and so comfy!!lovely big bathroom with fluffy bathrobes!had breakfast in the hotel - dining room overlooks the garavogue and buffet was top notch - staff very friendly and attentive
without being in your face!!had dinner on one night which was very tasty and the hotel bar very relaxing!such a central location and parking included - couldn't recommend highly enough - will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexandcolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Crazy4travelcouple
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. What a great review, we are delighted to read you enjoyed our hotel and found the staff friendly and attentive. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed in the Glasshouse from Sunday to Tuesday on a short stay in Sligo. Checking in was swift and pleasant with friendly staff on the reception. We booked through a booking agency so got a good deal on the room compared with going with booking it direct with the hotel.
The hotel is bright and styled on a funky modern theme with vivid colours and trendy décor. Our room was a river side view with a small balcony which was well laid out with good facilities including bath robes and slippers which was a nice touch.
The TV had a internet facility which was handy if you didn't have a laptop with you as in our case but also wifi connection for those who did. We didn't have breakfast but did eat in the bar on one evening and the food was good and plentiful. The bar man was very attentive and friendly and advised us on some of the local bars which would be worth a visit.

Location is perfect for the town so you can park your car in the free underground car park and explore Sligo town at your leisure.

We would certainly stay here if in Sligo Town again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear David G
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff very attentive and friendly. We do indeed have the perfect location close to bars,restaurants and shops. Once again we would like to thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
4.9 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Property: The Glasshouse
Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing