We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely not a 4 Star Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely not a 4 Star Experience”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed at The Glasshouse in mid-August. I expected a 4 star, modern hotel and found instead a 2 star, down-at-the heels hotel. The color scheme is overwhelming, the lobby has a slightly decrepit feel and the carpets throughout the hotel were worn out, and the overall "modern" decor was so poorly done it was offensive to my eyes. Once I checked into the room, I found an out-dated, shabby room with a very uncomfortable bed. The water pressure made showering unpleasant. The Bar offered a "Dean Martin" night - with a 70's style lounge singer - which led to a handful of very drunk 70 year old women staggering out of the bar once the evening's show was over. The restaurant served a buffet style breakfast - although the waitress neglected to mention that so I sat for 15 minutes waiting for someone to assist me before I had to ask another customer what the protocol was.

The best part about the hotel was the location. I do not recommend this hotel to any traveler.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Barbara
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are disappointed to read of your experience at The Glasshouse and would like to take this opportunity to invite you to contact one of our managers to discuss the matter further.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    516
    246
    90
    68
See reviews for
146
805
65
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We reserved a Deluxe room which was spacious and located on the top of the building. The only issues in the room was poor water pressure and a sagging bed. Reception was not friendly and when we advised that we had not been charged for around 60 euros of meals you would think we had asked the person to do more than her job description demands. The Bar/Restaurant, Restaurant and breakfast staff were outstanding and as helpful as any we encountered on our holiday. It would appear the administration area is managed by different people than the catering. The hotel is central and has a nice buzz about it when you move around the various areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DukeWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear DukeWill
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our restaurant staff outstanding & helpful. We would like to apologise for the problem encountered at reception and once again thank you for your review as feedback is very important to us here at The Glasshouse.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked a riverview room and were pleasantly surprised at how big it was. Room was nice and large. But needed sunglasses to mute the décor! The colours and the carpeting is a little bold to say the least. But that only added to the character of this place.

We had booked online directly with the hotel but didn't include the breakfast as we thought we would find someplace where we could find a small breakfast ( we are not huge breakfast eaters and full irish breakfasts were getting to be a bit much for us.) After wandering for an hour around the hotel, we couldn't find anything so ended up eating at the hotel anyway- it was a buffet but was able to have only fruit and yoghurt and croissant for the price of a full breakfast.

There is Wi-Fi in the lobby but not in the rooms. Rooms do have hardwired internet but if you have an IPAD, its not going to work for you.

Hotel is well located in town - thankfully we had a sat-nav which directed us right to the entrance off the main street. Parkade is underground and a little tight to manoeuvre but we made it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yukonifm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Yukonimj
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and are pleased to inform you that we have Wifi now installed in all our bedrooms. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay . Lively location and nice hotel . Would return again . Breakfast was nice . Hotel bar was quite busy . Perfect for walking distance around the town . Sligo is quite a nice town for walking around .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Footie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Footie84
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have a lively location right in the town centre. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently with our baby and found this to be a very shabby hotel for one claiming to be 4star.
They seemed to cut corners on everything. The towels were cheap, there was mould on the grout in the bathroom tiles and the carpets in the hallways made you dizzy. We came down to the view bar at 6pm only to find it closed and had to go to the small bar near reception for a drink.
At 120 euro per night, we were astonished to find that we had to pay extra for breakfast.

On a plus point of view, the staff on reception were very efficient.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank macker35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Macker35
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you found our reception staff very efficient but are disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your stay. We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to contact us directly to discuss any problems you encountered.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Outdated, dingy, dim and disappointing.
We were only in Sligo for one night and we wish that we had spent that night elsewhere.
Our room was stuffy and dull.
The bed was a lumpy, uncomfortable experience.
When we opened the curtain, it came off of its track and the plastic stays rained down on us.
We will not return nor would we recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We're not certain that there is a good room from our experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MikefromPhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear MikefromPhila
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are disappointed to read your review and would like to take this opportunity to invite you to contact our manager to discuss any problems you encountered.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We arrived very late and were leaving early the next morning so we only needed a bed for the night. The hotel, including the rooms, were garishly decorated. The bed in our room seemed to be higher at the foot of bed. The shower was pretty terrible and i didn't like the fact that you could step out on to a flat roof from the bedroom and walk past all the other bedroom windows. You would only consider this to be 'funky' or 'boutique' if your only terms of reference was a best western or a B&B

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WembleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear WembleyGirl

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and would like to take this opportunity to invite you to contact our manager to discuss the problems you encountered.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
355 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
389 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,026 reviews
5.0 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Property: The Glasshouse
Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing