We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay in a very Modern Hotel”
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    535
    252
    90
    68
See reviews for
149
839
66
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The recently stayed in the hotel for 2 nights whilst visiting the Sligo area.The room is very spacious with extra large bed, desk for computer work and table and chair. The reception staff are more than helpful even helping with a selection of a nice restaurant for my partners (who is a vegetarian so it is difficult to have something special) birthday dinner. The rooms are very quiet except in the mornings with slamming doors but you do not hear any noise from the neighboring rooms. Everything you require is at hand even a cable for the computer for the wired internet is provided by the hotel. The location is right in the heart of the town on the river very close to shops and restaurants. Parking is underground in a secure park which you receive a validation from reception before departing each day for your free stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kplceurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear kplceurope
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our reception staff more than helpful. We do indeed have a fantastic location right in the heart of Sligo close to all shops & restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Glasshouse describes itself as "the only 4 star hotel in Sligo" which I'm sure is true. There aren't many hotels in Sligo. Its a little town.

Built on a river, its a striking building which is supposed to resemble a docked ship. The location couldn't be better. You are minutes away from shops, restaurants and the Yeats Building which I loved. We were there for Yeats' birthday celebration.

Our room was on the 2nd floor. We had no river view. It was a small, clean, un-airconditioned tired room. Thank God we had a fan and could open the windows. Our room, without them, would have been unbearable. Perhaps the reason we didn't get one of the more comfortable rooms others have described was because we were with a small tour group. If I were booking a room here on my own, I would definitely ask and be prepared to pay for a water view, preferably one with a balcony.

This whole hotel needs to be modernized. The decorating is vintage 70's and shabby. The only wifi is in the bar. I will say this, however, the breakfast was delicious, and although we didn't stay for dinner, several local people I met said it was one of the nicest places in Sligo to eat.

Would I go back? Yes! I loved Sligo. The people are SO nice! Would I stay at this hotel? Probably. Hopefully, by then it will have been renovated.

Room Tip: Insist on a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panda3403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Panda3403
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have a fantastic location right in the heart of Sligo right beside the Yeats building. We are delighted to inform you that we are currently having Wifi installed in all our bedrooms. We do have a delicious breakfast menu and also an extensive restaurant and bar menu which we are very proud of. Once again we would like to thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We arrived and checked in with little fuss, room was clean and bathroom modern as the rest of the Hotel was.

Breakfast's were lovely with choice of hot buffet or fresh fruit, cold meats, selections of pastries etc. The dinner we had included in the package was nice and the waiting staff were excellent.

The one thing that lets this hotel down is no WIFI in the rooms, this would be something that would stop me coming back to the hotel but apart from this aspect we were delighted with out stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DazzaK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear DazzaK12
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our waiting staff excellent. We are delighted to inform you that we are currently having WiFi installed in all our bedrooms. Once again we would like to thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just beautiful. Location was amazing but as darkness came the hotel was awesome with the green lights. Lovely to see locals calling in for afternoon tea. Warm friendly modern hotel . Worth going back too !!!!!

Room Tip: Facing the river at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecril001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear ecril001,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted that you found our location right in the heart of Sligo to be amazing and that you found us to be a warm,modern & friendly hotel. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

the stay was pretty good, a wonderful hotel in a prime location in the town where you can run into any shop or pub or amenities in 1 min reach. when we needed to go somewhere, the front desk was very helpful(thank you Lynn for the Italian restaurant and the cool bar you recommended us). I enjoyed my stay very much, and will stay again if we ever come back to Sligo.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank papacicco80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear papacicco80
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our stay with us and that you found our front desk staff very helpful, we have passed on your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
243 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

After reading the reviews in guide books and on trip advisor, I was really surprised how let down we were. The location is good and the room size is fine. The problem is the carpets are really dingy. The loud pattern shows a lot of dirt. The halls were depressing. The parking is under the hotel and a lift takes you to the lobby. Check in was slow due to the fact that there was only one person at the desk, and that person also took care of concierge tasks. The glass hotel is a hot box when the weather is warm. I actually woke in the middle of the night thinking we had accidentally turned on the heat. The housekeeper the next day explained that the rooms do get really hot since they do not have air conditioning. I questioned this at the front desk, since we had two rooms that were supposed to be deluxe riverside rooms. The hotel is getting air but only a few rooms have it. The breakfast was alright, but we had more choices with other hotels that had a hot menu along with the buffet. We also had to eat in the bar the night we arrived because the restaurant had just closed. Even though the bar menu looked extensive, all four of us were disappointed in what we ordered. There is wi-fi, but it is not available in the rooms. Even though the hotel looks great from the outside, there is a lot that needs to be addressed on the interior.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kkgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear KKgriff
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are disappointed to read that you had an uncomfortable stay due to the heat in your room and we would like to assure you that we are currently having air conditioning installed in our bedrooms. We are also in the process of having Wifi installed in all of our bedrooms. We would also like to take this opportunity to invite you to contact our manager if you wish to discuss any of the issues raised as customer feedback is very important to us.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
403 reviews
4.9 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Property: The Glasshouse
Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing