We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really good hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Herzogenaurach, Germany
Level Contributor
234 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A really good hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We just returned from a one week stay in the Glasshouse, and i have to say we were all very happy with our week.
The hotel is easy to find, has a great location for everything you want to do not only in Sligo Town, but in County Sligo itself.
The car parking was free which was good, but the parking facilities were a little 'tight' at times.
The rooms were exactly as described and pictured on their website, although as is the case with most UK Showers the water pressure was not great, but definitely 'liveable'.
The bar was excellent, and the bar staff very good, helpful and well mannered, as were the receptionists, couldn't be faulted.
One flaw that the hotel does have however is the lack of WiFi, available only in the bar areas, and even then it didnt always work. I would just assume that in this day and age free wifi is a given, even in the bedrooms!.
One more small issue was the lifts, they were split on the bedroom floors and you had no idea which one was arriving without dodging between the two lifts. Eventually when one did arrive you were never sure if it was going up or down, a little confusing.
The breakfasts were good, and varied, and the quality of the food overall, evening meals included was of a very high standard.
All in all a very good hotel, and a very good holiday!.

Room Tip: A room high up facing the river would be ideal, 5th floor! Use the stairs, not the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brades1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Brades1966
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to read you found our bar staff and receptionists to be well mannered and helpful. We are currently having wifi installed in our bedrooms which should be completed shortly. We would like to thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind Regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    517
    247
    90
    68
See reviews for
146
807
66
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a year ago and I remember it as a clean good hotel. " forget that " grubby and smelly is what I would call it. Stayed in 107 and on the way the carpet was filthy, the walls were dirty and scuffed, had heaps of chairs left outside meeting rooms. Not allowed have a bath as taps only work as a shower. The breakfast was nearly as good as what you would get at a roadside wagon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paddywackDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear PaddywackDublin,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are disappointed to read that you found levels of cleanliness in the hotel were not up to standard. We would encourage you to contact us directly at the hotel to discuss these issues.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have just returned from the glasshouse and must say I was very impressed. I am a wheelchair user so obviously facilities and accessibility are key and the hotel ticks all the boxes. You can park for free in the underground car park and take the lift to reception, the rooms are spacious, beds are high and bathroom accessible with grab rails and a wheel-in shower. There are disabled cubicles within the toilets next to the bar.
The hotel has 2 bars and a restaurant so we didnt have to leave. The good in the restaurant was 5 star and all of the staff were courteous and accommodating even when run off their feet. As it was a special occasion I requested some prosecco in the room and it was there chilling when we arrived. We were also given a late check out.
Only small gripes were that I thought the prices in the bar were a bit expensive and we had no warm water for a shower. But even a cold shower couldn't dampen our stay, will definitely return

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Gareth M
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us here at The Glasshouse. We are delighted that as a wheelchair user that you found our facilities and accessibility to your needs. We pride ourselves on the quality of food in the restaurant and are happy to read you found our staff courteous and accommodating. Again we would like to thank you for your fantastic review and hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I picked this hotel because it was near to where I was going but what a find !

It's decorated in a tasteful modern style and gives off a real vibe.

Reception staff were really pleasant and helpful, the car park is below the hotel with a lift up which is handy.

Room was a great size and again furnished beautifully, good TV, tea and coffee etc and spotless.

The bar has a friendly atmosphere, great staff again and isn't overpriced.

Breakfast was first class with a great selection.

If I had one minor gripe it was that there was no Wifi although there was a wired connection in the room but it wouldn't stop me giving the Hotel an 'Excellent'

Lovely spot and I look forward to returning. Great value.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear ChrissyBoyBelfast,
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed you stay here with us at The Glasshouse and that you found our staff pleasant & helpful. We are happy to inform you that we are currently having wifi installed in our bedrooms so hopefully on your return visit the wifi will be up and running. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind Regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been to Sligo many times but the stay in the Glasshouse was our first. We got an excellent rate of 69 euro's per room (excluding breakfast) & stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is very striking being (not surprisingly) of glass! & is right in the centre of Sligo close to shops/supermarket/bars/restaurants. The rooms are a good size & ours overlooked the river below & there is free parking in the underground car park below the hotel. We paid for breakfast the first morning & it was excellent - self service but lots of choice & we ate in the hotel for dinner (special 1 course & drink) & had curry which was lovely. The only quibble we had was no Wi-Fi in the rooms only in the bar area's/reception - would have liked to be able to get it in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkslass3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Yokslass3
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have an excellent location right in the heart of Sligo close to all shops, bars & restaurants. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed both breakfast and dinner options of which there is plenty of choice. We are pleased to inform you that we are currently having wifi installed in our bedrooms. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our three nights in the Glasshouse. Nice place - 4 stars?? maybe a good 3 star. But lets not quibble.
The hotel was clean, modern and thankfully, unlike some hotels, quiet when we were trying to sleep at night.
Good location in the centre of Sligo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear K422
Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Glasshouse. We do indeed have the ideal location right in the heart of Sligo. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We came in March 2013 and then back again here in May 2013 just for the bank holiday break and indulged in some family ancestry whilst here.
The Breakfast is cooked just brilliantly and there is plenty of choice. The restaurant is is also a great place to eat with a fantastic Menu to choose from and a riverside seat also adds to the Sligo experience.
All the Staff are friendly, polite and helpful. The rooms are a good size and well looked after. This is a must Stay Venue with bags of evening entertainment on the mezzanine with crooners to Bands seducing you with their Vocal talents and plenty of people to chat to in the hotel bar. Parking your car under the hotel and getting in the lift to reception or your room is also a stress free activity, better that than dragging a load of cases over the roads and car parks of many other hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yozzeehughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Yozzeehughes
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted that you enjoyed our evening entertainment and found our staff friendly,polite & helpful. Again we would like to thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Glasshouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
5.0 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Property: The Glasshouse
Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing