We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel in ideal location”
Review of The Glasshouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Glasshouse
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

My parents have stayed here on numerous occasions so I decided to book a night here with my sister. Overall a lovely stay. I feel that it is value for money. Rooms were lovely and clean. The location of the hotel is excellent as it is a minutes walk from the main shopping and restaurant areas. Bar food was amazing. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caoimhe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Caoimhe m
Thank you for sharing your recent experience here with us at The Glasshouse. We are delighted to hear you had a fantastic stay with us and indeed our location is excellent right in the heart of Sligo, in walking distance of bars and restaurants.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind Regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,165 - 1,171 of 1,723 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the glasshouse on a Friday night when there was a function / disco in the hotel. Unfortunately we could hear the beats quite clearly in our room on the fourth floor ... Which made sleep very difficult. Likewise the very inconsiderate guests who were making a lot of noise shouting in the corridors at 3am! Obviously not the fault of the hotel but again made sleep very difficult.
Rooms are a good size with huge comfortable beds, but it was very difficult to regulate the temperature in the room and as a result the room was exceptionally warm.
One of the lamps and one of the electrical sockets didn't work in the room.
Breakfast was nice and staff in the dining room were friendly and pleasant.
We followed the directions to the hotel as they are given on the hotels website - we were travelling from Galway, and found the directions not be exact.
On check out the following morning staff did not ask us how our stay was which I was disappointed with as I would have liked to address some of the issues above.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear PBKY

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us at The Glasshouse.
We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the disturbance you encountered while you stayed with us. We would advise that you would notify us of any details, prior to your arrival, which would help us make your stay more comfortable e.g quiet room.
We will address the issue of directions on the website to make directions clearier and more precise.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.
Kind Regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Sligo, we had no problems finding it by car and it was great to find the hotel had its own underground car park, which was complimentary during our stay. On our arrival to the hotel we were checked in quickly and given a room on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the Garavogue river.

Our first impressions were good, but a couple of things needed attention there was a dusty shelf, some stains on the wall in the bathroom and someone had scribbled on the headboard and it wasn't cleaned off. A day or so later I dropped some money on the ground, it went under the bed and when I pushed the bed to retrieve it we found some bits and pieces discarded by previous residents still under there, I think they could do with paying a little more attention to the cleaning of the rooms.

The other problem we had was that the rooms were quite hot and the thermostat didn't work. Only having the balcony door to open it would very quickly become too cold. We managed to get it sorted by the second night but still had to sleep under a sheet rather than the duvet for the rest of our stay.

The breakfast which we had included in our stay was self service buffet style and was really good, we were never down for it any earlier than 9.30 but there was always an abundance of food. They had a good selection to choose from the typical Full Irish, cold meat and cheese, fresh baked breads and small pastries. Best of all to me was the fruit each morning they had delicious sliced watermelon, something I can't get my hands on until the summer usually!

The staff were great, very helpful and pleasant. One morning while we were eating breakfast one of the ladies seating everyone stopped without being asked to help an elderly lady who was using walking sticks get up the steps and was very patient and kind with her. The ladies on reception were always very helpful and remembered us and would ask how we got on with whatever activities we had enquired about previously.

I think that the hotel itself was good but not great. The definite redeeming feature for me was the staff and the location, which were both top notch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank red1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Red1988,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here at The Glasshouse with us and fellow visitors.

We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay here at The Glasshouse and found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We are disappointed to read that you found the cleanliness not to be to our usual high standard. We are currently addressing the problems you had with the thermostat in order for guests to have a comfortable temperature in the rooms.

We once again would like to thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here recently on a business trip. Staff were very friendly, room was very big and had a nice balcony with views of the Garavogue river. Price was very cheap for Mid week. Perfect location, would not stay anywhere else from now on in Sligo.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Travelman2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience here with us at The Glasshouse.

We are delighted that your enjoyed your stay with us and are very happy to hear that you intend to return to us for future visits. We do have the perfection location both for corporate and leisure guests right in the heart of Sligo.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

very nice hotel , in prime location in the center of the town , breakfast was the only food we had in this hotel but it was a ''top'' irish breake, rooms are very spacious and very mod if booking a
room ask for one over looking the river the view is class......

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meathpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Meathpaddy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here with us at The Glasshouse.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do indeed have the perfect location in the centre of Sligo.

We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We highly recommend this hotel - rooms excellent (we did book a de-luxe room with river view), staff first-class, food very good and in a convenient part of town. Nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff - always a friendly response with a smile and so accommodating. We stayed for 3 nights and attended a Golden Wedding anniversary party - excellent in all respects.

Room Tip: De luxe with river view alhough others in our party had standard room with river view with which the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Tom B

Thank you for sharing your experience here with us at The Glasshouse, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the wedding anniversary party.

We have passed on your kind comments to our staff. We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future and hope that you will recommend us based on your stay.

Kind Regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and the hotel is excellent. The rooms are very clean and spacious and the deluxe rooms have a great view of the river. The river is noisy, but the double glazing keeps the noise out! The restaurant serves lovely food, service is good and it is in the centre of Sligo so easy to get out and about. The free underground carpark is a bonus too! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a deluxe room if possible to ensure a good view of the river, the room is spacious and the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineF793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasshouse_GM, Front Office Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Glasshouse, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do indeed have an unbeatable location in the centre of Sligo overlooking the Garavogue river.

We hope to welcome you back to The Glasshouse in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Glasshouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sligo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
541 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sligo Southern Hotel
4.9 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Address: | Swan Point, Sligo F91 PXA7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Price Range: $80 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing